We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abangane Guest Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$275
$179
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$120
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
aha Casa do Sol(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
$88
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aan de Vliet(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
$49
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rissington Inn(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$191
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sabie River Bush Lodge(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
$35
$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$121
$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tanamera Lodge(Hazyview)
$294
$285
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$365
$256
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveler rating
215
32
7
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
32
7
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrelaxing daysinformation neededhelpful ownerspicnic basketwonderful hostshonesty barsand roadkruger national parkrestaurants and shopsbeautiful propertylovely poolexcellent breakfastperfect locationhoneymoon suiteleft earlyblyde river canyonsouth africa
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 260 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2012

As soon as we arrived, Klaus, Ridwaan and the dogs came out to greet us, help with luggage and show us around. The rooms were nicely furnished, with an African influence and had a fan and air con for the hot climate. The bathroom had a fab rain style shower and everything was very clean. Each room also had outdoor sitting space under the verandah. We were on the side nearest the parking area but experienced none of the light/noise disturbance reported by previous reviewers. The garden area was lovely and we made use of the pool and its far reaching views. The first night we had pre booked dinner, which was delicious, and booked again for the next night! It was so nice to eat outside listening to the local wildlife orchestra. Full marks to Klaus for accommodating the fussy eaters in our group!! At other times we ate out. We found both Klaus and Ridwaan chatty and happy to make recommendations in the area, but not overbearing. Breakfast was served at a mutually agreed time and consisted of the usual cold European style offerings with bacon and eggs cooked to order. Abangane is well located for day trips to Blyde River Canyon and Kruger. Hazyview town is about 10 mins by car with the usual shops and eateries. All our party said they would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa_Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We spend only one night in this BB on our way from Johannesburg to Orpen Gate. We felt we should have spent another day there as it is a beautiful BB. It is a classic old farmhouse which is lovingly restored. The bedrooms are very nice; the only thing is that the AC might be a little inadequate if the weather is very hot. Dinner is lovingly served on the terrace and the chef prepares a good meal. Breakfast can also be enjoyed there and it a treat in the cool morning.
If you travel from Johannesburg/Pretoria don't take the road through White River. Drive by Dullstroom and Lydenburg which give a far prettier route.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rijswijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

After staying in three different guesthouses we ended our round trip in the Krueger Park while staying at the guestlodge Abangane in Hazyview the very best place we visited. Abangane means "Friends" and this was absolutely the case. Greeted by Ridwaan after the arrival we were immediately caught by the phenomenal breathtaking view over the bushland near Hazyview. The rooms are beautifully furnished, the garden is perfectly in shape and the hosts Klaus and Ridwaan looked after us with descrecancy and very professionally in details. Dinner at night is a delight with the personal involvement of Klaus and his crew. With ideas where to go and where to eat outside were provided and we never had the feeling of being left alone. The sound of the animals at night, the smell and the heat left us with a beautiful souvenir of this place so specially maintained and looked after. We will certainly come back. Thank you Klaus and Ridwaan you made us dream. Joe and Margrit from Switzerland

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

A short sand road from the main road leads to the lodge entrance where we were able to see giraffes, buck and zebra on the neighbouring property. On our arrival we were greeted by Ridwaan and the friendly (but not obtrusive) dogs – Zeena (one of the dogs) was often sleeping outside I door which we loved. Both Ridwaan and Klaus made us feel at home. The gardens and swimming pools were well maintained and there are beautiful views of the valley from the pool and at the entrance of our room.

We stayed for three nights and had dinner at the lodge on the first night which was superb. The breakfast was good and adequate consisting of the standard continental/English breakfast options. We found the staff always attentive and keen on feedback on the meal.

Klaus gave us some good options on eating out for the remaining nights and seemed knowledgeable about the area. Our room was very clean and neat. The bed was large and comfortable. Although there were other guests there it was quiet and peaceful and we hardly noticed them. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the lodge and wouldn’t hesitate to visit again.

Room Tip: Try get a room away from the dining area - closer to the parking lot.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TS_MdA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Abangane is situated on the Sabie road out of Hazyview. The house is accessed via a rough dirt track, just short of a KM long. The owners keep large dogs (German Shepards) as pets, but they are very placid and friendly dogs, and not to be feared.

The pool has an amazing view over the valley and the gardens are well landscaped.

The rooms are spacious but are lacking some finishing touches, e.g.
- no hand soap in the bathroom.
- the soap holder in the showers keeps tipping over, letting the shower gel/shampoo/etc fall

Breakfast is average, and we got even got scolded for putting the hot teapot on the table without a coaster, when it was the staff that did that.

Overall, this is a nice place to stay, but we stayed in many other places that were twice as nice for half the price.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank globe_grotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews