We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cycad Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$60
$50
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$240
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meropa Casino(Polokwane)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
$83
$71
Park Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bolivia Lodge(Polokwane)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eskulaap Hotel(Polokwane)
$58
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveler rating
24
16
8
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
16
8
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfusion boutique hotelrooms are cleanair conditionerrestaurant next doorwarm receptioncoffee stationprevious nightstay there againbusiness tripsecure parkinghome away from homeguesthousefridgepillowssleepingestablishmentlimpopo
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 55 of 55 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This guest house is just outside town, very comfortable. They have just upgraded some of their rooms and they are really nice. The breakfast is great, just wished you could get a choice of eggs. Good and Comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatFusion, Owner at Cycad Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

Dear Geoffrey
Thank you for your review. We are proud of our beautiful rooms. Hope to host you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I booked business accommodation at Cycad Guesthouse in June for a group of contractors. We booded and paid upfront for the accommodation/food.

To my dismay, later I was told by the contractors that we were paying for lunch packs at R120 per person which did not include content which was paid for even additional extras which was paid for was not given.

There services are very expensive for what you are getting. You will be better off booking in at another guest house in the area. That way it will not burn a hole in your pocket.

Be sure to double check services paid for when booking groups into Cycad Guesthouse.

Room Tip: Average en over priced
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
Thank Christeen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatFusion, Owner at Cycad Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

Dear Christeen
Cycad Guest house is proud of their value for money services offered to guests. Cycad offers free WIFI, free parking, modern rooms, flat screen TV's, DVD players, tea and coffee making facilities, marble bathrooms, a central location and excellent service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The Cycad is a B&B connected to the FusionHotel which is Polokwane's only 5 star hotel. Cycad boasts 4 stars but seemed to me to be a poor 3 star property. Tiny bathrooms, with single ply toilet paper, and a twin single bedded room which was over furnished but offered a poor TV with limited selection and no news channel. It looks like an American motel with rooms opening onto outdoor corridors. A tunnel connects it to the sister property which is big on style but strangely lacking in substance and very overpriced. Service levels are very poor in both properties with seemingly unattained staff. Breakfast served in the sister hotel is an affair of note; cold scrambled eggs, greasy bacon and deep fried hake were on offer with baked beans were available after your 'ticket' is demanded upon entry. In fact the breakfast is served in a sister room to the main hotel, closed off from the rest of the property. It's a con job. All the money was spent on decor and apparently none on staff training. We ate dinner at the Fusion, in a wine cellar costing R960 for four of which about R200 was drinks. A rip off, overcooked, half served in stages and of portions that were nothing to write home about. The B&B was priced at R580 per night compared with the Fusion room rate of R1780. frankly, I wouldn't stay in either again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChangeGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatFusion, Owner at Cycad Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

Dear Change
Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

We were pleased with the accommodation and the attention that we received. We were delighted that this property is in partnership with the Fusion Boutique Hotel which was next door. We had our meals there and were able to relax in the bar and sun terrace.
Very secure parking and a leisurely stroll into town.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane190797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatFusion, Owner at Cycad Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

Dear Dianne
Thank you for your great feedback. One of the benefits of staying at Cycad Guest House is to obtain complimentary access to the wonderfull 5 star amenities of Fusion Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews