We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abangane Guest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful property”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We didn't stay there, but were kindly invited by Klaus and Ridwaan for drinks at sunset. Gorgeous place with beautiful views and the perfect swimming pool overlooking the valley. Hope to stay at Abangane next time. Thank you guys!
Hugs from Miami!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank etaravay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    31
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
39
124
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

A totally excellent place to stay! The rooms are the perfect balance of comfort and everything you could possibly need. Beautiful view, excellent breakfasts on the veranda, great service and hospitality. Attention to detail and total cleanliness was very much noticed and appreciated. You do need your own transport here as you need to drive down a long private driveway to get to Abagane and there are no shops close by. Thank you Klaus and Redwaan, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Abagane and were sorry we couldn't have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent two nights here prior to a our Kruger safari. The rooms are very comfortable, tastefully decorated and very well kept up. The garden, pool and common areas are nice places to just relax for during the late afternoon with an open bar where you can take drinks and just write them up to your room. breakfast was very good with a chioce of yogurts, fruits, cereals, bread, and eggs to order. We went on the panorama tour(a must do) as well as elephant interaction while there. The hosts are both very welcomming, pleasant and willing to accomodate. We both enjoyed abangane and would certainly visit again if we decide to come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

WOW! We sprang for the "honeymoon" room and really enjoyed the extra space and our special jacuzzi tub! The decorations and amenities in this lodge are first rate and the breakfasts on the veranda, something very special. It was too cool to use the pool and I wish it had been solar heated! The setting is idyllic and the views, spectacular. The road in and out is hard to navigate which makes going out for dinner in the evening a chore sometimes. I wish there were light meals offered in the evening for some repast after a long day out! Klaus and Ridwaan are great hosts and have developed a beautiful property. They packed us an all-day lunch for our day in Kruger and it was so huge, we actually finished it off that night!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the "honeymoon" room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fancinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

After several recommendations from friends we stayed at Abangane for one night before heading into kruger early one morning, I only wish we had been able to stay for longer! The rooms are beautifully furnished and very clean, the pool and outdoor areas are immaculate and again, I wished we'd been able to make more use of the facilities! The two owners are really lovely - very friendly, chatty and even made us a little packed lunch to take into kruger because we were leaving so early in the morning. I have to say the sandwiches were very well received once we finally stopped at skukuza! I can honestly say we spent quite some time working through our travel plans to see if we could go back for another night later in the holiday but we couldn't squeeze it in. Oh well - we'll have to go back next year! ;o)

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank debzter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were greeted by the owner and his two friendly dogs on arrival at this Lodge. The rooms were clean and we had every thing we needed. The bathroom was clean but dated. The breakfast was very good and we loved the warm croissants. The location is very peaceful with lovely views from the verandah. However, I would not recommend this Guest Lodge to anyone who does not have own transport as there are no restaurants or any place to buy lunch and dinner within walking distance. We ended up paying 702 Rand per transfer (117 per person) to travel a relatively short distance (may be less than 5KM) to have dinner. Two nights meant 1400R for just transport. Admittedly, we should have done our research better. We also did not feel comfortable with the tone used by the owner at breakfast on day one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thilakawathie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abangane, Owner at Abangane Guest Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you have been satisfied and your party of 6 enjoyed your days with us.
We would like to comment on the transfer cost mentioned, which are completely out of our control. Your booking was received via a third party travel agent, so was the restaurant transfer arranged by this agent. We also feel that to be rather expensive for such a short trip, but unfortunately Hazyview does not offer any normal Taxi services, something the town really lacks. The company conducting the transfer was cheaper than most others. We always make our guests aware of the fact that Abangane Guest Lodge, as most of the places in and around Hazyview, is not suitable if not mobile. The restaurants are spread over Hazyview and some sort of transport is needed if not staying at one of the bigger resorts or hotels.
Best regards,
Klaus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in abagane guest lodge. I had never been to kruger before and hazyview is the perfect place to stay (15min from the national park). I stayed in the honeymoon suite which had a lovely layout and beautiful bathroom. Weather was extremely hot during my stay so the infinity pool was perfect to cool off after a long day of safari.

value for money was excellent. I looked at a number of other places during my stay, alot of them twice the price and not as nice. The owners were very friendly and gave excellent recommendations of which tours to do and restaurants to go to. Anytime we went with what the tourist office recommended I was disappointed.

I would 100% recommend abagane guest lodge for luxury, value for money, locations and an extremely relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: honeymoon suite was beautiful and overlooks the infinity pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
1.5 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
1.2 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
341 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#2 of 12 in Hazyview
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#7 of 12 in Hazyview
290 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rissington Inn
Rissington Inn
#1 of 40 in Hazyview
540 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kruger Park Lodge
Kruger Park Lodge
#4 of 40 in Hazyview
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abangane Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abangane Guest Lodge

Property: Abangane Guest Lodge
Address: S10 Sabie Road | Port. 97 of de Rust 12 JU, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abangane Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The very prestigious Abangane Guest Lodge is located on a 22 hectare portion of the original “Farm de Rust” situated on the Sabie Road in Hazyview. Since opening, Abangane Guest Lodge continues to maintain its exclusive 4 star environment. The Lodge is highly regarded for its peaceful, tranquil surroundings and its ability to provide the highest quality of service. Guests marvel at the sheer expanse of the luscious surrounding bushveld, picturesque gardens, panoramic views across the valley, the majestic mountains in the distance and the promise of a glorious sunset. Abangane is an exceptional and exclusive lodge. At sunrise and sunset Zebras, Impalas, Giraffes and many more can be seen grazing on the neighboring private game farm. The sparkling blue infinity pool with its breathtaking view over the valley adds to the serene ambiance. Nighttime is magical with lanterns that invite you for a walk through the lush gardens while you take in the sounds of the evening. Most evenings you will be blessed with the haunting cry of the Fish Eagle heard high above the hilltops. Abangane Guest Lodge is the ideal gateway to the famous Kruger National Park. Three access gates are located nearby, the closest being the Phabeni Gate reachable within a leisurely 15 minute drive. The Blyde River Canyon with the famous God’s Window and other spectacular attractions are easily accessible from Abangane Lodge. All just a day trip away. Some of the best restaurants in the area are a short drive from the Lodge as well as a comprehensive, well equipped shopping centre a mere 2 km away. Discerning travelers will find quick access to most amenities and resources they may require. A wholesome continental or full English breakfast can be enjoyed in the Lodge dining room or on the open veranda. The abundant birdlife welcomes in the day as you plan your activities over freshly brewed coffee or tea. After a day of adventure and wonderment you are welcome to relax and enjoy a sundowner poolside, or relax under the gazebo in our tranquil surroundings. Should you not feel like dining out a delicious candlelight dinner could be prepared for you. This would be by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Abangane Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abangane Guest Lodge Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing