We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro(Modimolle (Nylstroom))
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Legend Golf and Safari Resort(Entabeni Game Reserve)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveler rating
186
75
36
12
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
75
36
12
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdelicious foodmanager on dutyfriends and familymain buildinga wonderful stayattention to detailalfredweekendchefwaiterstranquilityweddingrondavelsettingteamestablishmentleaves
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 326 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My partner and I received a groupon voucher from a friend as a gift. We weren't aware of what to expect when we arrived. To our pleasant surprise it was great. We we're treated with care and respect and even though it takes time for good food to prepare it was worth it in the end. Thanks to all the staff specially Daisy. Regards Candice and Marco

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candicetitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you Candice for your wonderful feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Shangri-La and we are happy to hear that you were surprised with a Groupon gift from your friends. We have had a very successful run with Groupon and thank all our Groupon clients for supporting Shangri-La. We look forward to welcoming you and your partner back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The service was superb and the room was neat and tidy, I would recommend Shangri-La to anyone.

The internet service is one of its kind, the offer the service for free, so you don not have to pay to access their wireless internet and check your emails.

The only let down is the television channels provided I feel that more channels should be provided especially the movie channels and Documentary/Geographic television channels.

The food is one of the best and you just cant get enough of the tasty buffet they serve in the evenings and at times you can just order your favorite dish. The breakfast is also a buffet is also tasty.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled with your feedback. We are currently investigating the option of adding more channels to our DSTV bouquet. Thank you for bringing your needs to our attention. We value your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Beautiful enchanting gardens, spacious, clean rooms. The staff felt like old friends even though it was my first visit there.
Dinner was good. Only letdown was breakfast - yoghurt was sour and inedible and no meat left at the buffet, however they were busy with a large conference group. Some drinks were added to our final bill which we did not have but was soon sorted out with apologies. I would definately still go back if I had the opportunity.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outofafricaBotswana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your comments and once again apologize for the inconvenience during breakfast as well as at the time of settling your bill. We are however glad that this has been sorted out and look forward to seeing you soon! Your "friends" are waiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I booked Shangri-La Country Hotel as a wedding reception venue and as accommodation for the honeymoon couple. As we arrived at the beautiful avenue of Jacaranda trees leading us towards the hotel, we were enchanted - but as we walked through the beautifully landscaped gardens our breath was taken away. Ken handled our preliminary inquiry in a very professional manner, made excellent suggestions and put together a package that we could not refuse. On the day of the wedding everything was just as promised and more beautifully set up than we had even imagined. The food was delicious, beautifully presented and the attention to detail by all was perfection. The pride with which the staff embrace their duties was clearly evident. My guests spent the entire afternoon praising every aspect of the event as well as the beauty and tranquility of the venue. The honeymoon couple were delighted with their accommodation, the restaurant facilities and the personalized attention they received from every staff member - not fair to single out individuals as everyone had their place in perfecting perfection! Thank you one and all.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor. We pride ourselves on being a superb wedding venue, and we are delighted that you (and the bride and groom and their guests) had a sublime time at Shangri-La. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, as well as the newly wed couple on their first anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We recently celebrated my Dad's 70th Birthday at Shangri-La Country Hotel. From the start, we were treated with nothing less than utmost respect and professionalism. Ken and the staff were extremely helpful and really went the extra mile to assist us in any way possible. The food was immaculate and the waiters were well trained and eager to please. Thank you for a wonderful time and contributing to memories that will last a lifetime....Charmaine

Room Tip: Room 36 - sunny, pretty and private
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charmaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you Charmaine for your wonderful comments. We will pass your compliments on to Ken and the team. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews