We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull long weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderfull long weekend”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Again just what I needed. Rest in tranquel enviroment with lovely birding. Rooms lovely clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and helpfull with an excellent lunch and dinner menue. Pork Belly is a must! Club sandwich for the hungry was excellent! The breakfast is everything you could wish for but just too much to eat. The gardens beautifully planned and attended to. Will go soon again as it is close to Johannesburg and affordable.

Room Tip: Shoud you require a bath or shower or both, just requist with booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magdalena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear Magdalena, thank you for your very kind feedback. We appreciate your positive feedback. We will pass the message on to our team. I am sure they will be delighted to hear about your great experience at Shangri-La. We look forward to welcome you back. (We'll have the Pork Belly, club sandwich and scrumptious breakfast ready!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    71
    33
    11
    12
See reviews for
80
107
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We as a family visited your excellent, amazing, wonderful and fantastic country hotel. With the referral from Joey from housekeeping. Upon arrival we were treated like royalty. We were escorted to our room and much to our surprise we found a welcome letter written with rose pebbles on the bed. We were invited, after having several cream brulees and coffee during afternoon tea, by your well trained waiters, to stargaze at the bomba. What an amazing experience this was, the scene was set with deck chairs and blankets. The breakfast the next morning was 5 star and we enjoyed the lazy atmosphere until we had to leave unfortunately. Because of this experience we have decided to rebook another weekend in the holidays.

Send our regards and gratitude to all the staff involved.

Family Albers, Centurion, RSA

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear family Albers, thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are delighted to hear of your experience. We will be relaying the message to our entire team. Thank you once again. We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Splendid will surely be making a return visit to this marvellous piece of splendor and hospitality

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmachakga Mpho M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you kindly for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. We value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Beautiful gardens and setting at foot of Waterberg. Excellent service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanvan Heer... v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback. We pride ourselves on our beautiful setting and aim to give all guests an unforgettable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krugersdorp, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed the week of the 10 March to 11 March and we were from our first step inside this great place and that is what it is a great place the service the food from been taken to your room to the welcome sign on your bed in leaves welcome to the welcome letter on our table it is this that makes this Hotel stand out and i will stay here again and again infact you donot want to leave

Room Tip: You must stay in any room as our roomwas great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coenie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback. We look forward to welcoming you to Shangri-La again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I checked TripAdvisor before deciding to stay at Shangri-La. You might have noticed the mixed reviews - I did. I want to post something definitive!

The restaurant is lovely, and the staff are well-meaning despite being a bit lax. But the room was *terrible*. Dirty towels, broken furniture, generally grubby... Not even close to worth their R940 per night for a double room. Only afterwards when I checked their official website (http://www.shangri-la.co.za/) did I notice they have no star accreditation.

To settle any doubts, I give you pictures from my stay: http://sapickle.wordpress.com/2012/03/09/shangri-la/

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kappa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are investigating the comments made and would like to assure you that this is not the standards we uphold at Shangri-La. Please would you contact us at your earliest convenience - we would like handle your complaint in person to ensure that you are assisted. Our sincerest apologies for the experience you have had at Shangri-La. Please contact us at info@southofafrica.co.za.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasane, Northern Botswana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2012

James Hilton, in his novel "Lost Horizon, described a mythical utopia; a permanently happy land, isolated from the outside world and called it "Shangri-La". That's what you will find just one-and-a-half hours outside of bustling Johannesburg.

My family and I have been visiting Shangri-La since the mid-1990's. It really is an ideal place to relax and unwind for a night while passing through, or for a few days away from the madness of modern life.

You'll be wined and dined in true country hotel fashion - personal attention abounds in an environment which is warm, friendly and a real home away from home.

Room Tip: Every room we've stayed in is well appointed, however the rondavels around the older part of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RusticToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modimolle (Nylstroom)
10.7 mi away
Abba Game Lodge
Abba Game Lodge
#4 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
#3 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
185 reviews
8.2 mi away
Buyskop Lodge
Buyskop Lodge
#5 of 51 in Bela Bela
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas
15.3 mi away
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
#2 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
108 reviews
21.9 mi away
Phumelelo Lodge
Phumelelo Lodge
#3 of 51 in Bela Bela
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa

Property: Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Address: Eersbewoon Road, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Shangri-La)
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa outside Bela Bela is a tranquil secluded hideaway nestled against the Waterberg Mountains. This peaceful gem just one hour north of Gauteng, offers the elegance of yesteryear, with beautiful antiques, homely pampering in 49 en-suite rooms surrounded by lush tropical gardens. All the comfortable rooms and rondavels at Shangri-La are situated within walking distance of a sparkling swimming pool, relaxing spa as well as other facilities including two restaurants and a cellar (with a Diners Club award winning wine list), a small wedding chapel and fully equipped conference centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing