We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“16 November Wine tasting - Durbanville Hills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Reviewed November 21, 2013

What a magnificent evening! The wine tasting (Durbanville Hills) was a fantastic experience. A few of my friends and I enjoyed the evening abundantly. Excellent service, food - overall everything excellent. A million of thank you's to Joey and everybody involved! We will certainly be at the next event as well!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank duplessissheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our recent wine tasting event. We are glad that you enjoyed the evening and we hope to welcome you back in 2014 when we resume our wine tasting events in the new year. We will be sure to pass your compliments on to Joey and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 313 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

The decor was absolutely brilliant, the staff was very professional, the food was exquisite, the winetasting was definately something to experience and I would also recommend experiencing the tranquility and peacefulness of Shangri-la to anybody! What a wonderful place to relax and enjoy nature and total peace!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yolandejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Many thanks for your review of our latest Wine tasting event at Shangri-La. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed our last wine tasting event for 2013. We hope to see you again in 2014 when we resume this popular event at Shangri-La.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

What an amazing experience! The food was excellent and the wine so good! The evening was held in The Kraal and it was absolutely delightful outside that night!

Thanks to the staff of shangri-la for the great service and Joey Smith for arranging everything so smoothly! Everyone enjoyed every second of the evening, especially the spokes person's jokes inbetween the lovely atmosfere!

Good job shangri-la!

Regards
Nadine Smith

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear Nadine
Thank you for reviewing our recent Wine Tasting event. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Shangri-La. We look forward to welcoming you back again in 2014 when we resume our Wine Tasting calendar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had the privilege to enjoy an evening of tasting Groote Post wines and a 5 course meal on Saturday, the 2nd of November 2013. Surrounded by tasteful antique and country style furnishings, soft lighting and beautifully set tables created the perfect ambiance to enjoy the high quality wines of Groote Post from Darling in the Western Cape and a interesting and tasty 5 course menu prepared by the qualified chef of Shangri-La. Shangri-La regularly presents these evenings of good wines & food and we recommend this as the perfect occasion and venue, to enjoy a romantic evening with your loved one, or with special friends! Superb!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Louw W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Many thanks for your review of our Groote Post wine tasting event on 2 November. We are thrilled that our guests are enjoying these special occasions. We have an amazing line up planned for 2014 and look forward to seeing you at our forthcoming events. Your compliments will be passed on to the owners and the chef at Shangri-La, who I am sure will be thrilled.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Had an enjoyable weekend. Food was excellent but service during the meals was slow. Worse on Sat evening, Fri evening was good.
Sheets in room had holes in, did not find that pleasant. Only 1 x roll toilet paper and the coffee and sugar was not topped - up in the room.

Enjoyed the weekend and will be back but my feeling is that you have to improve on the small things.

Thanks

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gideon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for reviewing our property on Trip Advisor. Your views are important to us as this helps us prioritize our efforts to offer guests the experience they expect. We have put an immense amount of effort into our facilities, standards and service you receive, but ultimately, it all comes down to your experience. The points raised will be investigated and addressed. Please accept our apologies for the unpleasant experience at our establishment. We appreciate all compliments, suggestions and feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

On 25 October we had the Pigeon Racing Club's year end function at Shangri-La. I was quite impressed with everything, Shangri-La is so peaceful. The food was devine (Loved the Creamy Mushroom Soup) and the staff were very friendly and helpful....

Would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fransina_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for reviewing your event at our establishment on Trip Advisor. With our tranquil setting, close proximity to Modimolle / Bela Bela / N1 highway and our various themes and venues to choose from, Shangri-La Country Hotel is the idea destination for all types of functions and events. We are delighted that your year end function was a huge success. We will pass on your compliments to the chef regarding the creamy mushroom soup. We look forward to welcoming your party back for your next event.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

i have to firstly commend all staff that assisted me with my requirements in having my room decorated on my 1st anniversary. i have never seen staff so courteous and helpful that was always willing to go the extra mile to assist. the venue was perfect and everything was all to perfect. i have already recomended this place to all my friends and family and my message to all staff is you guys simply blew us off our feet

Room Tip: executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riaz e e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear guest, we are delighted that you had a magical time at Shangri-La. Our guests' experience is our top priority and we enjoy receiving feedback about your time spent at our establishment. Thank you for the lovey compliments and for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modimolle (Nylstroom)
10.7 mi away
Abba Game Lodge
Abba Game Lodge
#4 of 25 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thaba Pitsi
Thaba Pitsi
#8 of 51 in Bela Bela
52 reviews
8.2 mi away
Buyskop Lodge
Buyskop Lodge
#5 of 51 in Bela Bela
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Linga-Longa
Linga-Longa
#20 of 51 in Bela Bela
3 reviews
15.3 mi away
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
#3 of 25 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
112 reviews
6.0 mi away
Thaba Monate Game Lodge
Thaba Monate Game Lodge
#30 of 51 in Bela Bela
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa

Address: Eersbewoon Road, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Shangri-La)
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Price Range: $47 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa outside Bela Bela is a tranquil secluded hideaway nestled against the Waterberg Mountains. This peaceful gem just one hour north of Gauteng, offers the elegance of yesteryear, with beautiful antiques, homely pampering in 49 en-suite rooms surrounded by lush tropical gardens. All the comfortable rooms and rondavels at Shangri-La are situated within walking distance of a sparkling swimming pool, relaxing spa as well as other facilities including two restaurants and a cellar (with a Diners Club award winning wine list), a small wedding chapel and fully equipped conference centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing