We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquillity in the Bushveld”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Rooms: great, spacious, beautiful, luxurious feeling. Restaurant: a luxurious five star experience with ambience and cuisine fit for a king, while the waiters, like Majoe, enhance your meal to be a memorable one. Conference rooms: well planned and equipped. The resort has a lush bushveld feeling, peaceful and well laid out. Definitely something you want to consider visiting.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hentie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Shangri-La. Your feedback is a valuable tool not only for us but also for future guests who read our past guests' experiences. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Shangri-La and look forward to welcoming you back to create yet another memorable event at our piece of paradise in the Waterberg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 317 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

My family and I are seasoned travellers with one golden rule: we NEVER visit the same place twice! This way we get to explore all the wonderful places our beautiful country has to offer, and we are guaranteed of a new adventure and experience every time. So, imagine how BLOWN AWAY we were with Shangri-La Country Hotel, when, for the very 1st time, we broke our golden rule and visited the same place twice; in one month!! If you are looking to replenish a weary soul, then Shangri-La is the place to go. The beauty and tranquillity of this little peace of heaven on earth, outweighs any minor imperfections you might encounter during your stay. Well done Shangri-La!!! See you soon!!!
Sandra Theron

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Sandra

Thank you kindly for submitting your review on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled to hear of your experience(s) at Shangri-La Country Hotel. It is a delight to read your feedback, which I have passed on to the owners and General Manager of Shangri-La.

Shangri-La recently won its first Trip Advisor Award of Excellence following guest reviews of our property on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your review and we are positive that we will achieve this outstanding award again next year.

We look forward to welcoming you back a third time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent a wonderful day at the Shangri-La during our recent holiday in South Africa. We were greeted by a wonderful sight of lushious gardens and colourful flowers. The staff were friendly and the rooms clean with a welcome message in flower petals on the bed. The breakfast was good value for money with a wide selection of cereals and a hot and cold buffet. The tranquility of the gardens was heaven for this over stressed manager! It was an experience to remember.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GretlvdM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your delightful review of your stay at Shangri-La. We hope to see you back in Paradise for another escape where the only thing you would have to manage would be which of our facilities to use next - be it a laze by the poolside, stargazing, hiking, tennis, indulging in our decadent meals, wine tasting and more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The beautiful lobby and friendly reception contradicts the amenities and subsequent service!
Decide for yourself...
Dirty tissue in basin on arrival
No toilet paper!!
Workers sweeping galvanized roof of cottage early in the morning (Yes you read right!... Noisy!)
Breakfast, no cutlery at table, no bread for toast, did not replenish food bowls till pointed out
Tap water brackish, no 'fresh' water in rooms for coffee.
Small double bed which is 'lumpy'
No visible star rating on literature, now I know why!!
Have stayed in better places at cheaper rates.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Pierre v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your review. Your feedback is important to us to help improve our service and we appreciate your comments. Following your review, we have addressed the matters raised with housekeeping and maintenance. Sadly during your stay, the weather did not permit guests to dine outside. The hotel was fully booked and this resulted in the dining area being constantly full during the breakfast service and our staff cleaning tables and replenishing the buffet area as guests departed. Our apologies for the delay in service you experienced during this busy time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Thank you for pleasant stay at the hotel. Your gardens are very nice, lush and green and the bird- and wildlife are really something to experience. Staff service good and room was comfortable and clean. Dirt road to the Hotel needs attention though!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetroDoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Shangri-La. We appreciate and value your feedback. We are constantly scraping the dirt road to ensure a smooth drive for all our guests, but unfortunately weather conditions do sometimes affect the road and we do our utmost to keep the road maintained. We are in the process of creating a shorter route to the hotel to offer guests a better driving experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Thanks for making my mum's birthday a memorable one. A special thanks to the waiters Lawrence & Alfred who really paid attention to every detail and the Chef for making the most delicious birthday cake. Staff are very friendly & accomodating. We really enjoyed our stay & we will definitely come back soon.

ELISHA MANDARI-CHETTY

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

We are thrilled that you had a great experience at Shangri-La and that your celebrated occasion was a memorable one. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Regarding our trip to Shangri-La on the weekend, I just wanted to tell you that we had a relaxing and really wonderful experience.
Since I was there last, a few years ago, there have been some great upgrades to the hotel, with lovely rooms and spaces to enjoy different meals, hi-tea etc.
The dining room with its fireplace and plush furnishings was a particular pleasure.

Our room was cosy and the large four poster particularly romantic.

All round it really was great and in particular we were served with such attentiveness and genuine willingness to please that we were quite taken aback at the sincerity of it.
The Manager Kevin too, was very attentive and even the grounds man took the time to come to advise us of what walks we could take and chat to us about the place.

An all round wonderful experience. The owners can be truly proud of his venue and particularly their staff. I look forward to a return visit in summer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you Bernie for your review on Shangri-La. We are very proud of the new Shangri-La and are delighted that you enjoyed your time at our establishment. The General Manager, Ken, is a fantastic asset to our piece of paradise, and he alongside our "family" of staff members take great pride in offering the best service to all guests. We hope to welcome you back to Shangri-La again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modimolle (Nylstroom)
21.4 mi away
Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro
Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro
#2 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
59 reviews
10.7 mi away
Abba Game Lodge
Abba Game Lodge
#2 of 25 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
95 reviews
8.2 mi away
Buyskop Lodge
Buyskop Lodge
#5 of 52 in Bela Bela
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Thaba Monate Game Lodge
Thaba Monate Game Lodge
#31 of 52 in Bela Bela
22 reviews
4.1 mi away
Linga-Longa
Linga-Longa
#22 of 52 in Bela Bela
3 reviews
9.4 mi away
Summerset Place Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa

Address: Eersbewoon Road, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Shangri-La)
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Price Range: $51 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa outside Bela Bela is a tranquil secluded hideaway nestled against the Waterberg Mountains. This peaceful gem just one hour north of Gauteng, offers the elegance of yesteryear, with beautiful antiques, homely pampering in 49 en-suite rooms surrounded by lush tropical gardens. All the comfortable rooms and rondavels at Shangri-La are situated within walking distance of a sparkling swimming pool, relaxing spa as well as other facilities including two restaurants and a cellar (with a Diners Club award winning wine list), a small wedding chapel and fully equipped conference centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing