We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Really nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shiluvari Lakeside Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Louis Trichardt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shiluvari Lakeside Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Louis Trichardt
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed a Shiluvari for 3nights in May, using it as a base to explore the area and it was just what we wanted. The staff are just so helpful and willing, the location is fantastic right by the lake. There is not a great choice of food, but we had no complaints and everything we had was really delicious. Our room was under trees which made it a bit dark, but it is presumably well shaded in summer.

So, don't expect luxury, but enjoy the welcome and the hospitality of the wonderful people who are there to look after you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnykemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    29
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
21
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solon, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We recently stayed at Shiluvari Lodge for two nights while visiting our daughter who is in the Peace Corps and assigned to a small village not far from Elim. We were very, very happy with every aspect of our stay--beautiful, comfortable rooms that overlooked the lake--a perfect setting! We chose to have dinner there each night, and we were so glad that we did because every meal was delicious. It was the perfect way to start our trip to South Africa, and I am so glad that we were able to stay there--I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scout0218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed here for three days in November 2011 and really enjoyed the peacefulness of the place. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and everything was done with a smile. A lodge with a genuine feel of Africa wich sets it apart fom most others we have visited. Would certainly saty again when next in this part of South Africa.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

My Colleague and myself stayed one night at the lodge and this was enough. I stayed in room # 2 and my Colleague in # 3. The staff themselves where very friendly and efficient, however when we got to the rooms shock hit us. The fan in room number 3 is very broken, when leaving it on longer it seems like it will fall off, one of the balancing beams were taken off and the fan just went wild. Besides this the linen was absolutely disgusting. Stains all over. Inside all 4 pillows, the duvet and even on the sheet. We were told that all pillows are like this and we were given cushions for couches which where very uncomfortable. To sleep on a stained sheet is also very unhygienic. Then in room 3 it had looked like it hadn’t been cleaned for a while, i walked barefoot on the floor and my feet got so dirty. Spider webs where also all over in the room as well as leaves in the bath. This lodge obviously lacks supervision or management which is very sad as the location is beautiful and the staff is also great.

We had a very bad experience and all we wanted to do is leave this place.
I would not recommend this place at all at the state it is in now.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ClaudzG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

I stayed over at Shiluvari on the 20th - just one night as it was a work trip. I could not have asked for friendlier service or asked to be made more special. The place is not five star but clean, beautifully decorated and all ones needs are met. I arrived on the day of a power failure - on arrival I asked for coffee and a snack as I was starving - I got a plunger of divine coffee and a plate of the feshest biscuits. The bedroom was filled with candles in case the lights stayed off longer tham expected. Supper....simple, wholesome and delicous. i had fillet of beef, mash and other veggies - it was prepared to perfection.

The staff are amazing - each and evry one of them! I hope to return!!!

Room Tip: Cannot remember my room no. Its the one closet to the restuarant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElleCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
196 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Drip drip drip. The sounds of rain started almost immediately after our arrival at Shiluvari. Drip drip drip, 2 days later this was the second to last sound we heard when leaving the lodge. The last sound was that of the manager telling us she hoped to see us again. We do too!

Shiluvari is a beautiful place where art objects have been dropped all over the property. The place is located near a lake, hippos and crocs might welcome you when you get to the shore. But there is no need for that since Shiluvari has an excellent pool in which you can chill and relax (when it doesn't rain).

Dinner is included and it's a real treat. The dishes look and taste wonderful. Together with the art, scenery and nice staff, Shiluvari is a great place and wonderful start for a South Africa experience.

Tip: get the Dragonfly suite. Bathing with lakeside view!

Room Tip: Ask for the Dragonfly suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamgraffiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

I stayed at the lodge for 3 nights in August 2011 as a solo traveller and thought it was wonderful. And when you consider the price, even better!

Reservations – It was quite easy to make my booking over the internet using a credit card—no small feat in Southern Africa!

Lodging – I was in Room 4, which is the rondavel closest to the main building. It was a good size, even including a sitting area with views of the dam from which I enjoyed a glass of red wine each evening. The bedding was also very comfortable. While the room was a bit cold in August, the lodge manager brought me a space heater (without me even asking), and hot water bottles were provided each evening, so I was comfortable. My one complaint is that the shower pressure and temperature was only so-so.

Grounds – The lodge is set back about 2.5kms from the main road, but I made it fine in a small sedan. It is on the banks of a dam, surrounded by mountains. Beautiful!

Food – Breakfast consisted of a small spread of cheese, breads, fruit, and yogurt. Eggs and meat were made to order. I’d say breakfast was pretty standard for the area. Dinner, however, was great! I had intended to eat only 1 or 2 meals at the lodge, but it was so good that I couldn’t stay away. The first night I was served potato soup, fillet with vegetables, and sponge cake. The second night was a twice baked blue cheese, lamb chops with vegetables, and chocolate pudding. The third night was salad, chicken curry, and malva pudding. In addition to being delicious, the waitstaff was attentive and the service was quick.

Activities – The lodge arranged a guide for me for the Ribolla Arts Route. It was a totally flexible day—the guide would give me options, and I’d pick where we went (e.g., next, would you rather go see another woodcarver or visit with a shaman). Note that you will drive your own vehicle, but again, I was fine in my sedan. I highly recommend it. I also spent a day in Kruger, which was nice, but a bit longer of a drive than I had expected. It took me 2 hours from the lodge to the Punda Maria gate.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gopheliad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louis Trichardt
24.4 mi away
Peermont Metcourt at Khoroni
Peermont Metcourt at Khoroni
#1 of 3 in Thohoyandou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
18.6 mi away
Madi a Thavha Mountain Lodge
Madi a Thavha Mountain Lodge
#1 of 16 in Louis Trichardt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
23.7 mi away
Mashovhela Bush Lodge
Mashovhela Bush Lodge
#4 of 18 in Louis Trichardt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
The Ultimate Guesthouse
The Ultimate Guesthouse
#3 of 16 in Louis Trichardt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
12.6 mi away
Avoca Vale Country Hotel
Avoca Vale Country Hotel
#5 of 16 in Louis Trichardt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
35.6 mi away
Leshiba Wilderness
Leshiba Wilderness
#1 of 18 in Louis Trichardt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiluvari Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiluvari Lakeside Lodge

Property: Shiluvari Lakeside Lodge
Address: Louis Trichardt, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Louis Trichardt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Louis Trichardt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shiluvari Lakeside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shiluvari Lodge is set on the Banks of the Albasini Dam and overlooks the picturesque Soutpansberg Mountains...the cool, thatched chalets form the perfect base from which to explore 'this land of legend'. On site facilities include the award winning wood-owl country restaurant, the Hog & hound pub and fireplace, wrap-around al-fresco terrace, lakeside swimming pool and motorized raft for sunset cruises. One of the first properties worldwide to be accreddited with the FTTSA trademark (Fair trade and tourism south africa) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shiluvari Lakeside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing