We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

On our arrival at Summerfields, we had such a warm welcome from the staff. We really enjoyed the spa, but I do not recommend the 4 different showers after the spa. This is outside and not as private. Food was great, but keep in mind when taking a half day spa, the price do not include any drinks except for Champagne with the Jacuzzi. Jacuzzi is such a good idea, but the temperature was too hot for the hot summer days in December.

Room Tip: Massage tables are right next to the river, this really let you feel so relaxed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amorie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    66
    18
    11
    10
See reviews for
35
252
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pointe Noire, Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Arriving from a safari in the bush it is just delightful to discover the summerfields rose retreat ! A wonderful peaceful delicately perfumed place.. And the cuisine is of very high quality , delicious with original flavours ... Bref : parfait ! Merci Merci Merci !

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Davranche S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazyview, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic place to stay for spa and relaxing, romantic tents at the river, great hosts - we were warmly welcomed. They offer delicious organic home made food! You must try the summerfield macadamia butter!
Highly recommended to stay at or just to go to for dinner!

Nicola & Martina

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ZandradT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We attended a 3 day wedding at Summerfields from 10-12 December. I can really say this is one of my best experiences at any kind of resorts for a long time. Everything was first class! The venue, our luxurious tent, the food and the staff. 1st class!!! They really understand how to treat their clients. Thank you!

Room Tip: Any of the luxuary tents available
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

The standard of excellence from food, to service and warm attitudes and initiatives of the staff to the actual setting itself is beyond that which I could ever have expected. The beauty and tranquil atmosphere of this place, allows one to feel at home in this universe!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cailyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

What an outstanding surprise Summerfields was. I was taken there by my now fiancé, ( he propose this weekend) as a special getaway for us to do things we love, Summerfields is the most georgeous place the staff are wonderful, the food, delicious, in fact it is so wonderful we are planning our next getaway back to summerfields, Sean the head chef is just the most wonderful person and actualises your every dream and wish, the "tents" are 5 star with aircon and the most beautiful bathroom, I have nothing but compliments for this wonderful place, if you are planning a relaxing getaway and want to be spoilt GO TO SUMMERFIELDS you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: we stayed on the river and it was a bit noisy but the sound of the running water is so soothing I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

My two girlfriends and I decided to treat ourselves to a spa day in hazyview and one that comes highly recommended is Summerfields! You start the morning relaxing in a hot glass steam room, you then make your way towards the deck in front of the river where you sip on tea or coffee while they soak your feet in rose water! The view is incredible and the ladies are warm and welcoming! The treatments are done in open small wooden villas where you ly in the fresh air, listening to the tranquility of the running river water. They offer various individual treatments as well as combined packages which are very well priced! If you keen to spend the day they have a pool, jacuzzi and a restaurant for lunches! If you are looking for a unique spa experience this is the place! It really was a treat!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
2.7 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
2.7 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#3 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
2.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa do Sol
Casa do Sol
#7 of 12 in Hazyview
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
3.4 mi away
Kruger Park Lodge
Kruger Park Lodge
#2 of 43 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa

Property: Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Address: R536 Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
#2 Spa Hotel in Hazyview
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hazyview
#4 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sanctuary of Roses and Luxury. A fusion of African sensibilities with notions of romance and luxury everywhere, Summerfields Rose Retreat and Spa is a true sanctuary for the senses. An extraordinary place of gourmet country-chic cuisine under the stars, spa treatments alongside the Sabie River, rose baths prepared by your personal butler and the soft scent of roses following your every move, allows for a renewed sense of spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerfields Rose Retreat And Spa
Summerfields Rose Retreat Hotel Hazyview
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing