We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abangane Guest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Peaceful”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Quite, peaceful and tranquil location. A true bush experience. The garden is superb. The scenery is out breath taking and the service is outstanding. The owners don't disturb in your stay. I will recommend this any day. Good Value for money.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Resimate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    31
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
39
124
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I just wanted to thank you guys for the warm welcome and hospitality that we received this passed weekend We had a great time! I cant stop smiling , we will definitely come back - not sure when though. we had a lekker weekend thanks to Abangane lodge. No words can describe how happy we were and we still are after visiting Abangane Lodge The breakfast was divine , the staff is very friendly , the saroundings were peacefull and the view was very nice!

Thank you Thank you!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

What can I say other than I love Abangane... I had my second stay here in March, following a five year gap, and it was even better than I had remembered. The location is perfect, a very manageable drive to the Kruger, and set in elegant gardens full of flame trees, looking out on to the valley below.

Klaus and Ridwaan are certainly the hosts with the most(s) - my family and I were made to feel incredibly welcome. Their presence is discreet, yet you feel they would bend over backwards for you at a moments notice. And the lovely smiles of their waiting staff are a pleasure. I have to concur with a previous reviewer about the Mince Monty. In fact I've just attempted to recreate it for breakfast here back in the UK - a poor imitation unfortunately.

Nice touches abound, from the port/brandy and fresh fruit in the rooms upon arrival, towels magically appearing on the sunloungers following the merest intimation that you might be heading poolside, and of course the delightful Xena who greets you in the morning like a long lost friend (even if you don't have biltong in your pocket).

Take a look at Ridwaans amazing photo book from his trips to the Kruger - a very talented wildlife photographer indeed. You can almost bypass the Kruger completely in fact ;-)

Thanks for a wonderful stay guys, hopefully won't be five years until the next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lix75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

My family and I stayed at this attractive lodge in March, on the recommendation of my daughter who had been there before. It's easily accessible by car, in pretty grounds overlooking a valley with a distant waterfall. We had lovely, large rooms with comfortable double beds, and everything you could possibly need is provided, including a little welcome gift of fresh fruit and brandy! There's a great selection of food for breakfast, which we ate on the terrace opposite the infinity pool. It's just a short drive to the Phabeni Gate entrance to the Kruger Park, and on the day we went there we saw all the Big 5 before lunch, including two leopards on a rock. Ridwaan, one of the owners, was there shortly after us and saw the same leopards but with a third as well. See their Facebook page!

One of the best experiences of my holiday, and we shall certainly be going back.
Sue Harper

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

If you do not have a 4 wheel drive car , better look for another lodge because the 600 meter sand road is in bad condition. The lodge is not more than a standard B&B , it offers only breakfast and the rooms are small with the toilet in the bathroom and not seperate.It misses the X-factor. We had to book the honeymoon room because that one was available. The room was so small that only a queen size bed fits in it, we had comment on the size of the bed because we do not want to sleep in a small size bed. After that we became something like persona non grata, no hospitality at all!This lodge was the worst experience we had in our 4 weeks stay in South Africa.and do not understand the rating of this lodge. Look for another lodge because what you have to pay for it is far to much for what you get!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janb344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abangane, Owner at Abangane Guest Lodge, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.
It does not come unexpected, to be honest.

We are sorry that on arrival and showing you the honeymoon room, we could not tell you the exact cm width of the bed, as requested by you. It is a standard Queen sized bed which normally is not perceived to be small.
As you mentioned that your wife has got a back problem and you would prefer separate beds (although you knowingly booked a room with queen bed), we immediately offered you another room with twin beds which you declined. On day 4 of your 8 nights stay you then opted for a different room, which we managed to fulfil, although with difficulties as we had to rearrange the occupancies and upgrade other guests to the Honeymoon room. We also mentioned that we are sorry and that if you felt so uncomfortable with the bed, we would understand if you decide to check out.

Your feeling of having been treated “persona non grata” is very unfortunate, as besides the very difficult communication with you, management and staff greeted and treated you in a very friendly manner. Your non communication unfortunately made us, staff and management feel very uncomfortable in our own house.

We will not comment on your room description as the website and photos reflect exactly what we offer in comparison to what your complaints are.

Klaus Hollander
-Owner-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzini, Swaziland
2 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Abangane is breathtakingly a beautiful place to stay if you like your peace and quite. Its so homely, but so much more better than home with its beautiful natural surroundings. I loved everything about it from the friendly staff Klaus and his team, the lovely breakfast with lots of variety and the 'coolness' of the nights. It was amazing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lungile23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We enjoyed our 4 night stay in the most serene and tranquil lodge in the area. It really captured the essence of relaxation with a beautiful view. I would recommend Abangane highly to anyone who would like a perfect vacation in Mpumalanga.

Klause and Ridwaan was an absolute delight. They really went out of their way to answer any query we had. They were both very helpful and really friendly.

Although we were sorry to have missed the dinners as there were such good reviews, the breakfast was absolutely delicious.

Thank you Abangane for a very romantic and relaxing vacation.

Hennie and Madeli.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeli779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
1.5 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
1.2 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
341 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#2 of 12 in Hazyview
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#7 of 12 in Hazyview
290 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rissington Inn
Rissington Inn
#1 of 40 in Hazyview
539 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kruger Park Lodge
Kruger Park Lodge
#4 of 40 in Hazyview
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abangane Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abangane Guest Lodge

Property: Abangane Guest Lodge
Address: S10 Sabie Road | Port. 97 of de Rust 12 JU, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abangane Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The very prestigious Abangane Guest Lodge is located on a 22 hectare portion of the original “Farm de Rust” situated on the Sabie Road in Hazyview. Since opening, Abangane Guest Lodge continues to maintain its exclusive 4 star environment. The Lodge is highly regarded for its peaceful, tranquil surroundings and its ability to provide the highest quality of service. Guests marvel at the sheer expanse of the luscious surrounding bushveld, picturesque gardens, panoramic views across the valley, the majestic mountains in the distance and the promise of a glorious sunset. Abangane is an exceptional and exclusive lodge. At sunrise and sunset Zebras, Impalas, Giraffes and many more can be seen grazing on the neighboring private game farm. The sparkling blue infinity pool with its breathtaking view over the valley adds to the serene ambiance. Nighttime is magical with lanterns that invite you for a walk through the lush gardens while you take in the sounds of the evening. Most evenings you will be blessed with the haunting cry of the Fish Eagle heard high above the hilltops. Abangane Guest Lodge is the ideal gateway to the famous Kruger National Park. Three access gates are located nearby, the closest being the Phabeni Gate reachable within a leisurely 15 minute drive. The Blyde River Canyon with the famous God’s Window and other spectacular attractions are easily accessible from Abangane Lodge. All just a day trip away. Some of the best restaurants in the area are a short drive from the Lodge as well as a comprehensive, well equipped shopping centre a mere 2 km away. Discerning travelers will find quick access to most amenities and resources they may require. A wholesome continental or full English breakfast can be enjoyed in the Lodge dining room or on the open veranda. The abundant birdlife welcomes in the day as you plan your activities over freshly brewed coffee or tea. After a day of adventure and wonderment you are welcome to relax and enjoy a sundowner poolside, or relax under the gazebo in our tranquil surroundings. Should you not feel like dining out a delicious candlelight dinner could be prepared for you. This would be by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Abangane Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abangane Guest Lodge Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing