We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My 1st hotel casino experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peermont Metcourt at Khoroni
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Thohoyandou
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My 1st hotel casino experience.”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during a business trip for only one night. I found it to be a pleasant stay for the night. Dinner was a wee bit pricey but I thought it was delicious. The chicken and the beef options offered in the buffet were tender and juicy. I found the casino to be a welcome time killer. I lost about R300~$40 but it was fun. The drinks were reasonably priced too. They don't have electrical adapters to lend out but I was told that you can get them at the shop nearby. Other than that, this suited my needs for 1 night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CraigD81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    24
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
3
6
6
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nelspruit
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Was at Thohoyandou for a wedding and i stayed at Khoroni Hotel for the weekend. It is situated in a very convenient place, there's a shopping center opposite the hotel. We were given a very warm welcome at arrival and the check-in process was quick. The rooms are large and comfortable, neat and clean. The hotel restaurant provided good breakfast and the dinner was great.

Would recommend the hotel for a short visit of a group of friends or so. Especially if you will be away during the day and only come back to sleep. Not an ideal place for families. The place is a bit busy due to the Casino.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zuluan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Finding it difficult to find accommodation in Thohoyandou online, Khoroni turned out to be our only real option when booking and paying online.

It turns out that virtually everyone who's been to this part of the world has stayed here and nobody has liked it. This consensus is largely attributed to the casino that makes this hotel a drawcard for gamblers and the like.

There is no soap in the rooms (I've stayed in simple self-catering accommodation elsewhere that at least provided a simple bar of soap if nothing else). This was a frustrating discovery on our late arrival upon needing to wash off the dust and grime of a long drive that day.

Juice at breakfast was past its sell-by date and when I brought this to the waiters' attention, he merely took the glass away from me. I raised the matter again and eventually I actually had to tell the waiter that he needed to get rid of the juice and not just clear my dishes.

Buffet options are lacking both for supper and breakfast and my tough-as-a-rock portion of lamb was doused in gravy to make it 'tender' and more palatable. The piece of lamb served back to me drowning in gravy simply looked terrible. I sent it away to be discarded after two attempts to rectify the problem - it seemed that overcooked (?stale) food was supposed to be ok to eat.

The pool was dirty and I wouldn't ever be tempted to take a dip in it regardless of the ambient temperature: thanks to the unfortunate position where it sits overlooked by an outdoors sports bar, smoking area as well as casino entrance. Hardly private or, even at the least, restricted for resident use only.

On check-out, reception staff could not figure out how to use my card and made it out to seem like there was something wrong with me and my card - instead of figuring out how it (one of the newer generation chipped cards) worked.

All in all, it was simply a place to sleep in. nothing more - and don't expect more. Truly 3 star if not less, and unless more places in the immediate area upgrade and/or go online in the area, you'll be hard pressed to have better options when travelling to the area from afar.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank urijnaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 6, 2005

I stayed here in August of 2004, when visiting the University of Venda. I travelled with five other women and we safely stayed in this lovely hotel / casino. The rooms were large with a television, giant king sized bed, ample dresser space and a huge closet that stored three women's luggage (we stayed for 10 days so there was quite a bit of stuff). The bathroom was a private room in the suite with a large tub / shower, toilet and sink. There was a beautiful pool but it was too chilly to swim while we visited. The restaurant was delicious - we had a complementary buffet for breakfast every morning. The buffet was filled with a hot full english breakfast, fish, omelets, local delicacies, and of course cereals, yogurt, etc. The tea service was quite lovely with several choices, including the local Rooibois tea. We ate lunch on our own and usually visited the market next door for dinner (you can pick up some porridge and chicken for like 5-10 rand.) The market also has a very handy bank / atm, grocery store, and restaurants. Several evenings we ate in the hotel's restaurant, but the prices were steep (50-85 rand). The food was wonderful but a little over priced. The staff was very friendly and quite helpful to us during our stay. They even gave us a cot so they third person in the room didn't have to sleep in the king bed (see picture!). The Venda Sun is very well secure and protected with a gate and 24-hour security. The surrounding town is NOT secure at night, we were advised to stay within the confines of the hotel after dark.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thohoyandou
1.7 mi away
2Ten Hotel
2Ten Hotel
#1 of 5 in Thohoyandou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
29.8 mi away
Copacopa Lodge & Conference Centre
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Misty Mountains
Misty Mountains
#2 of 18 in Louis Trichardt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mashamba Country House
Mashamba Country House
#1 of 1 in Giyani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
23.6 mi away
Plaas Guest House
Plaas Guest House
#8 of 17 in Louis Trichardt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peermont Metcourt at Khoroni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peermont Metcourt at Khoroni

Property: Peermont Metcourt at Khoroni
Address: Mphephu Street, Thohoyandou 2745, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Thohoyandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Thohoyandou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Peermont Metcourt at Khoroni 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy contemporary comfort at affordable rates...the 3-star Metcourt hotel at Khoroni offers 82 comfortable rooms and suites - uniquely decorated in a contemporary afro-chic style with an en-suite bathroom, satellite TV, air-conditioning and direct-dial telephones. Its close proximity to the Kruger National Park makes it the perfect destination to discover the beauty of Africa. Enjoy a splendid breakfast, lunch or dinner buffet at Malingani restaurant - an a la carte menu is also available - or grab a cocktail at the pool terrace bar. Guests also have access to the casino, dining, convention and entertainment facilities. The hotel features (82 rooms) with 77 Classic rooms, 1 Junior Suite and 4 Executive suites. Smoking and non-smoking rooms available. Check-in after 15h00 / Check-out before 11h00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Peermont Metcourt at Khoroni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing