We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful break from the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Situated just over 2 hours from Johannesburg Zwahili Lodge was ideal for a short break from the stresses of city living. It was quiet and peaceful and the bushveld sounds were just what we needed. The staff were efficient and friendly and made sure our stay was something we would remember. The tented suites have stunning views and are well appointed. Well done to Charity and her staff on a job well done. Forget about diets and eating plans - the food was amazing. Although they do not have big game, the game drives (which are included) are worth going on. Basil, our guide, was informative and entertaining. We left the Lodge after 2 nights feeling well rested and a couple of kilos heavier. Thank you.

Room Tip: It is worthwhile spending a little extra and getting one of the suites situated away from the Main L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZwahiliGameLodge, Front Office Manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Wendy

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a lovely review!

I'm very happy to hear that you had a great time at the lodge and that despite us not having the big 5 you still enjoyed the game drives and the knowledge that Basil has to share.

Diets can always be resumed on a Monday although we do strive to cater to your needs accordingly.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm Bushveld Regards
Liane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 195 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

We were a group of 12 people (2/room) and they were definitely not geared for group staying there. We stayed for 3 days and 3 nights and not once was one of us asked to sign for the drinks ordered. Therefore on the morning of departure, sorting out your bill was a nightmare. The drinks bill was extremely high and most people complained that they had liquor on their bills that they hadn't ordered. Our bill we were charged for 15 Zwahili caps and I actually just bought 1. We had to call back and ask for a refund!!! Food was good but would have preferred choices for lunch, as you only had 1 choice and if you didn't want that then you had to just wait for dinner at 19h30. There was no price list for the in-room snacks and bar facility and boy did we get a huge shock when we were given our bill!!! Be carefull of that and make sure you sign for every drink that you order from the bar at the main area's.
No TV or Airconditioner in your bedroom. No Internet of WiFi. ???? Surely not in a 5 star lodge. Dinner and breakfast was very nice. Very friendly and helpful staff. On the Saturday evening we were actually asked to go and sit outside the bar area, we told to order last round of drinks, and the manager actually closed all the stacking doors behind us to close up. This is unacceptable to me. Not sure that I will recommend this to my friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZwahiliGameLodge, Front Office Manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Debbie

As we are a small game lodge, only sleeping a maximum of 20 people, we've never seen a need to print receipts for guests to sign after every drink ordered. This is mainly done in large hotels where staff cannot give personal attention to guests or remember guests and which room they are in.

With regards to the caps on your bill, that was an invoicing error which was fixed before your card was processed for your bar bill. We recently re-evaluated all our drinks prices and found them to be in accordance with the majority of other establishments. We also provide a list of drinks at the bar with prices. The minibar list is also in the cupboard next to the minibar in the room. Clearly stating all prices.

We have taken note on providing options for lunch which will be implemented as soon as possible. In the mean time we publish the menu at the bar in the morning, had you not been satisfied with what was on offer we would have gladly prepared something else for you. In future we'll ensure that staff carry this message across to our guests.

The weather and lightning strikes have been very frequent this year which unfortunately damaged our internet and WiFi more than once. This is a troublesome problem for us as we can only use a satellite to provide the lodge with an internet connection. We always try to resolve this as soon as possible.

The Tourism Grading Council of South Africa does not require TV's or AC's for a 5 star grading for a game lodge.

It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our staff do their utmost to ensure that all guests have an amazing time at the lodge. We have taken your comments to heart and will investigate alternative options with some of the issues you mentioned.

Warm Bushveld Regards
Liane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We don't have words for our experience at Zwahili Lodge! It was the most amazing getaway of our lives. The lodge is stunning, the staff is excellent and went more than the extra mile putting in so much effort making everything perfect. The food was fantastic and we were blessed with perfect weather. Thank you so much to Zwahili Game lodge and all the staff for an incredible experience!

Room Tip: The Royal African room is worth every cent!!! It is breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RikusRossouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZwahiliGameLodge, Front Office Manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Rikus

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us!

I'm very glad to hear that you had a fantastic time at the lodge.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon for some more R&R.

Warm Bushveld Regards
Liane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Me and Wife were bitten by bed bucks ( bed luise ) and therefor not happy,we had to go to the Docters room for treatment on Sunday 16/03/2014
We thought it were spider bite marks but i myself have14 bite marks and wife 10
I have notice the sheets were not changed at all during our stay nor the pillow cases
No vacuum cleaner at all during our stay




  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Willie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZwahiliGameLodge, General Manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Mr/s Brits,

I apologise for the fact that you were bitten but I must disagree with your claim that it is a 'bedbug'. Have you considered that the bites might have been from pepper ticks which are very prevalent in the veldt currently?
With regards to changing the linen on your bed, this is done after the second night, unless you request a daily change of linen. Purely as a consideration to our Eco footprint on the environment. We do state this in the in room guest information folder.
A vacuum cleaner would be necessary in a fully carpeted room, in this case though we try and keep the noise levels to a minimum and sweeping a wooden floor should be sufficient.

Yours Faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We spent 3 days and 2 glorious nights at Zwahili - the staff, service, accomodations were all superb - definitely didn't want to leave.

The lack of the big five means that the game on the drives were less shy and we saw some amazing creatures really close to

Can't wait to return - Thank you everyone at Zwahili

Room Tip: we stayed in the main hotel but I suspect the individual lodges are possibly even nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivien s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EGAST, General Manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you for your kind & honest review, much appreciated.
Hope to see you in the very near future !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Good location fairly close to the highway. Was only there one night but will return for a few nights. Service was superb and good attention to detail. Food was delicious. I had to leave early so they packed me a delicious breakfast for the road - most appreciated! Wonderful views and well appointed rooms.

Room Tip: Perhaps the suites are a better choice - a little more private and better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZwahiliGameLodge, Front Office Manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Liz

1 night is definitely too short so hopefully you will be back for a longer and more relaxing stay!

The little bit extra for the Safari Suites are worth it because of the privacy and views.

Thank you for writing the review and complimenting our food, the chefs do pride themselves on having very satisfied guests.

Warm Bushveld Regards
Liane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My wife's birthday and Valentines are consecutive days so what an opportunity to sample Zwahili's offerings for those 2 nights. We were made very welcome, staff were excellent, the dinners were sublime. Even without the big five the game drives were pleasant and other game were plentiful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZwahiliGameLodge, Front Office Manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Rob

Thank you so much for the review!

I'm glad that you had a good time at the lodge and that our chefs and staff impressed!

We hope to welcome you and your wife back soon!

Warm Bushveld Regards
Liane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modimolle (Nylstroom)
0.0 mi away
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
#2 of 25 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monate Game Lodge
Monate Game Lodge
#1 of 25 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abba Game Lodge
Abba Game Lodge
#3 of 25 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa

Address: 597 Mooifontein, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Price Range: $250 - $576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embrace a true African experience; 3 luxurious main lodge rooms, 4 elegant Safari suites, 2 Executive suites and a Presidential suite await you. Immerse yourself in the tranquil sounds of nature with breathtaking views of the African Bush. Game viewing & guided walking safaris are conducted by experienced guides. Revive your body, mind and soul at the African Spa. Enjoy Masterful cuisine, personal exclusive experience. Superb attention to detail. 200 Kms North of Johannesburg in a malaria free area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing