We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveler rating
238
33
7
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
238
33
7
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful hosts picnic basket kruger national park honesty bar friendly and helpful owners cooler bag enjoyed our night stay excellent breakfast south africa blyde river canyon honeymoon suite panorama route local attractions an excellent base the perfect place to stay lovely place rooms are big
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 284 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2016 via mobile

Yes, a guest house/ B&b but at a standard and quality that takes it way beyond expectations. Every detail has been looked to, from room comforts to a constant supply of delicious cakes baked on site. The "breakfast" basket packed at very short notice, for our days safari saw us through to the evening! My only regret was having booked this only as a base, with no itinerary time to just languish by the heated pool and eat. Jo and Magrid, thank you for your attentive kindness. There is nothing you could have done to make our stay any better. Thank you!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2016

We occupied Room 2, booked for 2 nights, left early in the mornings and came back around 8 in the evenings. The host kindly packed us nice breakfast packs.
There was, however, something terribly wrong with the discharge of the shower water. After showering before going to sleep, a terrible mechanical buzz sound came from the discharge of the water! This was heard every 5 minutes but later changed with longer intervals. This, however, carried on right through the night!!! So, the second evening we skipped showering and showered instead the next morning. But, we had a terrible first night.

On top of that, the night guard sat in a chair, right at our open window! How is that for privacy?? We only discovered that the next evening.
Except that he sat there, he woke us up twice, talking loud into his walkie-talkie.
Needless to say that we had a horrific first night, which is really unacceptable.
We could not open/ close the main gate by means of the remote and had to get out to type in the code.
Otherwise, super-friendly hosts, great interiors and good service.
Friendly request to fix the discharge of the shower... (most probably a sani broyeur?) and the opening/ closing of the main gate.
The hosts leave at the end of their working day. They life close-by and are contactable by phone. The guesthouse felt a bit deserted on the 2nd night, as there was only one other guest. Maybe some people will enjoy that, but I felt a bit uncomfortable, as the guesthouse is located in a farming area and it is totally dark around the premises.

The dirt road leading to the guesthouse was in a bad condition.

Ps. We found a frog (!) in our trash bin :)

This guesthouse is not the cheapest in the area and we definitely expected more! With good attention to some aspects, I am sure the service can be improved.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 939rinusv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abangane, General Manager at Abangane Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2016

Thank you very much for your review.

After having changed the condensation pump of the aircon, we now had to learn from your review that it obviously is a geyser problem. This has been addressed since.
Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention.

The night guard has been changed and the new guard has been instructed to avoid such occurrences in future.
We are sorry your well deserved night rest was disturbed.
We have also checked the remote control supplied with your room key, but did not find it faulty. There are 4 buttons on the remote and only the first top one operates the gate.

We also have debited your credit card with the outstanding amount as you left very early without making check out arrangements.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,
Abangane Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2016

I've just returned from my 5th stay at Abangane Guest Lodge and I am already looking forward to the next time. Yum breakfasts, comfy beds, fab views, bird choirs all day and super welcoming hosts and staff. The proximity to the Kruger Park and Panorama Tour is great. I love it there!

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2016 via mobile

Ridwaan was absolutely welcoming and provided us with useful information. The lodge itself is super clean, beautiful view and completely safe. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend to anyone!

They had free wifi which was always up and no interruptions, we had breakfast there for the 2 nights we slept. Filling and served in times we specified.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Rudzani N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2016

The lodge is located on a hillside with outstanding views. The owners were wonderful in everything they did. The breakfast was outstanding and was served with grace and elegance. The room was large and well stocked with everything I could want. Wi Fi was great. Would definitely stay here again!!

Room tip: All rooms are excellent.
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TexasTraveler7507047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews