We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Havasu Dunes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Havasu Dunes
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Lake Havasu City
Certificate of Excellence
Newalla
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We spent a week here beginning Labor Day weekend and had a great time. The units were clean and comfortable, the staff friendly. We had a unit in the back and had no problem with noise, even on a holiday weekend. The one bedroom units were a little small but perfectly okay for a couple. The pools were small, but at least while we were there, not at all crowded. Most of the time it was just us. Nice, clean grills were available by the pool. The only thing I would like to see change is not having to go to the office to check out a baking sheet. Some items I can understand having in the office but I would think that a baking sheet would be used enough to justify keeping them in the units. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ducksoup1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    45
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
40
41
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My fiancé and I found this resort very comfortable and clean. I really enjoyed the Kitchenet and living room area. I would highly recommend staying here. It is far enough from the busy areas to be quiet, yet close enough to drive to anywhere in lake havasu within minutes.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashtonbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We traded our points at our home timeshare in Kissimmee Florida with this timeshare. We had never been to the southwest and flew into Vegas. After four days in Vegas, we drove past the Hoover Dam and onto Lake Havasu. We loved it the minute we got there. We had read the reviews and knew not to get the units closest to the road. The units are one story, w/covered parking underneath, southwest style apartment style versus a villa or hotel type accomodation. You did have to walk up one small flight of 8 steps. Not sure if there were ground units. We had two bedrooms, full kitchen and a patio w/2 chairs and a small table. The back of the unit opened up to the backside of the other row of units and the mountains in the background. We have included a few pictures of the scenery. The pool area had a jaccuzi, grill and a covered picnic area, which we used one evening to grill steaks out by the pool. There is also a small office area with a snack machine and acutally a sauna. We used it, it was nice. There was only one other couple there the same week we were, it was very quiet and relaxing. We took several day trips, found fun little bars and junk shops; and took an overnight trip to the Grand Canyon, through Route 66 and Oatman. Absolutely wonderful trip. We found the locals to be friendly and accomodating. It was a great trip. We are going back this year and staying at a TimeShare in Vegas. But I would stay here again for sure. We loved it.

Room Tip: If you stay in the units closest to the highway, you could find the traffic distrubing because on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kbtoys928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A little back-story--we wanted to not have to fly this year to exchange our timeshare. We wanted heat and water. The available inventory with Interval International leaves a lot to be desired. We exchanged a high season (January) rental from Avon, Colorado--a nice new Sheraton resort with tile/marble, etc. in kitchen and bath and new appliances. We wanted to upgrade from 1BR to 2BR--were told they were sold out. After we were there a few days, it was apparent that they were at about 20% capacity, max. We saw few cars, had no neighbors luckily, and generally had free reign of the pools/bbq, or one other family at most.

Well, this place was the same size (had a king and a fold out double couch for the kids). But, the kitchen/ bath and general appearance were circa 1980s--not even a close comparison to the Sheraton vacation rentals we've seen. Functional but definitely desiring a remodel. The room didn't have a great clean, they came to redo the vacuuming, my wife did a good scrub on the counters before daring to use. One TV was new, one was old. The pools were small but clean and usable, hot tub was clean and nice. The BBQs were easy to use and cleaned for us after our repeated use. Staff were extremely courteous/helpful. Laundry room was clean and easy to use. Fitness center? Not on site--they have an agreement with a club a couple miles away.

Lake Havasu city is best described as a red-neck riviera. They have heat (116 degrees when we where there) and the lake, but kind of a rough crowd. The waterfront by the London bridge was closed by 5pm or out of business altogether. No evening activity for the family around town. We hit all of the beaches, would recommend paying $10 for Windsor Beach. Most like an ocean front, except for the rocks in the water (might recommend water type shoes).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I have been going to Havasu Dunes for around 5 years now and have always been pleased with my visits. This last trip (June 22-24) was awesome! The beds were exceptionally soft and comfortable. We slept like babies after being on the lake all day. The kitchens had EVERYTHING and the rooms even had ceiling fans which is good for when the a/c can be too much. We always tell friends about Havasu Dunes; having lodged at several Lake Havasu area hotels I realize they have the best hotel around!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DoingUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We love this place. It has great views of the lake even thought there is a highway between the lodging and the lake. These units are like apartments - there are studios, one bedroom and two bedroom. The two bedroom also have two bathrooms. All have kitchens and balconies or patios with private parking below the unit. The kitchens are stocked with all utensils for cooking and dining, as well as plates, glassware, knives, etc. The refrigerators are full size, as is the stove and microwave. A dining table is also provided and all the sofas are sleepers sofas if you need extra accommodations. Housekeeping is not an every day service like a regular hotel, but there are plenty of towels and they will give you most things you need at the office. There are several pools that are nice and clean. They also have access to a fitness club which you can use for free by asking for a pass. We didn't use it but it's nice to have the option. We highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view if the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stover-Roth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKeynes England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Travelled with our two daughters and stayed one night in a two bedroomed apartment. Room was clean and well equipped with a full kitchen and three tv's. We particularly enjoyed the swimming pool and hot tub and then made use of the free barbecue facilities to enjoy a family barbeque watching the sun set over the palm trees. Would have liked to stayed longer.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MK_Cobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Havasu City hotels
1.4 mi away
Heat Hotel
Heat Hotel
#3 of 24 in Lake Havasu City
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Lake Havasu City
Hampton Inn Lake Havasu City
#1 of 24 in Lake Havasu City
4.0 of 5 stars 747 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hidden Palms Resort & Condominiums
Hidden Palms Resort & Condominiu...
#7 of 24 in Lake Havasu City
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#12 of 24 in Lake Havasu City
3.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
1.1 mi away
Island Suites
Island Suites
#8 of 24 in Lake Havasu City
3.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
1.3 mi away
London Bridge Resort
London Bridge Resort
#4 of 24 in Lake Havasu City
4.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havasu Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havasu Dunes

Property: Havasu Dunes
Address: 620 Lake Havasu Ave S, Lake Havasu City, AZ 86406-7553
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Lake Havasu City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Havasu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Havasu Dunes 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Havasu Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Havasu Dunes Hotel Lake Havasu City
Havasu Dunes Lake City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing