We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay, owners friendly and helpful”
Review of Blue Jay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Jay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 22 Hazyview B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Danville, CA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay, owners friendly and helpful”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Margi was so helpful and accommodating, packing us breakfast because we had to leave for the airport prior to the breakfast service time. We had a very good stay, with everything just what you would expect for a B&B in the countryside. The decor and furniture may be more suited to couples than friends, but we made it work quite easily. We were luckily able to use the Wifi from our room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    40
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
269
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Blue Jay Lodge is not what I see as a traditional lodge nor is there any activities or a real bar or restaurant, It is basically just the chalets surrounded by some forest, these however are beautiful and clean, only downside was that the chalets was very closer to each other than I anticipated. Do not even think on driving the road into the lodge if you are worried about your car because the peace of road towards the entrance is awful. On the upside the people and management are really wonderful people and friendly. I think Blue Jay is specific to some people's needs and in accordance with those people's needs it will be 5 star, really quiet and very nice rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Tiaan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was our second visit to Blue Jay and we were not disappointed! The rooms are light and airy and of a good size. The balcony area outside provides a lovely spot to enjoy the tranquil gardens and to enjoy the bird population.
Phil was a great host, providing entertaining converstation over a sundowner and an excellent breakfast! Best omelette ever!
It is a great location to either explore Kruger from or as a stop before moving into the park and Phil and Margi are eager to please and help guests during their stay at Blue Jay, which is much appreciated.
We hope to return again next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 75AT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

bluew jay lodge and 'a great place. immersed in the peace of nature
the rooms are huge and beautiful
the warm welcome and the breakfast freshly prepared tasty and plentiful.
convenient for visiting the panoramic route and the kruger
the only known
and 'on a dirt road and there are no indications, it can be difficult to find

Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sgrinfio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Blue Jay was everything it promised to be from the Website! Perfectly positioned for every notable interest in the lowveld - God's Window, Sabie, Pilgrim's Rest, White River, Bourke's Luck, Lowveld Botanical Gardens, and Kruger Park. The accommodation was luxurious. The hosting was attentive to all our wishes and in providing advice for meals in town. We will definitely recommend Blue Jay to all our friends. Johan and Elzabe Havenga.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JohanH145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valkenswaard
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Since this also is my 8th review on Blue Jay ,I will make this a short one and refer you to all my other ones.
To keep it simple ;this lodge is the very best you can pick ,that's why this time we stayed for 10 days.
The formula of the 5 star rooms and the personalities of the Blue Jay hosts Phil and Margi is an ongoing success story ,as you can see in all the other reviews.
Thanks again Phil for all the interesting sundowner coversations we had while enjoying a good glass of wine !
Hope everything will work out fine with Margi's mum. Oh ..and please say hello to Klaus from Abangane Guest Lodge , loved meeting him .

Cannot wait to visit you again !

Room Tip: All rooms have the same excellent quality .You cannot go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans9856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Beautiful room with much space and absolutly clean
excellent breakfast very good fruit salad
nice garden with explanationshields at all trees
great hosts always friendly and helpful with good hints
the only negativ one is the bad road to the hotel for about 300 mtrs

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pbauknecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
1.6 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
1.6 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
354 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#3 of 13 in Hazyview
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
21.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
0.9 mi away
Kruger Park Lodge
Kruger Park Lodge
#3 of 39 in Hazyview
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Jay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Jay Lodge

Property: Blue Jay Lodge
Address: 645-647 Bluejay Street | P.O. Box 822, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Jay Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Game Lodge Style Accommodation in Hazyview - 4 Star Graded B&B and Self Catering - 10kms from Kruger National Park entering through Phabeni Gate - 40kms from God's Window, Blyde River Canyon, Sabie & Pilgrims Rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blue Jay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Jay Lodge Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing