We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, relaxing weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We just spent an awesome weekend (Saturday morning to Sunday lunch) at Euphoria. We saw the deal on GroupOn and liked it as it was close enough to JHB to go for the weekend.

The staff at reception were very friendly and sorted out our room immediately, even though it was a few hours until our official check in time of 14h00. Being intrepid explorers, we dropped off our bags and headed off for an explore. We ended up walking about 10km around the estate, mainly following the MTB Path. Next time we will definitely bring our bikes as this is a well marked, flattish trail. We ended up at the Halfway House for a toasted sarmie and a few beverages.

After a chilled afternoon we headed up the cable way at about 17h00ish for sun downers. The cable way is pretty unique the trip surprisingly quick. We had a very enjoyable drink on the top overlooking the sprawling land below. The rugby was on and there were a few locals getting 'stuck in' for the night too.

We headed down as we had dinner reservations in the main restaurant. After a quick drink in the bar, we headed to our table and had an amazing supper. I had the Prawn Curry which was excellent and very different as it was made with litchis. We shared a haloumi and mussel starter which was also fantastic.

The next morning we enjoyed a buffet breakfast. The continental side was far more appealing than the full English side of the buffet which looked a bit old and tired. I rounded off a wonderful two days with a lovely full body massage at the Spa. The Spa is amazing as all of the treatments are done in individual rooms, situated right in the forest.

I would highly recommend this spot and must compliment the staff as they were all super friendly and helpful. Even being non-golfers, we found a lot to keep us busy! The inside of the rooms are divine and very modern - all with a flat screen, wall mounted TV, massive bath and smart finishes. The outside of the hotel could do with some neatening up.

I hope they manage to sell more stands on the housing estate as this will add to the ambiance of the place.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 59 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very comfortable & spacious rooms. Special birthday set-up was done for my hubby complete with yummy platter and bubbly.
Cable car is a nice novelty!
Stunning golf course & clubhouse.
Goof mountain bike track as well.
Stunning bird watching.
Altogether an awesome stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Letitia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel / lodge beckons with huge expectations as you drive through the impressive security gates. We spent 4 nights last week , and left with mixed reviews. Exceptional front of office staff really good attribute , but the experience was tainted by neglected infrastructure. And really bad cellphone reception (which admittedly cannot be blamed on hotel) , but only WiFi reception in main building. Main building showing cracks , both literally and figuratively. And maintenance in rooms also needed. Glass toilet door in one bathroom almost fell off , but after reporting , it was immediately attended to. Beautiful , and very spacious rooms though. Restaurant food was good , but lack variation over 4 night stay , and very disappointing wine list. Kitchen could sadly not cope , and let waiters down , with resultant irritation from majority of patrons. Will return to sample golf course !

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Jaco J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The hotel is in such a beautiful spot but unfortunately the is a big maintenance problem. The rooms are ok but spider webs in our shower for the whole duration of our 5 day stay. Showers leaking and other maintenance issues like safes not working are quite disappointed. The hotel should definitely only be 3 star rated. The cable car to the top of the hill is quite nice and free for residents. However at the top you must look for a chair that is not broken. I wonder if there is a manager at the hotel and when last did he or she go through the rooms and visited the bar at the top of the hill. Reception staff and staff at main gate very friendly. There is a small bar fridge in the rooms and complimentary tea and coffee. Just be aware that the wifi is only working in the public areas in the hotel and not in the rooms. The rooms are not connected to the main hotel. Most rooms are about a 5 minute walk and there are golf cars if you prefer to be driven. Please Euphoria you have all the potential you just need proper management and maintenance

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank TravelH007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Taking advantage of a long weekend, the rooms a little pricey and the menu limited but the staff more than make up for it. The facilities are great and well maintained although travelling between the lodging and main hospitality area is limited as you find yourself walking, in some cases a converted golf cart does assist with the commute.

Lerato on the front desk with William and Johannes in the bar / restaurant with the team who were there this weekend past were fantastic and the only reason we would return.

If the morning starts out windy do not attempt golf !!! Mobile network is limited to nonexistent but wi-fi allows for interweb connection.

Room Tip: Double Luxury Room Ask reception for a hair dryer (or take your own) Take warm clothing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dallynj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Spent a day and night and overall we had a good time. The golf course is really good and the staff friendly and attentive. However the hotel, rooms and restaurant are looking tired and in need of maintenance which distracts from the overall experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

For such a short drive from Home, this was the best 3 day break away any person can hope for. the Hotel and Estate is in such a good condition that one feels like you are spending time at on a exotic island. The staff was always friendly and willing to help with a smile on their face.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theunus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modimolle (Nylstroom)
21.4 mi away
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
317 reviews
22.4 mi away
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
#3 of 25 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
123 reviews
24 mi away
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
#1 of 1 in Entabeni Game Reserve
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Silver Streams
Silver Streams
#1 of 11 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
74 reviews
15.8 mi away
Monate Game Lodge
Monate Game Lodge
#1 of 25 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
392 reviews
24.9 mi away
Abba Game Lodge
Abba Game Lodge
#2 of 25 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro

Address: | Kontant, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Price Range: $101 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Euphoria Hotel, Spa & Golf Estate is set in the beautiful Waterberg Mountains and is easily accessible from Gauteng. Home to numerous game reserves, the area is rich in cultural, historical, natural and geological attractions. This stunning luxury lifestyle estate has its own unique cable car. Guests are treated to a spectacular ride with breath taking views over the golf course and private nature reserve. The 760-hectare nature reserve is home to a wide variety of indigenous fauna and flora. The estate is a stone’s throw from Nylsvley. Though not as large as the Okavango, it is the largest natural floodplain in South Africa, and is famous for its exceptional birdlife. This tranquil setting belies the challenging Annika Sorenstam-signature 18-hole PGA Championship Golf Course. The combination of golf and unsurpassed beauty of the setting makes Euphoria a unique golfing experience. The hotel features a luxuriously rejuvenating hydro and spa, culinary temptations and an inviting ambience. It also has state-of-the-art conference facilities, and is a spectacular venue for the perfect wedding! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euphoria Golf Estate And Hydro
Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro Hotel Modimolle (Nylstroom)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing