We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Madi a Thavha Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Haan, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect location”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Madi a Thavha Mountain Lodge is a perfect location for a number of reasons:

its beautiful setting in a green valley surrounded by mountains;

the very comfortable guest rooms with individual artistic decorations, giving on a private terrace with a marvellous view;

the delicious meals served in a dining-room that underlines the feeling of comfort and care;

and last but by no means least the dedicated hosts and their staff who go out of their way to make their guests feel at home.

The fact that the owners of the lodge are supporters of a sustainable environment and of local arts and crafts was a decisive asset for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rainer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    38
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
74
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nuevo, CA
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I booked with Madi a Thava for a one night stay as a stop over point while in transit to the northern sector of Kruger National Park. There were originally 7 of us at the time of booking and we added an additional person before the trip. I emailed Marcelle several times prior to our arrival and she was always extremely helpful in making sure we were accommodated.

When we finally arrived at the lodge we were all blown away. Madi a Thava is nestled in a beautiful, secluded valley, surrounded by lush gardens. We arrived at almost 7pm and although we had not booked dinner, Marcelle made sure that the cook was able to round something up. We were served by the pool, and the cook whose name escapes me serenaded us with a few songs while we ate.

The main house and all of the guest houses are quaint and comfortable and are furnished with everything you need whether your stay is overnight or for several days. All of us in the group had a very nice sleep after our 32 hour venture from the USA. Our breakfast the following morning started with fruit and yogurt parfaits and fresh baked pastries. This was followed by cooked to order eggs and bacon.

The peacefulness of the place is only exceeded by the hospitality of Marcelle and her staff. I could rave about my experience forever. The only disappointment from our standpoint was that we did not have more time to stay. Madi a Thava is a must if you are planning on being anywhere near Louis Trichardt.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deamole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We recommend to pay a visit to this lodge. We were welcome by Percy a very talented person as he guided us through the resort and museum, than did the cooking and even sang during the dinner.
Marcelle is a lovely person who takes time to explain her vision. She tries hard to involve the local communities by presenting their art work.
We feel very rapidly like at home. We recommend also to walk up the baobab before dinner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean Piere P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

and the place continues to amaze and charm us! this was our 3rd visit and while Madi a Thavha is still so beautiful and peaceful, it has also evolved and become much more than a lodge.
Marcelle and Aart have now opened an incredible art gallery on the premises, where they exhibit local artists and have put together an informative display of various local traditions and crafts.
Anyone interested in the rich Venda and Tsonga artistic life or just interested in discovering an authentic South Africa away from the regular tourist haunts should visit Madi a Thavha.
Marcelle and Aart continue to offer a warm welcome and the most beautifully decorated rooms and self catering cottages but they also organize cultural visits which will take you to off the beaten track villages and artists'studios.
We cannot wait to go back....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caviar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgique
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Yes, I was surprised. I'd read all the rave reviews about Madi a Thavha on TripAdvisor, and I was still pleasantly surprised, because it really went beyond our expectations.

We had booked a "guest house", which is like a little bungalow. It is really huge : you enter and find yourself in a small kitchenette, there is a huge living room and a balcony, a sleeping room and a nice little bathroom. Everything is well-appointed and furnhished, and even the complimentary soap, shampoo and shower gel show the owner's dedication towards sustainable development and contributing to the community.

In the living room of the "guest house", you have a hearth where you can light and watch a fire in the evening, which is a very nice touch, especially in winter (there is also an electrical heater in the sleeping room but we didn't use it).

The place is surrounded by a huge garden and mountains ; it's full of birds. (we were there in winter, it must be even better in summer)

I'm glad we had booked our dinner there, because it was a real treat. Percy is an excellent cook, and he also sings very well. We had a nice bottle of wine, at an affordable price. Breakfast was excellent and very varied as well.

The owners are very friendly, the cook is very competent, and the other members of staff we saw were very courteous.

My only regret : we didn't stay long enough.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sawaddeekha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Uist, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2011

As travellers from the UK we found the rooms to be a bit on the small side, no air-con or fans provided in the rooms. The food was under par compared so some other lodges we stayed in, and the hosts a bit over attentive!
Nice setting though.

Room Tip: dont go when warm and ask for the largest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingscotsman023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoogeveen, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

We have spent 3 days in this paradise like resort of Aart and Marcelle, who are sharing their privileges with their personnel and many others, amongst whom several artists. We liked our room, from where we looked up to the mountains. We went to the baobab, and returned happy for another marvellous dinner. And the cook, he offered life music by singing just for the other guests and for us. Was rhis real or theatre or opera? Yes, it was real. So we were sad when our time was over.
Marnix and Kora Koppe, from Hoogeveen. The Netherlands.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Game227911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louis Trichardt hotels
13.2 mi away
Mashovhela Bush Lodge
Mashovhela Bush Lodge
#5 of 18 in Louis Trichardt
55 reviews
17.2 mi away
Leshiba Wilderness
Leshiba Wilderness
#1 of 18 in Louis Trichardt
122 reviews
5.4 mi away
139 on Munnik Guest House
139 on Munnik Guest House
#2 of 18 in Louis Trichardt
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Misty Mountains
Misty Mountains
#2 of 18 in Louis Trichardt
74 reviews
6.1 mi away
Avoca Vale Country Hotel
Avoca Vale Country Hotel
#6 of 18 in Louis Trichardt
30 reviews
20.5 mi away
Softwaters Farm Guesthouse
Softwaters Farm Guesthouse
#5 of 18 in Louis Trichardt
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madi a Thavha Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madi a Thavha Mountain Lodge

Property: Madi a Thavha Mountain Lodge
Address: R 522 Louis trichardt - Vivo | Plot 17, Louis Trichardt 920, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Louis Trichardt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Louis Trichardt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madi a Thavha Mountain Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madi a Thavha mountain lodge - get the feel of colourful, vibrant, rural Limpopo! Luxury suites and guest rooms splashed in rural hip and colour. Scrumptious fusion food and the best of local CraftArt in our gallery, shop, textile studio and on our village and rural lifestyle tours in Northern Limpopo. There are also exciting hiking, cycling and birding opportunities around the lodge. Madi a Thavha has a warm homey feel and our well-informed staff really bend over backwards to ensure that guest have a real good time in the North. Madi a Thavha is popular for: • being different with our village tours and focus on culture, art & craft and sustainable development • our unusual and colourful interiors - rural hip fused with luxury, 4-star accommodation • being in the centre of a rich variety of culture, big game, birds and unique experiences in Northern Limpopo, • being a few hours away from the Kruger National Park, world heritage site of Mapungubwe, neighboring Botswana, Zimbabwe and Mozambique • home cooked meals and sporting the Portfolio collections' 'chef's hat'. Without paying a penny more guests can sleep well knowing that Madi a Thavha is Fair Trade certified and respect human rights, cultures and environment with and on behalf of our guests. To see at the lodge: • our top notch Art & Culture centre displays the colourful history of the region • the finest art of Northern Limpopo to be seen in our Dancing Fish gallery. • Pop in to see what we are up to in our Textile & Design studio or workshops at the lodge • our CraftArt shop is stocked with unique products of the region To do here: Madi a Thavha offers a variety of guided cultural and lifestyle village tours. Fun activities for adults and children, hiking, cycling and birding can be done practically from your room or suite's doorstep too. Our pool is solar heated even if our winters are really mild. Where to find us: Madi a Thavha sits in a quiet valley of the Soutpansberg 10km west of Makhado/Louis Trichardt. It is only 5 hours' drive away from Johannesburg and our excellent location in the centre of the region's vibrant cultures and game reserves makes it a perfect base from which to explore the Soutpansberg and Limpopo valley, the legendary northern frontiers of South Africa. Madi a Thavha is a popular 'culture-stop-over' for guests travelling to the Kruger National Park, the world heritage site of Mapungubwe or the game lodges of the Thuli block in Botswana, the Victoria Falls in Zimbabwe or even for adventurous travelers tackling the off-roads to Mozambique. What rural life in Limpopo really looks like: We offer guests the opportunity to engage with 'real' people, artists and crafters in their own studios or homesteads. Our deep involvement with social development and education in the north allow us to offer tailor made tours catering for various interests from art, craft and heritage to rural architecture and birding in these beautiful, unknown parts of Limpopo - an opportunity that international travellers and especially photographers, love to snatch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Madi a Thavha Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing