We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME EXPERIENCE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Thanks for making my mum's birthday a memorable one. A special thanks to the waiters Lawrence & Alfred who really paid attention to every detail and the Chef for making the most delicious birthday cake. Staff are very friendly & accomodating. We really enjoyed our stay & we will definitely come back soon.

ELISHA MANDARI-CHETTY

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

We are thrilled that you had a great experience at Shangri-La and that your celebrated occasion was a memorable one. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 317 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

Regarding our trip to Shangri-La on the weekend, I just wanted to tell you that we had a relaxing and really wonderful experience.
Since I was there last, a few years ago, there have been some great upgrades to the hotel, with lovely rooms and spaces to enjoy different meals, hi-tea etc.
The dining room with its fireplace and plush furnishings was a particular pleasure.

Our room was cosy and the large four poster particularly romantic.

All round it really was great and in particular we were served with such attentiveness and genuine willingness to please that we were quite taken aback at the sincerity of it.
The Manager Kevin too, was very attentive and even the grounds man took the time to come to advise us of what walks we could take and chat to us about the place.

An all round wonderful experience. The owners can be truly proud of his venue and particularly their staff. I look forward to a return visit in summer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you Bernie for your review on Shangri-La. We are very proud of the new Shangri-La and are delighted that you enjoyed your time at our establishment. The General Manager, Ken, is a fantastic asset to our piece of paradise, and he alongside our "family" of staff members take great pride in offering the best service to all guests. We hope to welcome you back to Shangri-La again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The hotel's remote location was perfect for a romantic getaway. We really enjoyed the peace and quiet and attentive service from staff, who also organized a wonderful dinner, stargazing and a bonfire at our request. Many thanks to Alfred and the rest of the Shangri-La team for an amazing weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brenden P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you Brenden for your review. Shangri-La is the ideal destination for romance, and we are delighted to have been of service to you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another romantic getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The stay was very nice. Staff was helpful. Food was excellent! Rooms are old fashioned and not modern at all. Would be nicer if there was a light at the jacuzzi area as well. And more couches in the bar area to enjoy the rugby. Overall stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Broeslee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Your suggestions regarding better lighting at the Jacuzzi of the Presidential Suite is noted. Barry's Bar will be equipped with a dimmer switch to control the level of light in the Bar to offer guests a better experience, be in romantic or exciting. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Yes. We did it again. Another weekend at Shangri-La Country Hotel by us, The Albers'e. Again it was a lovely stay and we enjoyed every minute of it. It was a tiny bite cold for swimming and star gazing. LOL

Room Tip: Any room will do, just go and stay their.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

We are delighted to read another review from the Albers family! Thank you for your superb review and for posting these photographs of your time spent at Shangri-La. We are thrilled to read of your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the summer when the pool is ideal for swimming and it is not too cold to stargaze at night!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

The view and setting is awesome but was disappointed with the room... When driving on the long dirt road and then arriving at the beautiful surrounding and into the lobby, you think that this is a good deal... But... The room was not great at all... Bed was comfortable but although this was a non smoking room, it didn't smell like it. The tv made a noise when watching. There was a note in the folder in the room that you could dial reception from the room and order room service but there was no telephone in the room? The breakfast was terrible with the bacon burnt to a crisp, the restaurant smelling like burnt oil, and the juice had a fly in it... I was also disappointed that dinner only started at 7, when I was told when I booked in that it started at 6... I enjoy eating dinner early and I did not have that option.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theunis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor. We will be investigating the points raised. Please could you contact us on experience@southofafrica.co.za for further informaton regarding the room you stayed in as well as the exact date of your stay. We look forward to hearing from you. Our apologies for the unpleasant experience you have had at our establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The initial experience left me a bit unhappy, when my booking made directly at the hotel reception could not be picked up by central reservations. Dina van Wyk quickly sorted this out. Reception staff can improve in their professionalism. When booking out and settling my account, my deposit was not noted at first. This was the only area where I experienced some minor inefficiencies.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Ben, thank you for reviewing Shangri-La. We appreciate the fact that you took time to submit your feedback on Trip Advisor. Our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with your booking but are delighted that Dina assisted you with this. We are attending to the matters raised and thank you for pointing this out. Thank you for staying with Shangri-La and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modimolle (Nylstroom)
21.3 mi away
Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro
Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro
#2 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
59 reviews
10.7 mi away
Abba Game Lodge
Abba Game Lodge
#3 of 25 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
96 reviews
8.2 mi away
Buyskop Lodge
Buyskop Lodge
#5 of 52 in Bela Bela
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Thaba Monate Game Lodge
Thaba Monate Game Lodge
#31 of 52 in Bela Bela
22 reviews
4.1 mi away
Linga-Longa
Linga-Longa
#22 of 52 in Bela Bela
3 reviews
9.4 mi away
Summerset Place Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa

Address: Eersbewoon Road, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Shangri-La)
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Price Range: $55 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa outside Bela Bela is a tranquil secluded hideaway nestled against the Waterberg Mountains. This peaceful gem just one hour north of Gauteng, offers the elegance of yesteryear, with beautiful antiques, homely pampering in 49 en-suite rooms surrounded by lush tropical gardens. All the comfortable rooms and rondavels at Shangri-La are situated within walking distance of a sparkling swimming pool, relaxing spa as well as other facilities including two restaurants and a cellar (with a Diners Club award winning wine list), a small wedding chapel and fully equipped conference centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing