We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Polokwane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victoria Place Guest House
Ranked #3 of 51 Polokwane B&B and Inns
Great Brak River, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bargain”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I heard about Victoria place through friends of mine that stayed there and recommended
it. I was not disappointed that I followed their advice.

It is situated close to the airport which makes it easy to catch your plane on time. It is situated in a quiet street with lots of trees on the premises. Booking in was a breeze and I was in my cottage in no time. I stayed in the Tulip cottage which is far from the street. You have a spacious room with a separate bathroom. There is a table on the porch if you want to enjoy the sunlight.
A fridge and coffee/tea making facilities ensure that you will not get thirsty.

The room was tidy and everything was in working order. I left early the next morning and did not have the full breakfast but it smelt delicious. Everything was well laid out and enough to chose from.

You cannot go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuscany987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
Solo
0
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My trip to Polokwane was a business trip for three nights, along with one other American colleague and a South African colleague who often goes to Polokwane and who selected the Victoria Place Guest House. We enjoyed.

The Victoria Place Guest House is located on a pleasant residential street inside Polokwane and is comprised of a guesthouse, where breakfast is served, and the adjoining "Presidential Suite," which is where we stayed (so I can't speak as to the bedrooms in the main building). The Presidential Suite was somewhat unusual in that, we understand, a president of the country had actually stayed there!

The Presidential Suite, "The Firs," is a completely separate four-bedroom house (two bedrooms downstairs and two upstairs), with its own secure entrance driveway and grounds. It's especially attractive to people travelling together since it has a fully equipped kitchen, allowing people to do their own cooking should they wish, AND a dining area AND a living room with its own larger-screen TV. Certainly if you're travelling for work, there's LOTS of room to spread out your stuff without having to move it when you want to eat, plus attractive grounds. Same-day laundry service is available.

Each of the bedrooms has its own bathroom; my had a bathtub as well as a shower. My room was quite large, with large closets AND a good-size desk (which would have benefitted from a reading lamp), king-size bed with frilly coverings, TV with lots of stations, and a combined air-conditioner/heating unit, and a telephone with listings for the other rooms. WiFi was available, free within broad limits, though it was a bit intermittent and spotty -- perhaps because all of us were using it? Perhaps another hotspot closer to the building would have helped?

Breakfast is served in an large, sunny dining room in the main building, alongside the entrance porch -- a full breakfast cooked to order with a changing array of morning pastries available. It's served for several hours in the morning, ending a little bit later on Saturdays.

The ladies in the office were VERY pleasant and quite willing to provide help, including with access to their printer. Electric plugs in South Africa are different from those used in Europe and the U.S., so I was very glad that they could provide me with an adapter that could be used with my not-so-universal adapter.

Cost was about $70 a night per person for three people, with bed and breakfast. I'd certainly stay again.

www.victoriaplace.co.za

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Centrally situated, Victoria Place offers lovely accommodation. The breakfast was great! Cindy, the manager, made sure that I enjoyed my stay while I worked in that town. I could see that she did this for all the guests. Wi-fi access was easy and she helped me with a battery charger for my Ipad. It was better than home because I was treated with such warmth and nothing was too much trouble for her or the staff. I heartilly recommend Victoria Place for guests working or touring in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

I stayed at this guest house for one night. The room was cold and dark and very sad. I expected 4 star accommodation and received 2 to 3 star accommodation. The carpet was so dirty and full of stains that I could not walk bare foot on the carpet (see my photos). The wash basin had a black mold growing on it and everywhere I looked maintenance was needed. The ladies at reception talked to you as if you were an inferior human being and were not attentive to their guest. (no stars to them!) They said a president stayed there one time (must have been longggg ago) and they maybe have a 4 star room somewhere but definetily not where I stayed. The room fittings were 3 star at best and the bed linen yellow, thin and old with small holes appearing. The biscuits (or cookies) in the tin smelled stale and I quickly closed the lid. The fridge is stocked with alcohol and sweets but no price list is provided- so beware!
The breakfast lady was friendly and the food respectfull.

Room Tip: Ask for the presidents room maybe?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jagluiperd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen S, Owner at Victoria Place Guest House, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Sorry that I am only responding now, but this is to let everyone know all our rooms have been redone. New headboards, linen and paintings. We have replaced the curtains and chairs have been recovered. All the bathrooms are in the process of being upgraded and modernised. Also bathroom and bedroom floors are being redone.
My gardens are still my pride and joy and add to the atmosphere of the place.Visit us again and be charmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Polokwane hotels
5.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark
15.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Ranch Resort
0.7 mi away
Fusion Boutique Hotel
Fusion Boutique Hotel
#3 of 17 in Polokwane
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Bolivia Lodge
Bolivia Lodge
#11 of 17 in Polokwane
35 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Polokwane
3.4 mi away
Town Lodge Polokwane
Town Lodge Polokwane
#5 of 17 in Polokwane
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Place Guest House

Property: Victoria Place Guest House
Address: 32 Burger Street, Polokwane 0699, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Polokwane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Polokwane
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Place Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Victoria Place Guest House Polokwane, Limpopo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing