We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the madding crowd”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

What a relief to arrive in this bit of paradise...in fact a slice of heaven in the country after the hectic rat race of the city!

From the welcome by Helena and her staff to all the extra touches that make this such a special place.

It's more than a home-from-home...it's more special than that! You HAVE TO GO!

Food excellent, secondary magnificent, staff amazing...what a place!

Room Tip: All the rooms are special in their own way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 133 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have lost count, but in 15 years we must have visited Leeuwenhof at least 12 times. For me and my entire family it is paradise on earth. We try to stay in one of their two luxurious tents for ultimate privacy. The hospitality by Helena and her able staff is great and so is the dinner in the diningroom with topclass furniture. The breakfasts are the best we have ever experienced.
For our next trip to South Africa we are looking for new safari experiences, but our stay in Leeuwenhof is already decided upon.
We always stay three or four nights, and the guests we met at Leeuwenhof that stay shorter are always sorry to leave. As we stated before: " We will come back ! ".

Room Tip: We love the tents, but the rooms in the main house are very stylish and elegant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karel39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I call these sweats because it is like a nice chocolate box with all the flavor combinations you eat you eat at Christmas. You can pick and choose from the best 4-course dinner we have ever experienced, to delightful lunches and breakfast and exceptional spa treatment. And if you love nature and calmness and you need a good rest and appreciate good service you will be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Every room has a unique individual character - awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Our 4th visit to Leeuwenhof was as great as the previous ones. This has become our favorite spot for wedding anniversaries. We loved our stay in the suites. The jacuzzi overlooking the mountains and game roaming the fields in front of you is simply amazing. The food is of a very high standard. The staff is very friendly and helpful. This has been a very relaxing experience.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Hermien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We went on a special offer to this Country Lodge and Garden Spa, and the place is great. The food is excellent 5 course dinner,and great breakfasts served in a perfect ambience, and great staff. The rooms each in a different style. We were welcome with flowers, fruit, and a biscuit treat in our room, there were bath robes, all the necessary bottles of shampoo etc. a Mini bar overflowing with drinks, various glasses for various liquers. Tea/Coffee making too. The facilities of the spa beyond exception, with a great pool, sauna, hot pools etc. The lodge is set in a nestle of mountains in the Waterberg, the only downside was the road to the lodge, a bumpy ride, but nothing too serious to the car if one goes at a slower speed. The bar and lounge area overlooks the gardens. This was a well worth trip and they spared no expense considering it was a "deal" package.

Room Tip: Ask before arriving your needs i.e. are there stairs, lifts. We have been caught out with a room at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed 2 nights after a long safari. Its certainly a tranquil spot (we were the only guests mid-week). I think its primarily a spa destination : several folk seemed to come just for the day, but we didnt sample any of the "treatments" so cannot comment on that side. The main lounge is very formal rergency style set-up. As for the rooms, they do have private villas, and a big "safari style" tent , but we were in one of the ordinary rooms in the main building. Not huge , but fine. Again, rather old fashioned regency style furniture, and old mahogany bed. The room door opens onto the garden, with small iron table/chairs.
Our main concern was the dining. They aim for a full-blown 5 course formal dining experience. We are vegetarians , and they agreed to provide us with special meal. The soup & "entree" were fine , (followed by sorbet!) but the main was a vast bowl of lasagna with a large portion of extra vegetables on a side plate. Way to much. Although I have to say one or two other diners did demolish all their food , many were overwhelmed & embarrassed , and one couple walked out. Even the second night , when we stressed we wanted "less", the meal was equally daunting. Sadly the service did not match the dining style, the local girls were struggling to cope with the guests (everyone is expected to arrive at 8pm), and there were long waits. They also seemed ill at ease on even basics such as wine by the glass.
They are introducing some "wild" animals (antelope) on their land, and you can go out on a brief circuit of the property in the jeep. Mildly diverting , but not a safari!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alann6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We arrived for a weekend that we hoped would be the break from the city we needed, and boy, was it ever! From our arrival at the quaint main building we were swiftly shown to our outside suite which was nice (I'm not a purple person). The private jacuzzi sealed the deal for us, and the food did not disappoint either.

I got proposed to on our first night there and I could see that the private arrangements made between my fiance and staff really let things go on without a hitch and I was totes clueless. Love you for that!! And in the morning ALL the girls oohed and ahhed over my ring which was so sweet and made the whole experience just magic.

The spa treatments were great, especially that we had them in the enchanting outside private tent-thingys. We killed the pool, the indoor pool, the steam room, the sauna and the tennis courts - we were there to party, and it was all lovely. Oh and we went on a game drive (but as we are from here it was like - oh wow, another Eland (but guys, in real life they are MASSIVE so, ok maybe it was cooler than I am letting on, I was just trying to sound fancy))

Only downside was that lunch was super expensive for what we got, but it wasn't daylight robbery or anything, just a little bit of a "hmm" situation.

I would totally go back, and if you are reading this - just go. Its great, really.

Room Tip: Private chalets are the BOMB
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modimolle (Nylstroom)
22.4 mi away
Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro
Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro
#2 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
59 reviews
15.3 mi away
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
321 reviews
6.8 mi away
Abba Game Lodge
Abba Game Lodge
#3 of 27 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
Silver Streams
Silver Streams
#1 of 12 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
76 reviews
31.3 mi away
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
#2 of 27 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
206 reviews
19.5 mi away
Summerset Place Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa

Address: Loubad Road | Waterberg Limpopo, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Price Range: $75 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Garden Spa is a small romantic Country Lodge in the Waterberg mountains near Modimolle in Limpopo. The property is situated on a 746ha farm with a timeless tranquility that emanates from the exuberance of birdsong, mature trees and the presence of red hartebeest and zebra grazing nearby. Each of the bedrooms has air-conditioning, a garden entrance and the comforts of pure cotton linen and a choice of pillows. There are also two giant luxury tents on the river bank and four new luxury suites with sweeping mountain views. A fusion of country and contemporary cuisine is complemented by fine wines. The Garden Spa offers a wide range of treatments and receives compliments from visitors who come from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing