We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place with the most wonderful hosts.”
Review of Blue Jay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Jay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 26 Hazyview B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Stayed two nights while on honeymoon after getting married in SA. Firstly Phil and Margi are the best, it was like meeting old friends even though we had only met for the first time, they made you feel so welcome and part of the place. It was great having a chat over a few ciders. The rooms are excellent with every need catered for. Breakfast was fantastic, with everything you would want, and Phil's omelette is a credit to him. We certainly didn't start the day hungry.

Phil and Margi will give you all the information you need on the area, the Panorama drive and sights to see, even down to where to get the best steak in South Africa, (Pioneer butcher's and grill), and I eat quite a few while we were there.

We had a lovely time with Phil and Margi and we wish we had spent another couple of nights, but it's a good reason for us to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobblesLondonderry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 373 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2010

Fabulous guest house and it is a shame that we only stayed for one night as it would have been great for a relaxing break. Phil and Margi are so welcoming and the lodge itself is lovely. Beautiful big bedrooms and the location amoungst the trees gives it a special touch. There is no restaurant at the hotel, although Phil provided some excellent suggestions - breakfast in the morning was superb! After a very long drive it was perfect for unwinding....we would without a doubt stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2009

Phil and Margi are friendly and charming hosts in this beautiful accommodation set amongst lovely gardens. There is so much to do in the area - Phil will share plenty of ideas with you and listen to your tales over a beer or at the braai in the evening. The road to Blue Jay the first time you travel there leaves you wondering where you are heading...but it is well worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peterndebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

What can we say? Blue Jay Lodge exceeded our expectations in every way. Thank you Phil and Margi for making us feel so welcome. From the welcome drinks on arrival and the delicious breakfast outside to the making of the braai fire for us in the evenings your hospitality was awesome. The beautiful, tranquil setting and gorgeous comfortable room made us want to stay longer than the 4 days that we were there. We had the self catering accommodation and everything that was necessary for a comfortable stay was provided, just bring your clothes and food! Blue Jay is situated on the outskirts of Hazyview and convenient for easy access to the Kruger Park through either Kruger or Phabeni gates and also for the Panorama Route. We have stayed at many other lodges in the area over the years, never returning to any one of them but we sure will return to Blue Jay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zebra949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

My wife, mother inlaw and I stayed at the Blue Jay Lodge for 2 fabulous nights. After reading some negative reviews about several other 4 star lodges in the Hazyview area on Tripadvisor, I knew I hit the jackpot when booking at BlueJay.I can only confirm the 5 star reviews by al other reviews on Tripadvisor. a very warm thanks to Phil and Margi.
Like MacArthur said " we will be back"
George, Yola and Ouma.
Hartbeestpoort, RSA

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank assan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Beautiful and quite location, very spacious, nicely decorated rooms and Margi and Philip are very friendly and helpful hosts. It's the perfect spot for a stop over in Hazyview (as we did on our way to the Sabi Sand Game Reserve) or as a location for tours to Kruger Park or Panorama Route. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ethnologica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

We stayed a week with Philip and Margi - we could not have been made more welcome. The lodge itself is delightful and really well located for the southern part of Kruger and the Blyde River Canyon. The room was lovely and well-appointed, though we didn't make much use of the TV - there's too much else to do and see!

Thanks again to Philip and Margi for a truly great and memorable holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fotogeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
1.6 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
1.6 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
406 reviews
4.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ashbourne Country Escape
Ashbourne Country Escape
#4 of 26 in Hazyview
208 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dreamfields Guesthouse
Dreamfields Guesthouse
#7 of 26 in Hazyview
236 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kruger Park Lodge
Kruger Park Lodge
#3 of 42 in Hazyview
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Jay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Jay Lodge

Address: 645-647 Bluejay Street | P.O. Box 822, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Hazyview
Price Range: $128 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Jay Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Game Lodge Style Accommodation in Hazyview - 4 Star Graded B&B and Self Catering - 10kms from Kruger National Park entering through Phabeni Gate - 40kms from God's Window, Blyde River Canyon, Sabie & Pilgrims Rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Jay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Jay Lodge Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing