We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abangane Guest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Very warm welcome. The rooms are very clean, neat and tasty interior. Might as well be 5 star.Excellent breakfast. Wide variety of Birds with a tranquality about the place. So central. Near to Kruger park and Hazyview. A wide variety of restuarants and nearby Gourmets. Love the setting and nature scenery

Room Tip: The corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    31
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
38
118
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights last year and were terribly disappointed. The whole place was not as good as it was made out to be both on the reviews and the photos.

The room was clean but very overpriced for what was provided and also where we had previously been staying for similar prices was well below the standard. What looked like a double bed was actually 2 single beds side by side which was particularly frustrating.

We had dinner there one night, again good by no means great or worth what they were charging and there was still bits of plastic on the food, quite obviously had come straight from the frozen section of the supermarket!

We were unimpressed one of the 2 hosts who was rude and unhelpful when we asked for some advice on activities in the region.

I'm not sure how this place has been ranked so highly, I definitely wouldnt go back and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CapuMEOdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abangane, Owner at Abangane Guest Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.
According to your profile name we unfortunately cannot guess your name and who you are to check back the date of your stay and what may have led to this review.
We nevertheless cannot help thinking you may by accident have reviewed the wrong place and that is not meant in any way funny.
Regularly our guests comment on the website presentation and that they seldom find a place, where the pictures reflect the reality as much as ours do, and many go even a step further in saying the pictures do not show the true beauty of our place.
We pride ourselves in only using fresh and high quality products in our food preparation and NOTHING comes straight from the frozen section of the supermarket.
In our room description we make clear that we offer rooms with twin beds as well as rooms with queen beds and guests preferences are always considered according to availability. Should we not be able to meet the guests preference we inform our guests upfront.
We truly believe that nearly all reviews listed here on Tripadvisor reflect reality and speak for themselves.
Best regards,
Klaus
Owner Abangane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Abangane was basically a way-station between game reserves for me. I've read Klaus' sensible and informed posts on the travel forum and was looking forward to meeting him. He was as gracious and congenial in person as he is on the forum. His partner Ridwaan was equally so. They had arranged a dinner in town and drove me in that evening. When a tremendous storm knocked out the power and phones they made sure the guests were comfortable, and still managed to put out a lovely breakfast the next morning.

The room was very spacious and clean and had nice amenities. Because of the tranquility and privacy of the area I saw no need to lock the door, always a pleasant feeling. The verandas and common areas are beautiful and comfortable.

My favorite part of the stay were the gardens. There are a number of mini-habitats that attract a lot of birds--an avid birder can easily add a couple dozen species to their list in a short amount of time. This convinced me that a longer stay at Abangane is in order for my next trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azbuceadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had a wonderful time in Abangane. The place is beautifully maintained and i really need to congratulate Klaus and Ridwaan for doing a fantastic job. Not to mention the lovely dogs who are a main part of the happiness one derives from the stay. Do sign up for the dinners with them. It is usually a three course meal and is by far one of the best i had. And i do have a lot of dinners :)
The swimming pool looks into the mountains and is a lovely experience.. The rooms are well decorated and the gardens are breathtaking. They share a common wall with a private game reserve. Hence expect to have your morning tea while a giraffe looks over your shoulders.

Room Tip: Take a room facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiaShome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is the third time we have stayed at Abangane and it is just wonderful. The place has a genteel ambience about it and it's just so nice to "come home" to after a hard day out in the heat.

First stop is the well-stocked bar to collect a beer then sit on the veranda and gaze at the view whilst enjoying the peace and quiet. Next stop is a refreshing shower with plenty of high quality toiletries. Maybe a quick doze in the comfortable bed and then out to one of the many nearby restaurants. Note that a car is essential as the restaurants aren't really within walking distance, though the drive takes only 5 or 10 minutes.

In the morning, a wide selection of hot and cold breakfast goodies awaits along with plenty of fruit juice and freshly brewed coffee and tea.

Klaus and Ridwaan's attention to detail at the lodge is superb. All the rooms are tastefully furnished and decorated and the communal lounge area is comfortable and welcoming.

There is also an infinity pool and sundeck. That's not really our thing, but I can confirm that it is all kept spotlessly clean with constant attention from the "Earwig" (pool cleaning gizmo) and at least daily attendance by the grounds staff.

11/10

Room Tip: All rooms are good. The rooms overlooking the pool have the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cobra_Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had a wonderful stay - Ridwaan and Klaus were excellent hosts and very helpful. The room was very clean and well furnished. The breakfasts were excellent and the views spectacular. On our first morning we also saw zebras, ostriches, impala, wildebeest and giraffes in the field next door which was a fabulous start! We had a guide to take us to Kruger which is only a short drive away - it is worth noting that being in an open topped vehicle can get very chilly so wrap up! Klaus and Ridwaan supplied us with a fabulous "picnic" breakfast for our early morning safari and also for our onward trip as we were leaving early. All in all, we had a fabulous stay - and it was lovely being greeted by the dogs whenever we returned after a trip out!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be of equal quality - they are all on ground level and were very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon and John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

The dirt drive through the gates made me a little nervous. But once we arrived at the guest house, it was a magnificent surprise. With 8 rooms decorated beautifully in Out of Africa style, we had a beautiful view. We spent a lazy day on the patio, catching our breath after several fast paced days in Cape Town. Klaus and Renwaan are warm and genuine hosts. We had a bit of a dental emergency and Klaus made arrangements for a local dentist visit. Our hosts transported us to dinner each evening. The restaurant suggestions were excellent. Breakfasts were excellent and the service impecable. Thank you for a lovely visit and your warm hospitality

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
1.5 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
1.9 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
2.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#2 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
1.2 mi away
Rissington Inn
Rissington Inn
#1 of 40 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abangane Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abangane Guest Lodge

Property: Abangane Guest Lodge
Address: S10 Sabie Road | Port. 97 of de Rust 12 JU, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abangane Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The very prestigious Abangane Guest Lodge is located on a 22 hectare portion of the original “Farm de Rust” situated on the Sabie Road in Hazyview. Since opening, Abangane Guest Lodge continues to maintain its exclusive 4 star environment. The Lodge is highly regarded for its peaceful, tranquil surroundings and its ability to provide the highest quality of service. Guests marvel at the sheer expanse of the luscious surrounding bushveld, picturesque gardens, panoramic views across the valley, the majestic mountains in the distance and the promise of a glorious sunset. Abangane is an exceptional and exclusive lodge. At sunrise and sunset Zebras, Impalas, Giraffes and many more can be seen grazing on the neighboring private game farm. The sparkling blue infinity pool with its breathtaking view over the valley adds to the serene ambiance. Nighttime is magical with lanterns that invite you for a walk through the lush gardens while you take in the sounds of the evening. Most evenings you will be blessed with the haunting cry of the Fish Eagle heard high above the hilltops. Abangane Guest Lodge is the ideal gateway to the famous Kruger National Park. Three access gates are located nearby, the closest being the Phabeni Gate reachable within a leisurely 15 minute drive. The Blyde River Canyon with the famous God’s Window and other spectacular attractions are easily accessible from Abangane Lodge. All just a day trip away. Some of the best restaurants in the area are a short drive from the Lodge as well as a comprehensive, well equipped shopping centre a mere 2 km away. Discerning travelers will find quick access to most amenities and resources they may require. A wholesome continental or full English breakfast can be enjoyed in the Lodge dining room or on the open veranda. The abundant birdlife welcomes in the day as you plan your activities over freshly brewed coffee or tea. After a day of adventure and wonderment you are welcome to relax and enjoy a sundowner poolside, or relax under the gazebo in our tranquil surroundings. Should you not feel like dining out a delicious candlelight dinner could be prepared for you. This would be by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Abangane Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abangane Guest Lodge Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing