We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Convenient for business travel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Polokwane
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Convenient for business travel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

As always, Protea Hotels excel in service, cleanliness and friendly staff. No problems here. This hotel is conveniently situated right next to the N1 just outside Polokwane. It is wedged between the freeway, the train track and the Shell Ultra City, so not a quiet country retreat if this is what you are looking for. The hotel consists of several buildings with ground floor and upstairs rooms. So you drive from the reception area to the building where your room is, and then you have to walk back to the reception area if you want to use the bar or the restaurant. Room service is very good, though. There are no lifts, so mobility impaired persons should definitely ask for ground floor rooms.
It is quite noisy, you can constantly hear the freeway traffic, and it is quite loud when the goods trains come past. The plumbing is also very noisy – when the people in the room adjoining ours used their shower the noise was so loud in our room that we could not even talk to each other.
Very important is to look at the Protea Hotel website for the directions to get to the hotel. Going northwards it is a simple matter of exiting at the Shell Ultra City and driving round to the hotel. Coming from Polokwane southwards is quite tricky. You have to use Road R101 and cross the freeway over a single lane bridge. Going from the hotel to the southbound freeway, you have to cross the bridge again, turn into the Ultra City at the opposite side of the freeway and then access the freeway from there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinettempc, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Dear Erica C,

We would like to thank you for your review of our hotel and it's services. We appreciate the feedback given by our GUESTS both negative and positive comments as these gives us the opportunity to address the needs of our GUESTS. We are happy to hear about the positive experience you had with the honesty of our STAFF. Since your visit, the hotel has undergone several upgrades and refurbishment, including a review of our menus. We hope that you will vist our hotel again and experience the improvements we have made.

Regards;

Reinette van Heerden
Marketing Plan Co-ordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
1
5
1
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Visit this hotel twice, expensive rates. Could not sleep well the first time as there is a railway line close by with goods trains traveling past at night. No access to local enews Channel 403, only SkyNews. Two beds in one room, area needs regular fumigation as rooms are having small ants. Excellent buffet for breakfast and dinner. Accessible from highway, about 10 minutes from CBD. Friendly staff,worth a try! Self drive...

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank KG D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinettempc, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Dear KG D,

We would like to thank you for your review of our hotel and it's services. We appreciate the feedback given by our GUESTS both negative and positive comments as these gives us the opportunity to address the needs of our GUESTS. We are happy to hear about the positive experience you had. Since your visit, the hotel has undergone several upgrades and refurbishment, including a review of our menus. We hope that you will vist our hotel again and experience the improvements we have made.

Regards;

Reinette van Heerden
Marketing Plan Co-ordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed here for a night when driving on N1. It is a good location for a night's rest when you are tired of driving.
+ nice room with comfortable beds. bathroom had bodywash, shampoo, etc
+ great wifi in the breakfast area - we used it to plan our day.
+ decent breakfast (was not included in our room rate of R800)
+ cute pool (we didnt use it, but looked good) and garden : we ate our breakfast sitting next to it

- looked like a fishy roadside motel when we drove in (wasn't that way from the inside)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuparnaPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinettempc, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Dear SuparnaPune,

We would like to thank you for your review of our hotel and it's services. We appreciate the feedback given by our GUESTS both negative and positive comments as these gives us the opportunity to address the needs of our GUESTS. We are happy to hear about the positive experience you had. Since your visit, the hotel has undergone several upgrades and refurbishment, including a review of our menus. We hope that you will vist our hotel again and experience the improvements we have made.

Regards;

Reinette van Heerden
Marketing Plan Co-ordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a fair place to stay at, it's way out of town and not the very best Protea Hotel that I've stayed in although the rooms are clean and comfortable. I haven't tried the food here and will update as soon as I have.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveSet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinettempc, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Dear DaveSet,

We would like to thank you for your review of our hotel and it's services. We appreciate the feedback given by our GUESTS both negative and positive comments as these gives us the opportunity to address the needs of our GUESTS. We are happy to hear about the positive experience you had. Since your visit, the hotel has undergone several upgrades and refurbishment, including a review of our menus. We hope that you will vist our hotel again and experience the improvements we have made.

Regards;

Reinette van Heerden
Marketing Plan Co-ordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

When we arrived, they couldnt find my reservation. Good thing I had it printed. Staff was helpful. Rooms are decent, not great. Clean. Service is so-so. Driving yourself is a bit complicated.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felipe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinettempc, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Dear FelipeR,

We would like to thank you for your review of our hotel and it's services. We appreciate the feedback given by our GUESTS both negative and positive comments as these gives us the opportunity to address the needs of our GUESTS. We are happy to hear about the positive experience you had. Since your visit, the hotel has undergone several upgrades and refurbishment, including a review of our menus. We hope that you will vist our hotel again and experience the improvements we have made.

Regards;

Reinette van Heerden
Marketing Plan Co-ordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Polokwane hotels
9.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Ranch Resort
2.5 mi away
Town Lodge Polokwane
Town Lodge Polokwane
#4 of 16 in Polokwane
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
9.9 mi away
Bolivia Lodge
Bolivia Lodge
#10 of 16 in Polokwane
3.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Fusion Boutique Hotel
Fusion Boutique Hotel
#3 of 16 in Polokwane
4.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kings Castle
Kings Castle
#3 of 45 in Polokwane
4.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
6.6 mi away
61 On Ireland
61 On Ireland
#1 of 45 in Polokwane
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark
Address: N1 Northbound | Next to Shell Ultra City, Polokwane 0700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Polokwane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Polokwane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Landmark is a three star hotel, situated 8.2 km South of Polokwane, on the N1 Northbound next to Shell Ultra City. Protea Hotel Landmark has 80 comfortable, spacious rooms of which 75 rooms are double rooms (ideal for family or two people sharing); furnished with two extra length double beds, the other 5 rooms are furnished with a king size extra length bed, and one room is wheelchair accessible. Our air conditioned rooms have, electronic safes, LCD televisions with a bouquet of DSTV channels and an en-suite bathroom with an overhead shower. Ample parking is available on the property.Protea Hotel Landmark has six, air conditioned venues for conferencing, exhibitions, and events such as weddings, graduations, matric farewells as well as year end functions. • Landmark 1 - Seat up to 75 guests cinema style, 70 guests school room style and 60 guests U-shape.• Landmark 2 - Seat up to 75 guests cinema style. 70 guests school room style and 60 guests U-shape.• Landmark one and two can be combined and seat 150 guests cinema style, 130 guests banquet style.• Landmark 3 – Seat up to 50 guest’s cinema style, 40 guest’s school room style and 30 guests U-shape.• Gazebo - can seat up to 235 people cinema style, 140 guests school room and 100 guests U-shape.We serve wholesome meals in the restaurant or on the patio in good weather.Have a drink and relax in our bar after a long day in the office or take a dive in our sparkling blue pool to cool of during hot summer days. Protea Hotel Landmark is out in the countryside, close enough to the city for business but quiet enough to escape from the city. Bring your children and enjoy a relaxing weekend with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Hotwire so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel By Marriott Polokwane Landmark Limpopo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing