We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Laughing Waters Guest House
Ranked #5 of 22 Hazyview B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed for a night on the 5th December. Although it was just a night, it was pretty perfect. The room was spacious, comfortable and homely. There is a small garden full of flowers and a swimming pool near our room. But Carol and Gavin were the ones who made the difference. They were friendly and attentive. The dinner was delicious! Will definitely recommend this lovely place to everyone!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoiceChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
There are newer reviews for Laughing Waters Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 227 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Laughing Waters was a great experience on our South Africa trip,it was the best accomodation we had on the trip- Capetown,Durban,Joburg,Kruger.
We had a night stay on our way to Kruger and a night on our way back.It was a perfect place to relax after the road trip from OR Tambo airport-over 5 hrs.
Gavin and Carol were wonderful hosts,always ready to help-even with the kids,always paying attention to details.The food was great,the room was large and comfortable.
My son loved the dogs,especially the giant one.The hippos in the lake were another amazing sight,the lemon trees added flavour to the sights. The serenity of the place is great,you would enjoy a walk around the place.
Our tour guide Richard of Mmilo Tours made a good choice with Laughing waters.
Thanks Gavin and Carol.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolamide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Carol and her family gave us the warmest experience! Always there to see us off for the day and to welcome us back again. They shared with us their experiences of Hazyview and surrounding areas. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boitumelo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed for one night by Caroll and Gavin, but from the first moment we had the feeling that we were at home. They gave us such a comfortable feeling. Nice room, very nice location and great food. Gavin is a great cook! The only tiny negative thing is that my bed was not comfortable, I think they should replace it for a new one.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcoPoloBeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We started our South Africa trip with 2 nights at Laughing Waters. The rooms are quite basic, but spacious and squeaky clean. The whole property is just beautiful designed with its pretty garden, the open breakfast/dining area and the living room with the fireplace, that was very much appreciated. The rainy and cold weather outside was compensated with the genuine warmth of our hosts Carol and Gavin. They were incredibly attentive, it was a huge pleasure to stay with them. As mentioned before, Gavin is a superb chef. I instantly fell in love with his bobotie. And the lemon suprise dessert still makes me jealous. :-) We booked all our transfers in the Kruger region and a full day panoramic route trip through Gavin´s and Carol´s GAP TOURS, which was an excellent choice as well. Thanx guys, it was fun staying with you - see you next time!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conny_Wagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Recently stopped over for a short stay at Laughing Waters.
A truly memorable experience, with EXCELLENT service and value.
Personal supervision from Carol and Gavin has resulted in an establishment of the highest standards. We were a party of 12, and everyone felt that this was possibly the best example of genuine hospitality we have experienced.
Will definitely make the time to stop over again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveKSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol v, Owner at Laughing Waters Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thanks Steve. We will see you all again next year and look forward to it. Kind regards. CAROL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My family and my brother's family took a trip to Hazyview during September 2012. We stayed at Laughing Waters. It is situated in sort of a farm. We enjoyed every moment we had at Laughing Waters. We enjoyed beautiful natural surroundings and the orchards. The staff made our stay to be enjoyable. The safari trip to the Kruger National Park was good, an experience which will be fondly remembered. When it was time for us to leave we realised that our tour was actually short - it could have been at least for a week. Anyway, there is always next time. I wouold like to say to the staff of Laughing Waters - continue receiving people with warmth in your lodge, and make them feel home away home. If we are visiting that side in future, we will definately choose to stay at Laughing Waters. Thankyou Carol and all the Laghinging Waters people for your service.

Regards.
Pat Selele.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the ground. In my view, all of them are good. It is quiete with natural surrounding...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaongalelwe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol v, Owner at Laughing Waters Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Hi Pat. It was great hosting both families and we certainly look forward to seeing you again. We will make sure we order sunshine for you next time. Kind regards. CAROL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
2.8 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
0.4 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
2.9 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ashbourne Country Escape
Ashbourne Country Escape
#3 of 22 in Hazyview
195 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aan de Vliet
Aan de Vliet
#5 of 13 in Hazyview
448 reviews
3.9 mi away
Dreamfields Guesthouse
Dreamfields Guesthouse
#6 of 22 in Hazyview
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laughing Waters Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laughing Waters Guest House

Address: S29 Sabie Road | R536 Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Hazyview
Price Range: $95 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laughing Waters Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laughing Waters Guest House in Hazyview is tucked away in the heart of the picturesque Sabie Valley on the banks of the Sabie River. Journey through the lemon trees to arrive in a beautiful sub-tropical garden, surrounded by tall trees and populated with an abundance of birds, Laughing Waters Guest House is a quiet haven, with a familiarity and comfort that makes you feel quite at home.On checking into Laughing Waters Guest House Hazyview, one will be settling into a retreat that boasts high archways, and a Tuscan ambience, a building that evokes an antiquated awe. Through the landscaped courtyard one will find their room with views of the beautiful surroundings. The location of Laughing Waters Guest House, close to the river, ensures slightly cooler temperatures within the valley; this comfortable micro climate makes Laughing Waters Guest House especially welcoming for a Lowveld destination in the hot summer months. The riverine forest and indigenous bush surrounding the farm, the proximity to Hazyview and the Kruger National Park and the occasional sighting of hippos makes Laughing Waters Guest House feel slightly "wild," but still very civilised! We have an in-house tour operator to assist with any tours / transfers you need planned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Laughing Waters Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laughing Waters Guest House Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing