We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The weekend I will never forget”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Jay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Jay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 19 Hazyview B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“The weekend I will never forget”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

First time in Hazyview Mpumalanga, was the best time of my South African life. It was my birthday weekend (3Nov) and the best bday present my boyfriend (Sizwe) gave me was not only an African birthday in this beautiful province, but also a weekend in this beautiful lodge, Blue Jay. It was even nicer because not even one snake popped up. It was exactly what I needed. A peaceful weekend in a peaceful town. Blue Jay is clean and soooo beautiful. You want to come down and experience it for yourself. The hospitality is just amazing; I'm talking about kindness you've never experienced anywhere else. Phil and Margi are the best hosts ever. They're lovely people and their sense of humour makes you feel like you are at home, away from home.
The breakfast, that scrabbled egg, those extremely fresh croissants....keeps me wondering why I didn't go for seconds.

Basically, if you are looking for a full on nature/African getaway, Hazyview is the place and if you're looking for a classy, elegant, peaceful, affordable, welcoming place to stay, Blue Jay is the way.
Im definately doing Blue Jay next time I'm in Hazyview (soon)...and this time, I'll take seconds on those croissants.

Room Tip: Just have fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zama M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    40
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
264
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roma
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Second time in Hazyview, I stayed in this beautiful lodge for two nights.
Phil & Margi have created a very pleasant atmosphere, making you feeling like at home.
Rooms are very very nice, clean and comfortable.
Breakfast is superlative.
The only thing missing is the view; on the veranda (where you will enjoy some time talking with your hosts while drinking a cold beer) you feel as you were in a forest, surrounded by many beautiful trees...would we have had a nice panorama too, then we could have said having reached the perfection but "perfection doesn't belong to our world".

While I am writing Blue Jay is first ranked in Hazyview, while Phil's friend Klaus comes just after with the Abangane, which last year I rated "excellent" too. What about next year? Need to decide where to go....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaximilianFirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valkenswaard
Level Contributor
111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

An absolute must when visiting SA is this lodge with its wonderful hosts Philip and Margi !
This will also be my 7th review on this lodge and nothing has changed ,so feel free to read the other reviews on Tripadvisor .
You will be staying in a 5 star room amidst a wonderful garden with some 26 indigenous species of trees ;really spectacular !
I keep repeating myself but me and my wife are really in love with the rooms at Blue Jay ; everything in the rooms reflects quality !
Location of the lodge couldn't be better ; 10 minutes from the Phabeni gate , and some 5 minutes from several restaurants like for example Pioneers ,an excellent restaurant with equally good service from waiters as Mozes and Maisha !
Blue Jay is also our last stop everytime we visit SA ; it's about 390 kilometers to O.R.Tambo in Johannesburg ,so not too far a drive !
Oh and as I mentioned before in one (or two ) of my reviews ; don't forget Happy Hour at this lodge for some great stories from fellow travellers combined with Phil and Margi's anecdotes

We have already boked for march 2013......obviously !

Thank you once again Phil and Margi !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans9856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had the self catering "room" - amazing. Bedroom, en-suite, kitchen-diner and sitting room in a round building. $ nights of delight.

Phil and Margie are great hosts and will look after you and advise on local restaurants etc (see our other reviews).

The location is hidden away a bit so you have to drive to eat out, but very peaceful with lovely gardens. It is also just a few minutes away from Kruger Park and, in the other direction you can get into the mountains with Blyde Canyon, many waterfalls, and God's WIndow

Absolutley Fantastic

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles_Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights after leaving Sabi Sands Game Reserve as we wanted to explore the Panorama Route. Blue Jay Lodge was a great base to do that. The rooms were big, comfortable and well equipped. We particularly liked the great coffee (Sabie Valley Coffee) and having a fridge was also useful.
Some reviewers have mentioned a steep drive - but it isn't too steep and you're only only it for a very short distance. Our VW Polo hire car managed without any problems! The directions you get on the confirmation email were also very comprehensive and we had no issues finding Blue Jay Lodge. The gardens are lovely and all rooms have a spacious balcony to sit on.

We ate at at both Tides (fish/seafood) and Pioneer Grill (meat!) and both were excellent. We also took up Phil's suggestion to visit the Hippo Hide at Kruger Park Lodge which was good fun (nice to do at sunset on the way back to the Lodge).

Phil and Margi's hospitality and help was tremendous and the breakfast was very good indeed.
We only had a short time here, but throughly enjoyed it and would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Phil and Margi are awesome hosts. I spend only one night but a memorable one. The rooms are open and airy and once in the room, you may be convinced that you are in one of the up market lodges in the game park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SP123176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Our stay in the Paradise room at Blue Jay Lodge was absolutely fabulous. It was without doubt the best accommodation we stayed in during our 2-week trip to South Africa. From drinks on the verandah with our hosts, Phil and Margi, to the luxurious and exquisite Paradise room, to the braai around the pool - perfection. After coming from the more rustic camps that Kruger has to offer,we were in awe of our new home, and home was what it felt like. The attention to detail was phenomenal and the bath was a godsend. The bed was so comfortable that it was difficult to get out of, and the delicious and relaxing breakfast (cooked up iby Phil in his chef's uniform) on the verandah made it doubly difficult to leave the guesthouse and see the delights of the Panorama Route. The wonderful hosts even phoned the local butchers to tell them that we may pop in after hours to buy some fresh meat for our braai at the guesthouse - wood and charcoal provided by our delightful hosts. Regretfully, we only stayed two nights, but it is on the top of our list for our return visit, hopefully next year. This guesthouse is an absolute gem, and together with the Pioneer restaurant nearby (fabulous steaks) they have put Hazyview on the map. Don't be put off by the steep hill of a dirt road to get there- once you do, you will be ... in paradise :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hongkongjust1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
1.6 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
1.6 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#2 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
4.1 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
0.9 mi away
Kruger Park Lodge
Kruger Park Lodge
#4 of 40 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ashbourne Country Escape
Ashbourne Country Escape
#3 of 19 in Hazyview
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Jay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Jay Lodge

Property: Blue Jay Lodge
Address: 645-647 Bluejay Street | P.O. Box 822, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Jay Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Game Lodge Style Accommodation in Hazyview - 4 Star Graded B&B and Self Catering - 10kms from Kruger National Park entering through Phabeni Gate - 40kms from God's Window, Blyde River Canyon, Sabie & Pilgrims Rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blue Jay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Jay Lodge Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing