We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa(Modimolle (Nylstroom))(Great Value!)
$49
$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sondela Nature Reserve Accommodation(Bela Bela)(Great Value!)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Legend Golf and Safari Resort(Entabeni Game Reserve)
$131
$119
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Gorgeous Gecko Guesthouse(Modimolle (Nylstroom))(Great Value!)
$71
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro(Modimolle (Nylstroom))
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveler rating
151
41
12
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
41
12
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolmadiba suiteduty managergame lodgespecial occasionromantic weekendbush breakprivate suiteantelope speciesremarkable experiencelunch timehis knowledgeattention to detailsmall detailsbeautiful areamoment you arriveget away
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 211 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Thank you to Charity, Denzyl and Basil for making our long weekend at Zwaheli most memorable. We stayed in the Presidential Suite - Royal Africa - the accommodation, service, food and hospitality was simply outstanding and we will most certainly be making our way back sometime soon. We were surprise by a romantic evening with rose petals, bubble bath and candlelight dinner fit for a king. Thanks guys it was awesome - keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Royal Africa - the most amazing room at Zwaheli - Private pool, outdoor showers, DSTV the works!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZwahiliGameLodge, Front Office Manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Hi Ilona

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review as well as sending us the photos of the puff adder you came across. We really appreciate it!

We pride ourselves on the quality of our food as well as our staff at the lodge, each and every member of our team are valuable as they contribute to treating our guests like royalty.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Bushveld Regards
Liane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We tacked on a night stay at Zwahili on our way back from Marakele as it was an anniversary of us being together. Sadly we got there a bit late and missede the evening game drive. However the welcome was outstanding, Charity met us and took us throught the workings of the lodge and housekeeping.
We had a few drinks and watched the sunset at the pool, wow, it is a must do as the sunset from the pool is literally legendary, I mean that literally!
The first surprise was when we got back to our room to freshen up for supps, the staff had taken the trouble to cover the bed with rose petals and other decorations. My partners bath was run and also festooned with petals as well as an incredibly soothing bath oil that absolutely zoned you out!
I must confess to being a typical shower hugging male, but I even felt the bath sooth away the rigours of the drive!
The next surprise was to befall us at supper where we were ushered straight through the dining room and out into a private boma where there was atable set for two and a fire. Incredible, it really made our anniversay special and very romantic.
The supper was great, the staff attentive yet unintrusive, the Tiromisu desert is to kill for.
Again we sadlt missed the morning game drive, which in retrospect we are sad for because the Guide Basil sold it so well, however the rest of the guests raved about the drives.
The breakfast didn't disappoint and in my mind topped the qulaity of the supper.
The staff were all great to the last and the setting and small touches were what set this apart from the rest, will we return - hell yes!

Room Tip: We didn't take the tent as they were fully booked but I would recommend the extra expense as the view alone warrants the cost. We stayed in the 'Elephant' room which was reall great, my only objective criticism of the room is that the shower was pokey, I am a shorty and found it so, big guys will really struggle with it. I challenge you to get out of the bed for the early morning game drive, it is that sloth inducing!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZwahiliGameLodge, Front Office Manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Hi Denver

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review.

We're thrilled that you had a great time at the lodge and that you found it to be "EPIC".

We do try our very best to make sure each and every guest has an amazing time, I will congratulate the lodge staff on a job very well done!

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm Bushveld Regards
Liane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were looking for a quiet weekend, away from everything and everyone. And thats what we got at Zwahili. We stayed in the tents and how good was that! Spacious, beautiful 360 degree views, very private, that allows for using the open bath and shower. The food was excellent, congrats to chef Salmina who turned ordinary, good food into cuisine. The staff was professional but prepared to have a chat if need be.We enjoyed the gamedrives and the cherry at sunset. We were disappointed at the pool area. It is a very small and "hot' area. The dining room and bar also need more "bushveld"athmosphere . But overall, a weekend to remember.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Annatjie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZwahiliGameLodge, Front Office Manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Hi Annatjie

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the room as well as the food! Salamina and Cornelia are great chefs and we're extremely lucky to have them.

The outdoor showers are quite a treat!

We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Bushveld Regards
Liane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spend our first wedding anniversary at Zwahili lodge. It was the perfect romantic weekend getaway. (Mini 2nd honeymoon). The food was divine. Thanks to all the staff for the excellent service and friendliness. They even ran us a bath one night, with rose petals and candles. Would definitely visit again. :-)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Heidi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZwahiliGameLodge, Front Office Manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Hi Heidi

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we really appreciate when guests go the extra mile to give feedback.

Also a very happy anniversary!

Hope you welcome you back again soon!

Warm Bushveld Regards
Liane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had high expectations of Zwahili and our expectations were exceeded. What made the stay so special was the dedication of the employees who were 100% committed to making our trip spectacular. 5*****

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZwahiliGameLodge, Front Office Manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Sharon

Thank you for taking the time to recommend Zwahili. I'm very glad that you had a great time at the lodge.

Hopefully we can welcome you back soon!

Warm Bushveld Regards
Liane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews