We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see!”

Blyde River Canyon Nature Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$91.08*
and up
Full-Day Blyde River Canyon Tour from Nelspruit, Whiteriver or Hazyview
Ranked #3 of 108 things to do in Mpumalanga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The 33 km long spectacular gorge has an abundance of wildlife.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A must see!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

If you are travelling anywhere in South Africa and are within a few hundred k's of this place, just go! It is absolutely magnificent. We got some stunning photos and were in awe of the breathtaking views.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    141
    26
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to be...”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful areas in the world. Take time and behold the Three Rondavels as it is the most scenic vista of the Blyde River Canyon. Head over to Forever Resorts Blyde River Canyon and stay in the magnificent guest house overlooking the Three Rondavels. Natural beauty does not get better than that.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heartensoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
502 reviews
210 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Awesome, just awesome”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Blyde River Canyon area is very beautiful and a day or more in this area is recommended.
The views of the canyon are really special and if you have time, a hike or boat trip can be done as well. The road from Sabie or Graskop is absolutely fine and stops can be made at God's Window on the way.

A truly beautiful part of Mpumalanga.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kaapie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“2 hour tour”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went on the 2 hour boat tour and it was a lovely relaxing tour well worth paying for. Beautiful waterfalls, views and wildlife can be observed here. There is an all day tour I believe which takes you on a walking route, as we were short on time we didn't manage this but I can imagine the views are fantastic so would do this if we went back. Great tour!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ToriaEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“SIMPLY STUNNING!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Okay, if you're spending a day in Blyde here's my rec for you: Definitely stop by the Three Rondevals as it is the most scenic vista of Blyde River Canyon! Then, skip all of the other scenic spots and head over to Forever Resorts Blyde River Canyon. From there, you can pay a small fee to go hiking! I recommend you try the Leopard Trail which connects to the Guinea Fowl Trail which connects to the Lorrie Trail and back to your car :) The whole thing will take you anywhere from 3-4 hours. If you do this trail, you'll have a wonderful view of the Three Rondevals and get to experience some serious adventures - hiking across little tributaries and crawling across rocks! Seriously, please do this cause just driving from spot to spot will get a little boring! Have fun and enjoy :)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank KimberlyP17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blyde River Canyon Nature Reserve also viewed

Mpumalanga, South Africa
Graskop, Mpumalanga
 

Been to Blyde River Canyon Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing