We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tlopi Tented Camp - a definite must”
Review of Tlopi Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tlopi Tented Camp
Reviewed June 27, 2012

In the Marakele National Park, this tented camp is a definite must if you enjoy beautiful mountain landscapes, and peace and quiet. When we were driving to camp, we came across a family of white rhinos crossing the dirt road. The park hosts is one of the largest breeding colonies of Cape vultures. The camp is self catering so don't forget to buy food in Thabazimbi before you enter the park. While preparing your barbecue, you will enjoy a wonderful sunset by the lake with beautiful mountain views. The units are simple but comfortable, exactly what you would expect in the African bush. We arrived in the afternoon and left the following morning but would have loved to stay another day to explore the park.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank sandyLimassol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Tlopi Tented Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 60 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2012

If you enjoy the wilderness then this is for you. The sounds of nature, not man, surround you, except when fellow residents leave or return to their tents. Plus the floor boards in the tents make a lot of creaking noises when people walk about. That said most of the time there is tranquility.

The tents are basic but comfortable, large and very clean. I was staying in one as a single occupant which was a little scary at first, but I soon realised I was safe. The tents were very secure and I saw very little in the way of nasty insects or snakes, which had been my particular worry. The other two people in my party were put in the next door tent which was very convenient for us.

Each tent is positioned with a good view of the lake to the front, which is visited by a variety of animals. While we were there nothing large or dangerous visited, but we had plenty of the antelope to see and many beautiful birds. I have no idea what the fish in the lake were, but they were very large and somewhat interesting to watch.

The kitchens and dining area on the patio are mostly enclosed by netting and glass. Which helps against the local fauna. The small gaps which are not netted or glassed allow in some uninvited guests called monkeys. The kitchens were well equipped for our needs, and we enjoyed our evening braai sitting on the terrace.

Beware the vervet monkeys, these delightful and amusing little creatures, seem to be particular meddlesome and cheeky in this camp. You only had to leave foods stuffs for a moment and it had gone.To the extent that one night I put some sweetcorn on the stove to boil, I only turned round to pick up the lid and a monkey was in a stole one of the cobs out of the pan. Naturally, when I told the others, we all had a fit of uncontrollable laughter.

If you have done camping before and are used to being self reliant I think this is a wonderful opportunity to enjoy nature and to get away from it all. You may see the elephants or lions if you are lucky, which we weren't, but we do know that the lions killed one night about a quarter of a mile from the camp so they are about.

Room Tip: Ask for the tents at either end of the line, particularly number ten as no other vehicles can pass b...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lizzyowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Marakele is a superb game park in the Waterberg region of northern South Africa. The park is divided in two by a fence and gate. The first area has a camping ground but non of the big five. The second region abounds with elephants, various antelope species and also boasts cheetah and leopard amongst others.
Tlopi Tented camp is in this second region and is situated next to a waterhole where elephants often come to drink. The camp is as monkey proof as possible however on our stay most of our neighbours lost some food to these cheeky critters! It is advisable to turn your refrigerator to the wall and keep as much food as possible in your car.
Firewood is available at the entrance to the park but all provisions need to be bought beforehand. Tlopi has electricity and private braai areas.
The park has a four wheel drive track and a completely remote feel to it. Definitely a great place to stay if you want to escape the rat race and get back to nature. Night drives are offered and worth taking. The guides know their tracks and we spotted white rhino, elephants and learned all about the lives of impalas.

9  Thank Tintagel32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2010

Marakele NP is the perfect place for people who are looking for wilderness though with all the facilities you wouldn't expect in a camping site. Each of the tents in the Tlopi tented camp is clean and has lots of room (two adults and three kids could fit in) and comes with an open patio with a basic dining table, fridge, stove, sink and fireplace overlooking a dam full of wildlife..
There is really abundant wildlife and you will most likely have dinner while watching, 10m from you, rhinos, great kudus, warthogs and you will be woken up in the morning by little vervet monkeys trying to steal your food from your cupboards.
I strongly recommend this place to anyone who has done some camping but not at all to those used just to luxury and "ring-the-bell" to get it people.

4  Thank canbagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AndreM78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TatiaEnglebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterberg
6.4 mi away
Marataba Safari Lodge
Marataba Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Thabazimbi
385 reviews
13.8 mi away
Maroela Guest Lodge
Maroela Guest Lodge
#3 of 14 in Thabazimbi
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Matingwe Lodge
Matingwe Lodge
#6 of 40 in Vaalwater
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 40 in Vaalwater
423 reviews
0.0 mi away
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
#2 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
58 reviews
75.9 mi away
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
#1 of 1 in Entabeni Game Reserve
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tlopi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tlopi Tented Camp

Address: Marakele National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Waterberg
Hotel Class:2 star — Tlopi Tented Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing