We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a very good experience... Expected more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Almancil, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a very good experience... Expected more”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

The view and setting is awesome but was disappointed with the room... When driving on the long dirt road and then arriving at the beautiful surrounding and into the lobby, you think that this is a good deal... But... The room was not great at all... Bed was comfortable but although this was a non smoking room, it didn't smell like it. The tv made a noise when watching. There was a note in the folder in the room that you could dial reception from the room and order room service but there was no telephone in the room? The breakfast was terrible with the bacon burnt to a crisp, the restaurant smelling like burnt oil, and the juice had a fly in it... I was also disappointed that dinner only started at 7, when I was told when I booked in that it started at 6... I enjoy eating dinner early and I did not have that option.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theunis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor. We will be investigating the points raised. Please could you contact us on experience@southofafrica.co.za for further informaton regarding the room you stayed in as well as the exact date of your stay. We look forward to hearing from you. Our apologies for the unpleasant experience you have had at our establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    71
    33
    11
    12
See reviews for
80
107
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberton, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The initial experience left me a bit unhappy, when my booking made directly at the hotel reception could not be picked up by central reservations. Dina van Wyk quickly sorted this out. Reception staff can improve in their professionalism. When booking out and settling my account, my deposit was not noted at first. This was the only area where I experienced some minor inefficiencies.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Ben, thank you for reviewing Shangri-La. We appreciate the fact that you took time to submit your feedback on Trip Advisor. Our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with your booking but are delighted that Dina assisted you with this. We are attending to the matters raised and thank you for pointing this out. Thank you for staying with Shangri-La and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germiston
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Not only are the staff well trained, but they give service with a smile! The receptionist welcomed us with a smile, the waiters in the bar and both dining rooms where very efficient and very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elize D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and compliments. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your experience at Shangri-La and look forward to welcoming you back soon for more smiles :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The staff were amazing, the food was fabulous, and the hotel room was extremely comfortable! I only wish it was summer time so I could have tried out the outdoor Jacuzzi bath tub! Thank you to the staff and amazing chef! Shangri-La is definitely a place worth the visit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolene Rojas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to read of your experience and are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Shangri-La. The outdoor jacuzzi of the Presidential Suite is a heated jacuzzi, but we understand that it might be too cold outside during Winter time to make use of this exclusive feature. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2013

the Rooms were not prepared properly, equipment wan=snt working and we had to change rooms. the Carpet needs proper cleaning, there were stains in some of the rooms. we found spiders in the curtains and Bathroom. bath tubs had a dark green and Brown discolouring, which is from not cleaning the tubs properly. No Security upon entering the premises.

the staff were not bad at all, assisted us with everything we needed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nthabeleng D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. We have received your original review via Safari Now. As per our letter sent to you by e-mail, we thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. Our team has dealt with the complaints listed in your review. Once again, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused by this. We are however delighted that you were moved to a satisfactory room during your stay. Please get in touch with us by e-mail should you require any further assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A month ago I came all the way from Australia to attend the wedding of Mariska and Nathan and all I can say is that EVERYTHING was amazing!!!!!! Everything From the special decor, surrounding, food, room, service and everything else was done and presented with so much care and excellent service. A visit to shangri-la is definitely on my to do list for my next visit to South Africa! Thank you for making such an effort in making this very special weekend even more special!!!!

Room Tip: All is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daleen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Shangri-La. We are always thrilled to have visitors from overseas stay at our property, and we are glad to hear that your next visit to SA includes another escape to our piece of paradise. Your lovely review will be shared with the team, who, I am sure, will be delighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Management and staff at Shangri-La exceeded our expectations from the moment we planned our booking to the minute we said our goodbyes.

Staff at Shangri-La make one feel like old friends and family from the word go. The staff were on the ball and the fact that they had a sense of humour made for an interesting time.

The breakfast was scrumptious.

I don't know how to thank all the staff at Shangri-La for making my weekend an experience to remember.

Try Shangri-La, you won't be sorry!

Room Tip: The executive room is great for the taller person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 751KarinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for writing about your experience at our little haven in the Waterberg. We have put a lot of effort into our facilities, service and venue, but in the end it all comes down to your experience - and to read such lovely compliments is a true feather in our hat. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modimolle (Nylstroom)
10.7 mi away
Abba Game Lodge
Abba Game Lodge
#4 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
#3 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
185 reviews
8.2 mi away
Buyskop Lodge
Buyskop Lodge
#5 of 51 in Bela Bela
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas
15.3 mi away
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
#2 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
108 reviews
21.9 mi away
Phumelelo Lodge
Phumelelo Lodge
#3 of 51 in Bela Bela
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa

Property: Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Address: Eersbewoon Road, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Shangri-La)
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa outside Bela Bela is a tranquil secluded hideaway nestled against the Waterberg Mountains. This peaceful gem just one hour north of Gauteng, offers the elegance of yesteryear, with beautiful antiques, homely pampering in 49 en-suite rooms surrounded by lush tropical gardens. All the comfortable rooms and rondavels at Shangri-La are situated within walking distance of a sparkling swimming pool, relaxing spa as well as other facilities including two restaurants and a cellar (with a Diners Club award winning wine list), a small wedding chapel and fully equipped conference centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing