We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect feeling! Top!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Jay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Jay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 19 Hazyview B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
“Perfect feeling! Top!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

A real place to be close to the bush!
I would even say the more than better place to stay
Perfect service perfect rooms! Very nice breakfast! The silence makes the music of the nature and has an distressed effect on every soul

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    40
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
261
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hazyview
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our stay at blue-jay lodge for 7 nights was wonderful,me and my husband really enjoyed our stay,the host Phil and Margy always went an extra mile to make our stay special,thanks a lot and may the Lord all mighty richily bless you and expand your territories,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Narehazyview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazyview
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

From the moment we arrived, Phil and Margie seemed to be tuned in to our needs and style of holiday. They are both helpful about things to do in the area and also in ensuring that guests have all they need to make their stay comfortable. The rooms are exceptionally comfortable - ours had a deep bath and walk in shower in the en suite bathroom, fab bed. To call the accomodation "Bed & Breakfast" is understating the whole experience of staying at Blue Jay lodge - yet again South African hospitality at its best with people who really care about getting it right.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank budgieCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
200 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was a return visit - see our previous review. In had been two years since we were last in Hazyview. This short note simply confirms that Blue Jay Lodge continues to be an outstanding example of what can be accomplished through excellent management and attention to detail. Phil and Margie are excellent hosts who clearly enjoy spending time with their guests. They are also a mine of useful local information (including viewing spots in Kruger Park). The accommodation is spacious, well designed and meticulously clean. The breakfasts feature a wide array of options, and feature Phil's excellent cooked dishes. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazyview
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were once again blown away by the tranquility, ambiance and quality of our Blue Jay experience! Everything was yet again absolutely excellent. This is without doubt the place to be en route to the treasures of Mpumelanga. The host ate fantastic. David venter and Marc Beulens, Belgium.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazyview
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights in the Kingfisher suite of the Blue Jay Lodge as part of our visit to Kruger National Park and the Sabi Sand Game Reserve. In a nutshell, we loved our stay at the Blue Jay Lodge.

Ahead of our visit, I found Phil to be very engaged as he confirmed our reservations, and of his own initiative, provided directions to the property. Since we were in a self-catering suite, he provided information on where we could obtain groceries and provided sound advice on travel arrangements to Hazyview from our Airport.

We were welcomed by Margie, who showed us to our spacious, clean and tastefully decorated suite. The beds were very comfortable and the peaceful surroundings were much appreciated given our relatively hectic itinerary and the self-catering facilities were more than sufficient.

Our only regret is that we did not stay in the Hazyview area longer. I would certainly recommend a stay at the Blue Jay Lodge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Visvesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosenheim, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Very friendly and perfect place to stay. We missed nothing and had a very good time. The rooms are designed in a local style and unique. A fitnesscenter is not available but a nice pool is in mid of the garden
Christian and Renate from Germany

Room Tip: all rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
1.6 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
1.6 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#3 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
3.9 mi away
Ashbourne Country Escape
Ashbourne Country Escape
#3 of 19 in Hazyview
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kruger Park Lodge
Kruger Park Lodge
#2 of 43 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Jay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Jay Lodge

Property: Blue Jay Lodge
Address: 645-647 Bluejay Street | P.O. Box 822, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Jay Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Game Lodge Style Accommodation in Hazyview - 4 Star Graded B&B and Self Catering - 10kms from Kruger National Park entering through Phabeni Gate - 40kms from God's Window, Blyde River Canyon, Sabie & Pilgrims Rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blue Jay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Jay Lodge Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing