We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend (JB)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Great weekend (JB)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We were a group of 8 golfers who had a great time at Euphoria (15-17 Nov.2013) We were abit put off by all the negative reviews that we had read about the resort only to find that that our fears were unfounded . The resort was in excellent shape and we can see why it has a 4 star rating . The food was outstanding and I can say the steak egg and chips was the best I have had naywhere in RSA . The breakfast's are to die for especially the chicken livers.

The golf couse was in top top condition . We enjoyed the two days of golf in the bushveld .
The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay memorable.

The waiter Lawerence came to us as we relaxed next to the pool every 10 minutes to see if we wanted top up on our drinks , now that is service
The cost of the stay was the cherry on the top
I fully recommend The Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro as a must visit destination . I can also say "WE WILL BE BACK'

Room Tip: all rooms are great . But go on your gut feel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerome M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
13
18
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were a group of approximately 14 people. We were all utterly disappointed with the level of service received from a "4 star" establishment. On night 1, a braai had been organized for us and was served in the main dining, food was atrocious. No seasoning on the chickening, absolutely overcooked and tough meat, old rolls and dry boerewors. The waitress was clearly not trained in hospitality. We ordered our drinks, which included a couple of bottle of wines and she simply put the wine bottles on the table unopened. We had to chase after her to get a corkscrew and then basically serve ourselves. She disappeared and never returned unless we tracked her down. The beds were rather hard (although this may be subject as some people prefer this, it was clear that parties in our group had the same complaint). The people who maintain the rooms however are the only people who do a good job, rooms clean and tidy, very good. Night 2 we had dinner in the wine cellar (with no wine or racks, why call it a cellar), we were provided an a la carte menu, which until today I don't see why. Instead of what was described on the menu, we were all served the leftover vegetables from last nights braai as a side plus. I mean everyone regardless of what you ordered and with no decency to warn us of changes in the menu. Halfway house for golf non-existent took as 40 minutes for our meals, with caddie lounging at the bar waiting. This place clearly lacks a manager or interested owners. Never Again will I stay at this place. The course is worth a visit but I will leave before night fall. To top it all off the cable was not working AGAIN.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Modimolle (Nylstroom) hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The golf course is in a perfect condition, and you can have a great round of golf, specially as the course is not very busy. Staff is friendly and trying, but all staff are clearly not properly trained. Lodge rooms are large but the whole estate is in need of maintenance, walls are cracking, needs painting, etc. There was no safe in our lodge room, and no hair dryer. With a bit of attention, this could be a great place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are far from any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AvWRsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
287 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

General maintenance of the estate needs attention. I did not expect a four star hotel to have basic maintenance issues. Safe in room not working, no basin plug, shower head missing (broken) at bath, no hair dryer in the room you had to ask for one to name but a few. Our neighbours came to ask that we phone reception because their card key is not working. We asked if there is a fridge in the room, so they brought one form another room. Double bed bedding on a queen or king-size bed. The pool is green with algae growing in it.

There is almost no mobile reception in the rooms. The website indicated that "wireless is available in the rooms" - when we enquired about this they said this must be a mistake as they only have wireless in the restaurant and reception.

Please note the cable car is only working on certain days and only from 8 to 5. We had to wait till 9 for the cable car to be started on top.

Great breakfast and the menu and food in the bar is excellent.

This hotel really has the potential to be world-class and to be an euphoria. Staff is generally very friendly, but inexperienced and therefore unable to assist and offer advice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelH007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
123 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

When you are in Golf, this could be your place! 2 hours drive of Jo'burg you will find a Golf Course which Greens where almost unplayable, so fast and with many undulations. I played it several times and felt lucky when not having had 3 putts on each green (Stimp 12). There are several suites around, a bit off the main building, good value for money, in walking distance to the Club House. The room was impeccable, with a fridge (very convenient during the hot season) and a balcony. Check that you are not right beside another guest, because there is some echo in these, which can be disturbing, when people like to sit for longer during the night.
Staff was very friendly, food was okay, nice sportsbar, a good place for golf buddies weekender...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoolOfHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We spent a weekend at Euphoria during June and it was a pleasant suprise.

We only booked the day before we arrived but all went well at check in time and we were in our rooms within 15 minutes of arrival no pain at all. The boys (8 & 6) loved the novelty of driving there on the golf cart (you park at the main clubhouse/reception and are transferred to the room by golf cart). You can call up the front desk to get a transfer back and they are very efficient but the 5 minute walk is also an adventure.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable and most importantly modern but not plastic at all, very tastefully decorated and clean. The beds are very comfortable and you are assured of a good nights sleep.

The rooms are built in cluster blocks with upstairs and downstairs rooms available (we were downstairs) they are well designed and the location in the bush offers good views, sitting on the stoop you know you are not in the city anymore and relaxation starts to kick in. Despite the cluster block design there is a distinct sense of privacy and the rooms are soundproof.

We did not partake in the golf or spa experiences but the golf course looked great and it would be well worth the time and effort if this is what you enjoy.

We did however get a chance to go up in the cablecar from the clubhouse to the top of the koppie. Who would have believed it a cablecar in the bush in the middle of nowhere :-) The experience was great for the kids and the adults alike, it is not exactly the Table Mountain cableway but it is a unique novelty. The views from the top are excellent although it was a shame that the resturant up there was being renovated a meal up there with the family we had invited around for the day would have been a highlight.

We had dinner, lunch and breakfast at the clubhouse in various venues and the food was all very good. The service was erratic at times and a little more training may be in order (clearing down quicker, being aware of when drinks were low, etc.). However the general friendliness of all the staff more than made up for this, a special mention for the front office especially Joshua who was a star and also the golf cart drivers who were also upbeat.

Euphoria obviously caters for the golf crowd and those that tag along but by adding a few additional amenities to keep the younger members of the family interested a new market may open up. There is certainly space to do this and the weather in the area and the general location (less than 2 hours from Johannesburg) are very attractive.

We travel through the area quite often and now that we have found Euphoria we will defintely be back it is a pleasant bush break.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatmanGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Had pre-booked our tee time but when contacted them to confirm they had no record - but not a problem as no one else booked to play that day! The staff were very helpful, but the whole place looks as though it is being run down. The course was quite good and very long, but the greens appeared to have some fungus/algae problems. Very good value for money.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modimolle (Nylstroom)
26.1 mi away
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
21.4 mi away
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
#1 of 1 in Entabeni Game Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
24.3 mi away
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
#2 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.3 mi away
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
#3 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
23.8 mi away
Gorgeous Gecko Guesthouse
Gorgeous Gecko Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
20.6 mi away
Birdsong Cottages
Birdsong Cottages
#6 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro

Property: Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro
Address: Euphoria Golf Estate and Hydro | Kontant, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Euphoria Hotel, Spa & Golf Estate is set in the beautiful Waterberg Mountains and is easily accessible from Gauteng. Home to numerous game reserves, the area is rich in cultural, historical, natural and geological attractions. This stunning luxury lifestyle estate has its own unique cable car. Guests are treated to a spectacular ride with breath taking views over the golf course and private nature reserve. The 760-hectare nature reserve is home to a wide variety of indigenous fauna and flora. The estate is a stone’s throw from Nylsvley. Though not as large as the Okavango, it is the largest natural floodplain in South Africa, and is famous for its exceptional birdlife. This tranquil setting belies the challenging Annika Sorenstam-signature 18-hole PGA Championship Golf Course. The combination of golf and unsurpassed beauty of the setting makes Euphoria a unique golfing experience. The hotel features a luxuriously rejuvenating hydro and spa, culinary temptations and an inviting ambience. It also has state-of-the-art conference facilities, and is a spectacular venue for the perfect wedding! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro Hotel Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Euphoria Golf Estate And Hydro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing