We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream come true!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Horizon Horseback Adventures Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2013

After seeing an article and a photo showing a rider and horse swimming in Africa many years ago I planned one day do it and now I can say after spending 5 nights in Horizon that it surpassed all my expectations! It was the best holiday I have ever had and I was lucky enough to share it with my daughter who also has a passion for horses and riding. What makes Horizon truly special is the people - nothing is too much trouble and everything is done to ensure you have a truly relaxing and fun time with them. Great horses, delicious home cooked food and a great variety of activities on horseback. Thanks to Laura, Kirsty and all the gang who made my dream come true. Saving to go back already!!!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank roisin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 230 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

Excellent. I will go back to this fabulous place! Great people, great horses, great food! Everything was just amazing. I wish I could stay more. You feel like home. Many thanks to you all, Laura, Shane, Kirsty, all the guides and cooks. Staying at the camp Davidson was a great experience. See you soon!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlotte2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I never imagined in a million ,trillion years that my plan would actually work!!!
The whole ambience at Horizon was perfect for us. It was the first time we had managed to get away ...just the two of us leaving our delightful teenagers at home to fend for themselves. We were immediately made to feel at home with the friendly welcome we received from Laura and her team on our arrival. Our accomadation was a beautiful little lodge ,with an awesome view to wake up to every morning and the delicious home cooking never failed to impress( the afternoon tea with cake was such a nice touch and it just gave you that boost of energy to set you up for the afternoon ride) That first sight ,when the whole herd of horses came into the ranch in the morning and the excitement of finding out which horse you were to be matched up with, then being on horseback and seeing the game,the zebras,the giraffes, the hippos,the warthogs ,the kudo,the impala just doing their thing in their natural environment. That feeling of jumping on bareback and gradually getting deeper and deeper into the water and before you know it you're actually swimming with the horses ....these are all moments I'll treasure forever. However if that wasn't enough the Polocrosse and Western games really showed a side to my husbands character that I never knew existed. This competitive animal was unleashed !!! So this is how they did it and this is how my cunning plan became reality. I'm now married to a fellow horse lover. To all the lovely staff at Horizon...I can't thank you enough !!!xxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyndsay28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We've just come back from a fantastic holiday at Horizon. I don't have enough superlatives for it. We stayed there for 8 days which was not long enough! The riding is exciting with beautifully kept horses. We were all given horses that matched our riding abilities. ALL the staff are so friendly and go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. The food is divine and there's so much of it. The accommodation was superb, we stayed in one of the rondavelles which had a view over the lake where we could hear the hippos at night and watch the magnificent sunsets. Our young adult children absolutely loved the pool, dogs, cats, horses and, in particular, the polocross and western games. The rides included lots of cantering and spotting game, even riding amongst zebras and close to giraffe! The swimming with the horses will be an unforgettable experience. A HUGE thank you to Laura, Shane, Kirsty and all the others. We'll be back!!!

Room Tip: The two rondavelles by the lake are very romantic and private with superb views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cristofle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Omg what can I say............ 3rd time at Horizon and truly ammmmmmmaaaaaaaazzzzzzzing. People ask me, why do I go back to the same place? Was it as good as before? As long as Horizon continue to be Horizon then I will be going back year after year after year, and stay longer and longer ( wish I had more money :-( ) I love everyone and everything. My boyfriend has even agreed to come out on the last week of my holiday next year ( he's a skier Not a horse rider) to experience my experience and I can't wait to share it with him. I have already booked for next year and it cant come soon enough. LOVE LOVE LOVE XXX

Room Tip: All amazing and Ive stayed in all of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have taken up riding again to explore places and things you would never see from a landrover or on a motor bike or car . The horse does the hard work ; you cover more ground ,more excitingly , than walking . The first experience was in Argentina near Cordoba on a cattle ranch up in the hjills - another review but a great experience. This second was to Horizon Ranch in the Waterburg , 1 1/2 hours north of Jo' Burg towards Botswana . A bit of a flyer for me , but such a good decision . Pick up from Jo'burg airport . Laughing drivers all the way . Wonderful remote, spacious wilderness and seemingly endless red sandstone roads to a throughly rural ranch with a great welcome from the owners Shane and Laura and all their helpers and ranch hands . A comfortably simple cottage facing on to the lake to stay in and real home cooked meals , taken all together with some other charming and interesting guests- as it happened . Just so relaxing ,easy and very friendly . 126 horses to chose from and rides and guides fitting your competence and adventurous spirit. And so much space to ride . Through the bush, seeing the animals close to as on horse back you are no threat and it is so quiet ! Now the idea of riding out at 8am may daunt you , but works perfectly when you return at 11 for coffee and then a relaxed lunch and a sleep and ride out again at 4pm for a couple more hours . The dinner in the house and the occasional flying entry of a lost dung beetle ( wonderful creatures and harmless) and great wide African skies and amazing sunsets . And so to bed and you sleep well . Great galloping country too - miles of sandstone tracks . Herding the ranch's cattle with Shane gives you a sense of doing something worthwhile , And be sure to go to the local 100 year old church with them on Sunday and meet the neighbours from all around - like 25 miles all around. A charming , unpretentious experience of local society .

I just felt so relaxed , exercised , intrigued , well fed and looked after and throughly satisfied - and I would go back anytime .

Room Tip: Cottages are all around the lake and very peaceful ; But don't go to the up the hills camp to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotsRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our holiday at Horizon was the best we ever had. All the people there are lovely!! Rooms are great - food is excellent and the whole experience was second to none. The riding is also amazing and completely bespoke to the individual person. My husband is a beginner and I am an experienced rider - and we both amazing rides on horses selected perfectly to match our skills and temperament.
This is an experience of a lifetime :O)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAM-Clayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterberg hotels
16.5 mi away
Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest
Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest
#1 of 40 in Vaalwater
528 reviews
29.4 mi away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 40 in Vaalwater
442 reviews
0.0 mi away
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
#2 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.7 mi away
Mabula Game Lodge
Mabula Game Lodge
#1 of 5 in Mabula Private Game Reserve
612 reviews
26.1 mi away
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
#1 of 1 in Entabeni Game Reserve
272 reviews
46.4 mi away
Thandeka Lodge and Spa
Thandeka Lodge and Spa
#34 of 67 in Waterberg
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Horseback Adventures Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Horseback Adventures Lodge

Address: | Triple 'B' Ranch, 0530, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Waterberg
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horizon’s emphasis is on horses and horsemanship and offers the widest variety of riding you are likely to find anywhere in the world. The warm and inclusive atmosphere coupled with a fervent love of fine cuisine, has lead to an unsurpassed reputation for hospitality. Riding options include: riding with game, cattle mustering, polocrosse, cross country jumping, swimming on horseback, two day wilderness safaris, hippo watching, western games - and of course hacking across a huge expanse of superb and picturesque riding country. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing