We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing Bush Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2011

As we only had one night away to enjoy a special anniversary, we decided on Zwahili as it is an easy 90 minute drive from Northern Gauteng. We had a midweek stay which was given at a much cheaper rate than usual and therefore turned out to be good value for money, as it included all the same benefits of a full rate - fruit drink on arrival, fruit in room, high tea (absolutely delicious!), two game drives (sunset and early morning) a four course dinner (very good) and a wonderful full breakfast (great omelettes).

We experienced unseasonably cool weather due to a much needed rain storm in the area and after a very informative and somewhat soggy game drive with our knowledgeable ranger Andrew, we were delighted to return to our cosy room where a hot bath had been run and was waiting for us.

This is not the place to stay to see big five game as there are none at this Lodge however it is the place to stay for a relaxing bush break -The bird life is incredible and we were lucky enough to be there during breeding season and saw many newly born buck, wildebeest, zebra and warthog.

The service in the restaurant was excellent and the food beautifully presented and of a very good quality. The room we had (Cheetah room) had a great comfortable bed, mini-bar, bathroom with bath and shower, mosquito net around the bed, a fan and a private deck to sit on in good weather - my only complaint would be that the room is a little small and therefore the two chairs in the room are not great big, comfy reading chairs!

We enjoyed our stay as we weren't expecting more than was offered on Zwahili's own web site.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megmara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZwahiliGameLodge, Manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again,

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 191 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2011

This was a very pleasant experience. As far as 5 star game lodges go, this was good value for money. The food was excellent, accomodation very authentic. The only comments i would make for prospective guests is to be aware that the game lodge doesnt have big 5 game, so dont go expecting to see this. You may be lucky to come across a leopard, but this would be fortunate rather than planned for.

Overall, extremely relaxing, beautiful peaceful surroundings and a perfect weekend getaway from Joburg.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jono_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZwahiliGameLodge, Manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2015

Dear Jono,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate it.
Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Our complaint is that on arrival we were expecting 5 star luxury accommodation as per their rating. We were so disappointed that we contacted TGCSA to check this fact . My advise to travelers is that you visit the lodge before they insist on your non refundable ,100% upfront payment and confirm if this is the expensive getaway that you have in mind

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marcus005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZwahiliGameLodge, Manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2015

Hi Marcus,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay at Zwahili and that Zwahili did not live upto your expectations. Our lodge was graded by the Tourism Grading Council of SA and is 5 Star. We do however appreciate that tastes and expectations differ. Please note however that our management take all feedback seriously and will address any issues raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

My wife and I had a great experience at this beautiful and tranquil game lodge, with small to medium sized game (none of the big five). We went to one other game park in our South Africa vacation with large game, and compared to Zwahili, it other one felt very staged, like a large open-air zoo with a bunch of people driving around from exhibit to exhibit. In contrast, Zwahili felt like the animals' true habitat, with two game drives each day to for us to observe and take pictures of the game.

The place is very personal: there were only a handful of guest rooms, tents, etc., and we were the only ones there our first night, one of two couples our second night. The architecture is beautiful, a mixture of rough modern brick with painted wood and thatched roofs – every bit as beautiful as the website. The food was terrific – 4 star restaurant quality.

Next to the incredible landscape and beautiful animals, the best part about the place is the staff, who are extremely courteous, knowledgeable, and helpful. They always went the extra mile to accommodate various needs, from a request to send an email, to pulling our car out when it got stuck on a dirt road! (Note: if you get a GPS, follow the Zwahili directions and NOT the GPS!)

Negatives? Only little ones. The wireless Internet was not reliable, but who goes to a game park for the Internet? There was a step in the bathroom next to the sink which tripped me twice.

I would highly recommend this place to others for a truly unique and tranquil experience.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazelsct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwahili43, Marketing manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2010

We highly appreciate your feedback. Thank you, I have passed on your comments to the lodge staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Zwahili.

Warm bushveld regards

Leighanne Dawkins
Zwahili Game Reserve | Central Reservations Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

We spent a night at Zwahili during Winter. Paid R3000 for the 2 of us for the night and stayed in a luxury tent. The place is supposed to be 5 star. The first tent we were placed in had no water and the toilet didnt flush. 1 of the stairs leading up to the tent was broken. One of the gowns had a stain on it. We complained and were moved to another tent. This one was better but we were still very disappointed.

The staff made a great effort to compensate. They ran a hot bath for us, with rose petals etc. Also lit candle and made up the bed.

2 game drives were included in the rate. We went on the afternoon one but didnt see much. We skipped the morning one as it was at 6am and it was freezing.

A "high tea" was also included in the rate. This consisted of a small plate with a very small selection of goodies.

All in all, i think the rates are way too expensive for what you are getting. We paid a reduced rate and even this was not good value.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hasmita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZwahiliGameLodge, Manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2015

Thank you for your review, we value your feedback and we regret to read that your stay did not meet your expectations. Our management team will certainly look into it and address the issues raised.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the future to treat you to real Zwahili magic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank majamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZwahiliGameLodge, Manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: ho alloggiato insieme al mio ragazzo nella presidential suite.. che dire è strepitosa.
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiorebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZwahiliGameLodge, Manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modimolle (Nylstroom)
0.0 mi away
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
311 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
#2 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monate Game Lodge
Monate Game Lodge
#1 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 40 in Vaalwater
422 reviews
0.0 mi away
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
#2 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phumelelo Lodge
Phumelelo Lodge
#3 of 51 in Bela Bela
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa

Address: 597 Mooifontein, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Price Range: $271 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embrace a true African experience; 3 luxurious main lodge rooms, 4 elegant Safari suites, 2 Executive suites and a Presidential suite await you. Immerse yourself in the tranquil sounds of nature with breathtaking views of the African Bush. Game viewing & guided walking safaris are conducted by experienced guides. Revive your body, mind and soul at the African Spa. Enjoy Masterful cuisine, personal exclusive experience. Superb attention to detail. 200 Kms North of Johannesburg in a malaria free area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing