We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Calming and Relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mama Tau Private Game Lodge
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here for one night and it was the best choice of my life! We booked a Self Catering Tent. We were The only ones there and had the whole area to ourselves. The pool was warm and refreshing. We didn't know that there wasn't a store for miles around so didn't have much food. Then Beverly (the manager) gave us some sausages to braai. Before we fell asleep, we heard lions roar and hyenas laugh! In the morning we went on a 1 hour tour of the white lions. The tour ended with us playing with lion cubs. We will definitely come back here for a long weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miksa223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Wonderful accommodation in bedded tents with everything you need plus fully equipped kitchen at the back of the tent. Very reasonable prices.
Lovely sundown views of floodlit waterhole a mere 50m from the tents.
Sparkling pool, quiet, peaceful and without a doubt best tentd accommodation ever stayed in.
Highly recommended for a restful night or more.
Just make sure to take along your own firewood and all food and drinks.

Room Tip: Each of the 5 tents is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outofafricaBotswana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the tented camp for only one night, and wished we had stayed longer! The accommodation was wonderful, and the setting very peaceful and unique. We had supper outside the tent and had fun watching the water buck and other animals graze freely about 50m away from us. At night we could hear the lions roar and the laughs of the hyena, it was truly something we have never experienced before. We also went on the lion safari, which I found scary but also thoroughly enjoyable. I highly recommend this place for anyone wanting to get away from the city life.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ms_Sadien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2009

As my wife doesn't get to see her brother much (he lives and works in ZA), we had to travel to South Africa to get some quality time with him and his wife

For her surprise birthday present- we took a road trip North from Jo'burg to Mama Tau for 2 days..

My wife , never one to shy from animals played with the orphan cubs for ages.

The owners made our stay a memorable one,and the accomodations were very comfortable- many thanks to them...

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank entlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2005

We have travelled during three weeks through Zimbabwe, Botswana and South Africa, staying in a lot of different hotels and lodges. Mama Tau was, without any discussion, the most beautiful and the most comfortable among all the lodges we have visited.
Discovering the bungalow was a very good surprise! 75 square meters, nicely decorated and furnished, with a very large bath room fully equipped, including the UV lamps to keep you warm after the shower (!) and a heating system for the cold season. In addition of this, we have really enjoyed the extra large beds and the choice among different kinds of pillows.
From the terrace, we had a beautiful view on the bush as well as the dam, giving us the opportunity to watch animals drinking at the end of the day. All of this at less than 50 meters away from our bungalow!
The owner, Vivianne, alias Mama Tau, is so friendly and the staff provides a very god service.
Relaxing at the pool, looking at the bush and the dam is also a relaxing experience.
But above all of this, the most exciting experience is the visit to the lions! Ask Dirk about those animals, he knows everything and you will feel really relax and safe in the middle of the white lions. This kind of visit provides you with the opportunity to take nice close pictures and to watch a mother with her new born babies, which is almost impossible in the middle of the bush. An unforgettable experience!
We have also had the opportunity to go to ‘The Top’ in the evening, for a barbecue in the middle of the bush. This is a place located on the top of a hill where you can see far away as well as hear the lions roaring when the sun is going down. Unusual feeling again! We have spent the whole evening looking at the sky and the African stars!
Difficult to describe all the feelings generated by the stay at Mama Tau but it was and remains one of the most wonderful experience in our life. We will definitely go back to this lovely place, especially since there are loads of activities in the area we have not had the time to do. But for sure, if we have to stay in the region again, we will go for Mama Tau.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Papou52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterberg hotels
0.0 mi away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 40 in Vaalwater
430 reviews
0.0 mi away
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
#3 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
#1 of 1 in Entabeni Game Reserve
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mabula Game Lodge
Mabula Game Lodge
#1 of 5 in Mabula Private Game Reserve
595 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thandeka Lodge and Spa
Thandeka Lodge and Spa
#33 of 67 in Waterberg
69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest
Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest
#1 of 40 in Vaalwater
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Tau Private Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Tau Private Game Lodge

Address: Visgat Road nr Lephalale, 0555, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Waterberg
Price Range: $177 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To the West of Limpopo region, in the deep heart of the Waterberg bushveld, Mama Tau Private Game Lodge is located at only 3 hours drive from Johannesburg, in a malaria free area. Nestled in a private game reserve of 3.000 hectares, Mama Tau is also home to the rare white lions, and offers luxury accommodation in exclusive bungalows providing you with uppermost comfort in the wild bushveld. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing