We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value, Excellent Location, Excellent Lodging, Excellent Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I spent Friday, 12 July through Monday, 15 July 2013 to celebrate our wedding anniversary at Zwahili Private Game Lodge. The venue provides excellent value, location, lodging and service by its staff. For a grand outdoor experience within two (2) hours from Pretoria East, this game lodge is well worth the price. We have experienced numerous lodges and Zwahili ranks high. From The Gast Family helping with the bookings to Kevin and Melanie greeting us to Charity, Cornelia, Precious, Basil, Letta, Frans, Jabu, and Piet, every person involved in the time at the lodge makes the place more special. The tented room is luxurious, comfortable and exciting, as we blended into nature. The meals were remarkably flavorful. The drives were pleasant and relaxing. Overall its ambiance and scenery are memory makers. We encourage you to experience Zwahili.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Landon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZwahiliGameLodge, Front Office Manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Hi Landon

Thank you sooo much for writing such a lovely review and taking the time to mention each and every staff member who made your stay so special. I sent your review to the staff and they were all very happy and quite chuffed with themselves to be remembered by name by one of our guests.

It means the world to them to get recognition for all the hard work and effort they put into making a guests stay as memorable as possible.

It personally means a lot to me that Zwahili ranks so high on your list and that you will definitely be back.

We look forward to it! Happy anniversary!!

Warmest Bushveld Regards
Liane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 202 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

We booked a romantic weekend away, but got our dates wrong and pitched up unexpected. The staff at Zwahili Lodge not only made a plan to accommodate us, they put us up in their best suite (the Presidential Suite). Melani, Kevin & Basil then went out of their way to accommodate our unique interests and make our stay special. The food was superb, and the place itself is beautiful. We will definitely come back - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Menahem F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZwahiliGameLodge, Front Office Manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Hi Menahem

It goes to show that something unexpected can actually turn out to be a wonderful turn of events.

I'm glad that you had a great time and that you enjoyed the presidential suite.

We hope that you will visit us again soon!

Warm Bushveld Regards
Liane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Kevin and Melanie make such great hosts! There is nothing like being able to hike and/or run in the African bush, especially on such a beautiful property with its cultural riches and abundance of wildlife.


  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZwahiliGameLodge, Front Office Manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Hi Chris

Thank you for taking the time to share your Zwahili experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm Bushveld Regards
Liane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Charity (the Duty Manager) and her team gave us an unbelievable anniversary stay, which more than compensated for the false advertising of a fireplace in the Royal African (my main reason for choosing that suite).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZwahiliGameLodge, Director of Sales at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Rene,

We are pleased that you chose Zwahili to celebrate such a memorable event. Management would like to apologise for the fact that you were placed under the impression that there was fireplace in your suite.

We hope to see you again at Zwahili for your next celebratory event.

Warm Bushveld Regards

Betsy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

A brief but very enjoyable visit. The only issue I had was that the was no hot water in my room, but having a cold shower is nothing new, and did NOT color my experience negatively. If I had been staying for something beyond the one night I might have mentioned this at the time, but for one night, it was inconsequential. The staff were all exceptional, the room was very comfortable and nicely decorated, and the food and presentation top notch. I would recommend the lodge to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZwahiliGameLodge, Front Office Manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Hi James

I'm glad that a little cold water didn't tarnish your experience. No hot water is a bit strange though, as we run gas geysers. A quick mention to one of the staff members to relight the pilot flame would have rectified the situation. However If a cold reinvigorating shower is the only down point for your stay...

We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon! Please remember to mention that you have stayed with us before when booking again. I'm sure the staff would love to host you again!

Warm Bushveld Regards
Liane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The lodge is great, the staff is friendly and we were welcomed warmly. We really had a great weekend. The food was excellent. However getting there might be a challenge in summer when its raining as the roads are a soft sand and for queit a distance you might find yourself I a puddle of mud.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nonhlanhla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZwahiliGameLodge, Front Office Manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Hi Nonhlanhla

I'm so happy to hear that you had a great time at Zwahili!

We generally don't have trouble with the sand in the rainy months but our staff are always on standby to give assistance to guests should they require it.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm Bushveld Regards
Liane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The most amazing stay ever. We were so spoiled. All the staff and the Duty Manager made us feel so welcome and treated us beautifully. The view is amazing. We enjoyed the game drives with Basil although it wasn't a big 5 area and the bushveld picnic was out of this world ! The chef is thee best ever. The food was truly a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZwahiliGameLodge, Front Office Manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Hi Vanessa

Thank you for writing a Tripadvisor comment as well.

I'm really happy that you has such a great time. Basil (our guide) is fantastic at what he does, we're lucky to have such a treasure!

Hope to see you again soon!

Warm Bushveld Regards
Liane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modimolle (Nylstroom)
0 mi away
Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro
Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro
#2 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
59 reviews
0 mi away
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
320 reviews
0 mi away
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
#4 of 25 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 41 in Vaalwater
462 reviews
0 mi away
Abba Game Lodge
Abba Game Lodge
#3 of 25 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
114 reviews
0 mi away
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
#1 of 1 in Entabeni Game Reserve
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa

Address: 597 Mooifontein, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Price Range: $288 - $552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embrace a true African experience; 3 luxurious main lodge rooms, 4 elegant Safari suites, 2 Executive suites and a Presidential suite await you. Immerse yourself in the tranquil sounds of nature with breathtaking views of the African Bush. Game viewing & guided walking safaris are conducted by experienced guides. Revive your body, mind and soul at the African Spa. Enjoy Masterful cuisine, personal exclusive experience. Superb attention to detail. 200 Kms North of Johannesburg in a malaria free area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing