We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Legend Golf and Safari Resort(Entabeni Game Reserve)
$168
$146
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Gorgeous Gecko Guesthouse(Modimolle (Nylstroom))(Great Value!)
$75
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro(Modimolle (Nylstroom))
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveler rating
186
75
36
12
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
75
36
12
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdelicious foodmanager on dutyfriends and familymain buildinga wonderful stayattention to detailalfredweekendchefwaiterstranquilityweddingrondavelsettingteamestablishmentleaves
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 326 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Good Surprises
1.the general condition of the establishment.
2.the surprise easter egg hunt for the kids
3.the beautiful ducks
4.the friendly staff members
5.the delicious breakfast buffet menu
6.the deco - restuarant
7.the friendly monkeys and cows
8.the peaceful and beautiful garden

Bad Surprises
1.incorrect billing/quotation
2.room service - my linine was not changed after my baby pucked on it at night. no dustbin in the room
3.unclear TV screens/channels

Conclusion
Its an average hotel, not suitable for kids but a great place for couples to bond in private in the country side

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kgomotso D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to review our property. We value your feedback. We have called our technicians out to inspect as to why certain channels are snowing, and it is being rectified. We will investigate the matters regarding housekeeping and your bill. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience that this has caused during your stay. We hope to welcome you back again real soon to our little paradise in the Waterberg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have never been treated with such warmth and sincerity anywhere else. The staff were most accommodating to our every need. I phoned last minute for a weekend booking for 10 members of my family and in-laws to be. Reception helped us very efficiently. We requested the boma/lapa for the evening for us to braai. Reception transferred me to the chef who then assist by offering to provide pap, sjeba, salad and a chocolate mouse. They built and lit the fire. We brought our own meat. They also offered to braai our meat in their kitchen, should it rain. Joey, the Manageress, phoned her friend to specially come and decorate our dining table with a rustic chic theme, when she heard that my son and his fiance is getting married in September and their theme would be similar to such a style. The rooms are neat and clean and the service is outstanding.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiniaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review about our property. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on service. Your compliments will be passed on to the team, who I am sure will be delighted. We hope to welcome you back soon, and that you would consider Shangri-La as your son's wedding venue in September.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Expecting nothing more than your average hotel, as we drove down the gravel road from the main road (D599), i was getting a bit irritated with the bumpy road (was a bit dark when we arrived), but mood quickly changed as we drove in to this almost unbelievable scenery of beautiful green curtain of trees. The staff is pleasant and very accommodating (thank you Nicholas, Andrew, Dudu, Johanna, Magogo...), will definitely be back. It is really a wonderful place and hope it stays that way...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tlou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for your lovely compliments about your stay and for pointing out the staff that made your stay that extra bit more special. We are constantly scraping the gravel road to ensure a smooth drive through to Shangri-La. We are also in the process of creating a shorter path to Shangri-La, but this process is till underway and once this has been completed, we are positive that the shorter drive will be yet another draw card for coming for regularly. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We visited for our second time and on arrival we decided to extend our stay with another day. Last time it was reasonable cold, but this time being summer, we could swim and play with the fishes, enjoy card games under the trees; we even did some star gazing. Our rooms were to the highest standard. The food was outstanding especially the buffet breakfast and the desserts after dinner. The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly throughout our stay. We are definitely planning to visit again in March 2013.

Thanks again

Family Albers

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear family Albers, thank you for your post on Trip Advisor. We were thrilled to welcome you back and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a tremendous honour when our guests post such lovely compliments. Summertime is the perfect time to spend outdoors at Shangri-La. With our recent upgrade, we have added fireplaces in the main building and these are the ideal "snuggle-up-to" venues when visiting during the colder months. We look forward to seeing you again in March. Your photos are fabulous. Thank you for posting these too! Your message will be passed on to the friendly staff of Shangri-La.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I usually prefer city settings to their rural counterparts but, after one night at Shangri La I felt the burden of urban stress lift off my weight leaden shoulders! The place is most appealing with all the beautiful plants & it strikes one as an eco-friendly haven. The personnel were extremly pleasant,helpful & cheerful & went beyond the call of duty to be of assistance. I would definitely reccomend it to anyone who needs to find themselves again or feel at one with nature!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyniq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you have discovered the magic of Shangri-La, the place of eternal youth. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to indulge even more in the journey of losing (and finding) yourself all over again amidst our setting of a Utopian paradise in the heart of the Waterberg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews