We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is not more than a simple B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abangane Guest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2014

If you do not have a 4 wheel drive car , better look for another lodge because the 600 meter sand road is in bad condition. The lodge is not more than a standard B&B , it offers only breakfast and the rooms are small with the toilet in the bathroom and not seperate.It misses the X-factor. We had to book the honeymoon room because that one was available. The room was so small that only a queen size bed fits in it, we had comment on the size of the bed because we do not want to sleep in a small size bed. After that we became something like persona non grata, no hospitality at all!This lodge was the worst experience we had in our 4 weeks stay in South Africa.and do not understand the rating of this lodge. Look for another lodge because what you have to pay for it is far to much for what you get!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janb344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abangane, Owner at Abangane Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.
It does not come unexpected, to be honest.

We are sorry that on arrival and showing you the honeymoon room, we could not tell you the exact cm width of the bed, as requested by you. It is a standard Queen sized bed which normally is not perceived to be small.
As you mentioned that your wife has got a back problem and you would prefer separate beds (although you knowingly booked a room with queen bed), we immediately offered you another room with twin beds which you declined. On day 4 of your 8 nights stay you then opted for a different room, which we managed to fulfil, although with difficulties as we had to rearrange the occupancies and upgrade other guests to the Honeymoon room. We also mentioned that we are sorry and that if you felt so uncomfortable with the bed, we would understand if you decide to check out.

Your feeling of having been treated “persona non grata” is very unfortunate, as besides the very difficult communication with you, management and staff greeted and treated you in a very friendly manner. Your non communication unfortunately made us, staff and management feel very uncomfortable in our own house.

We will not comment on your room description as the website and photos reflect exactly what we offer in comparison to what your complaints are.

Klaus Hollander
-Owner-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 245 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

Abangane is breathtakingly a beautiful place to stay if you like your peace and quite. Its so homely, but so much more better than home with its beautiful natural surroundings. I loved everything about it from the friendly staff Klaus and his team, the lovely breakfast with lots of variety and the 'coolness' of the nights. It was amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lungile23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We enjoyed our 4 night stay in the most serene and tranquil lodge in the area. It really captured the essence of relaxation with a beautiful view. I would recommend Abangane highly to anyone who would like a perfect vacation in Mpumalanga.

Klause and Ridwaan was an absolute delight. They really went out of their way to answer any query we had. They were both very helpful and really friendly.

Although we were sorry to have missed the dinners as there were such good reviews, the breakfast was absolutely delicious.

Thank you Abangane for a very romantic and relaxing vacation.

Hennie and Madeli.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madeli779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We enjoyed our 3-night stay at Abangane, the lodge is situated close to Phabeni gate and Kruger gate, it is thus conveniently located for day visits to the Kruger National Park, It is also only a 5 km drive to Hazyview. It is difficult to fault Abangane, the location is good (The rather lengthy drive, on a dirt road after leaving the tar, to the lodge can possibly be difficult for some low vehicles to negotiate), the rooms are comfortable, my wife missed her bath (our room only had a shower), The hosts are friendly and they showed great trust in accommodating my request to settle my account via EFT after leaving, the bar facility is also available on a trust basis. I enjoyed the breakfasts on the verandah (The Mince monty was especially good and the coffee was great too). The views from the verandahs are great, the rim-flow pool is beautiful. The staff was friendly and accommodating to all our requests. Abangana Guest lodge can not be faulted, but for us it lacked that x-factor.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rooihoogte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Beautifully situated little treasure with amazing view and excellent service, finely decorated in everything till minimum detail. Quite scenic pool. Rarely found piece and quite. Charming and very helpful owners. We loved every single moment of our stay!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Alla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful property for 2 days prior to our safari. If you are looking for a great place to relax and unwind, look no further that Abangane. Owners Klaus and Ridwaan look after your every need and took time from their day to drive us to local restaurants. We hope to visit again and we highly recommend staying here in Hazyview.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scott2270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We did enjoy 4 nights at this beautiful guest lodge. We loved the room with is access to a beautiful terrace and garden with pool area. It has a taste of 'out of Africa'.
Very good breakfast with lekker richful omeletts.
A big thank you to the hosts Klaus and Ridwaan, who offered a great service and warm hospitality.We will defently recommend you to the people here in Capetown!

Room Tip: honey moon room with it's spacious bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
1.5 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
1.2 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
419 reviews
2.8 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#1 of 26 in Hazyview
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rissington Inn
Rissington Inn
#1 of 44 in Hazyview
586 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dreamfields Guesthouse
Dreamfields Guesthouse
#6 of 26 in Hazyview
240 reviews
8 mi away
Bambuu Lakeside Lodge
Bambuu Lakeside Lodge
#3 of 26 in Hazyview
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abangane Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abangane Guest Lodge

Address: S10 Sabie Road | Port. 97 of de Rust 12 JU, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range: $141 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abangane Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The very prestigious Abangane Guest Lodge is located on a 22 hectare portion of the original “Farm de Rust” situated on the Sabie Road in Hazyview. Since opening, Abangane Guest Lodge continues to maintain its exclusive 4 star environment. The Lodge is highly regarded for its peaceful, tranquil surroundings and its ability to provide the highest quality of service. Guests marvel at the sheer expanse of the luscious surrounding bushveld, picturesque gardens, panoramic views across the valley, the majestic mountains in the distance and the promise of a glorious sunset. Abangane is an exceptional and exclusive lodge. At sunrise and sunset Zebras, Impalas, Giraffes and many more can be seen grazing on the neighboring private game farm. The sparkling blue infinity pool with its breathtaking view over the valley adds to the serene ambiance. Nighttime is magical with lanterns that invite you for a walk through the lush gardens while you take in the sounds of the evening. Most evenings you will be blessed with the haunting cry of the Fish Eagle heard high above the hilltops. Abangane Guest Lodge is the ideal gateway to the famous Kruger National Park. Three access gates are located nearby, the closest being the Phabeni Gate reachable within a leisurely 15 minute drive. The Blyde River Canyon with the famous God’s Window and other spectacular attractions are easily accessible from Abangane Lodge. All just a day trip away. Some of the best restaurants in the area are a short drive from the Lodge as well as a comprehensive, well equipped shopping centre a mere 2 km away. Discerning travelers will find quick access to most amenities and resources they may require. A wholesome continental or full English breakfast can be enjoyed in the Lodge dining room or on the open veranda. The abundant birdlife welcomes in the day as you plan your activities over freshly brewed coffee or tea. After a day of adventure and wonderment you are welcome to relax and enjoy a sundowner poolside, or relax under the gazebo in our tranquil surroundings. Should you not feel like dining out a delicious candlelight dinner could be prepared for you. This would be by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abangane Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abangane Guest Lodge Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing