We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aanrader”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Madi a Thavha Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frans D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 178 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJH33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliette8312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pim_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kanada03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herodeboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louis Trichardt hotels
5.9 mi away
The Ultimate Guesthouse
The Ultimate Guesthouse
#3 of 21 in Louis Trichardt
42 reviews
11.1 mi away
Mashovhela Bush Lodge
Mashovhela Bush Lodge
#5 of 18 in Louis Trichardt
58 reviews
17.2 mi away
Leshiba Wilderness
Leshiba Wilderness
#1 of 18 in Louis Trichardt
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
139 on Munnik Guest House
139 on Munnik Guest House
#2 of 21 in Louis Trichardt
43 reviews
17.0 mi away
Plaas Guest House
Plaas Guest House
#6 of 21 in Louis Trichardt
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Misty Mountains
Misty Mountains
#2 of 18 in Louis Trichardt
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madi a Thavha Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madi a Thavha Mountain Lodge

Address: R 522 Louis trichardt - Vivo | Plot 17, Louis Trichardt 920, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Louis Trichardt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Louis Trichardt
Price Range: $84 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Madi a Thavha Mountain Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madi a Thavha mountain lodge - get the feel of colourful, vibrant, rural Limpopo! Luxury suites and guest rooms splashed in rural hip and colour. Scrumptious fusion food and the best of local CraftArt in our gallery, shop, textile studio and on our village and rural lifestyle tours in Northern Limpopo. There are also exciting hiking, cycling and birding opportunities around the lodge. Madi a Thavha has a warm homey feel and our well-informed staff really bend over backwards to ensure that guest have a real good time in the North. Madi a Thavha is popular for: • being different with our village tours and focus on culture, art & craft and sustainable development • our unusual and colourful interiors - rural hip fused with luxury, 4-star accommodation • being in the centre of a rich variety of culture, big game, birds and unique experiences in Northern Limpopo, • being a few hours away from the Kruger National Park, world heritage site of Mapungubwe, neighboring Botswana, Zimbabwe and Mozambique • home cooked meals and sporting the Portfolio collections' 'chef's hat'. Without paying a penny more guests can sleep well knowing that Madi a Thavha is Fair Trade certified and respect human rights, cultures and environment with and on behalf of our guests. To see at the lodge: • our top notch Art & Culture centre displays the colourful history of the region • the finest art of Northern Limpopo to be seen in our Dancing Fish gallery. • Pop in to see what we are up to in our Textile & Design studio or workshops at the lodge • our CraftArt shop is stocked with unique products of the region To do here: Madi a Thavha offers a variety of guided cultural and lifestyle village tours. Fun activities for adults and children, hiking, cycling and birding can be done practically from your room or suite's doorstep too. Our pool is solar heated even if our winters are really mild. Where to find us: Madi a Thavha sits in a quiet valley of the Soutpansberg 10km west of Makhado/Louis Trichardt. It is only 5 hours' drive away from Johannesburg and our excellent location in the centre of the region's vibrant cultures and game reserves makes it a perfect base from which to explore the Soutpansberg and Limpopo valley, the legendary northern frontiers of South Africa. Madi a Thavha is a popular 'culture-stop-over' for guests travelling to the Kruger National Park, the world heritage site of Mapungubwe or the game lodges of the Thuli block in Botswana, the Victoria Falls in Zimbabwe or even for adventurous travelers tackling the off-roads to Mozambique. What rural life in Limpopo really looks like: We offer guests the opportunity to engage with 'real' people, artists and crafters in their own studios or homesteads. Our deep involvement with social development and education in the north allow us to offer tailor made tours catering for various interests from art, craft and heritage to rural architecture and birding in these beautiful, unknown parts of Limpopo - an opportunity that international travellers and especially photographers, love to snatch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Madi a Thavha Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing