We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Havasu Dunes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Havasu Dunes
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Lake Havasu City
Certificate of Excellence
MKeynes England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Travelled with our two daughters and stayed one night in a two bedroomed apartment. Room was clean and well equipped with a full kitchen and three tv's. We particularly enjoyed the swimming pool and hot tub and then made use of the free barbecue facilities to enjoy a family barbeque watching the sun set over the palm trees. Would have liked to stayed longer.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MK_Cobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    57
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
49
55
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

Right. The room was clean which in my book is very important.Three of us stayed in a room, 2 in the bed one on a sofa bed. The sofa bed was far from ideal, the bed however was fine. The room in general was small and expensive for what it was, considering to get down to the lake for the 'Spring Break' attractions, you will have to walk 15-20 mins or get a cab. There was a very small bathroom area and a small but equipped kitchenette.

If this is the only place available then yes it is more than acceptable, and having seen another hotel which is named after a famous bridge in the capitol city of England, I would choose this place hands down.

My advice, if travelling here around the Spring Break time book well in advance to make sure you get a hotel of your liking, as if you book last minute like I did, choice will not be a luxury available to you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flagitious_mystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

There were three of us traveling, including our grown daughter. The unit we rented was a one bedroom, advertised as sleeping up to 4. The living room couch pulled out into an extremely uncomfortable bed. Our daughter ended up sleeping on couch cushions on the floor. The space itself was quite small for more than two people, although would have been quite adequate for two.

We were advised upon arrival that the room wouldn't be cleaned during the week. While we could live with this, the fact that this was one of a fairly long list of amenities we were told that we would not receive didn't make for an especially welcoming experience.

We did love adventuring off and exploring - within an hour or two in any direction you'll find beautiful parks, hikes, drives and adventures. We would come back to the area, but would look for a different place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malfer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

We enjoyed a one week stay in a 1 bedroom unit with a partial kitchen. The unit was nicely appointed. Appliances worked fine. The bed was okay. Toilet required flushing more than once or twice on numerous occasions (frustrating). The bathroom area is somewhat smallish. The partial kitchen is quite small but served us fine (bacon & eggs, salads, smoothies). It would be difficult to prepare large meals...but there are plenty of good restaurants in town. At this time of year it is quiet in Havasu City as well as at the resort. Outside at the pool there is a constant drone of both local and highway traffic (lighter at times / heavier at times). I suppose in the summer the sound of power boats and so on would be prevelant too. No big deal..just saying. The hot tub was great and the natural gas grills are of decent quality. Location of the resort certainly plays a role in terms of getting around, it is in a good spot. Easy to get to and from. Certainly need a car to take advantage of what there is to see. We like walking...but going anywhere is a long walk. Overall this is a nice resort and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank rob o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

Firstly, it is not as stated 1 mile from London Bridge, unless you are a bird. It is just under 2 miles. I know it is a small point but if you are like us & don't mind walking to bars etc then double the length in 100 degree heat does make a heck of a difference. Cabs are cheap however as we decided to not to chance walking as we would have needed to walk in some unlit sections. Check in at reception fine, receptionist not too pleasant at first but found her to be better later on in the week. Had planned to stay for a week as we had time share swapped but weather (too hot) & lack of atmosphere in City curtailed our week by a couple of days. Apartments are small but well equipped, clean but in need of some renovation. Car parking is below your apartment, two per apartment. Very neat & handy keeping the car out of the sun. The resort is split into three areas, each having their own pool. Pool we used was small but satisfactory for the number of people using it. Wouldn't like to use it when busy though. Vast majority of staff very friendly & efficient. No safes in apartments but there are safe envelopes at reception free of charge. These envelopes were obviously a last thought as they were out of date & it came as some surprise to the staff to be using them. Don't know why? We don't like carrying our passports etc with us all the time so some secure place is a must for us. Patio area overlooks apartment across path, not very private & can be noisy at times. Would hate to have an apartment overlooking the I-95 even though it has nice views beyond to Lake Havasu. Tip, if you are using the phone to call long distance, you must get your phone switched over at reception. There is internet access in the Owners Lounge adjacent to the pool nearest reception. Pretty cheap & fast. Would we go back, probably not as didn't enjoy Lake Havasu City. Done it, ticked it off the list.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robeth_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

This place is great! We were able to stay through a friend's time share and got it for a great rate. We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom units twice, so I've slept in both the King and the double beds and both were very comfortable and quiet for a peaceful nights sleep. The A/C always works great and as any of you know that have been there in 105 degree heat, this is super important. The kitchen is well equipped and a decent size to move around in. The refrig. has an ice maker, which is great if your filling up a small cooler and it will make more while you are gone for the next day at the lake! The pools and Jacuzzi are also great, very clean and the best thing is they never close. We enjoyed many evening out at the Jacuzzi. The living room has a sofa bed, which I heard from a few people that slept on it, was pretty comfortable for a pull out. It also has a huge flat screen TV with a DVD player attached, we never used it, but really nice that we could have, there is a Walgreens not too far away with a Redbox out front, maybe next time. The only thing I would suggest is upgrading the TV's in the bedroom to flat screens. This place is very clean and comfortable, we stayed 3 nights and wished we could stay longer, I would most definitely recommend this place to a friend and I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank incorrigibleangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

We were very impressed with property. We stayed in a “studio” unit, but in reality it was a one-bedroom unit with a doorway and sliding partition that closed off the bedroom. The living room was equipped with a large format flat screen TV and the bedroom had a second TV. The unit was very well maintained with everything looking fresh and new. The kitchen area was clean and fully equipped. The pool area was clean and well maintained. The tables, chairs, and BBQ in the pool area were all in fine working order and were almost new in appearance. Parking is covered and generally located either directly across from the unit or on the ground floor, beneath units located directly above the parking area.

It should be noted that the location is subject to extreme temperature changes between summer and winter. For this reason, I believe that they made these units a bit smaller than those at other resorts that I have stayed at. This small size helps to cool down (or heat up) the unit quickly and keep the units at a constant temperature. We stayed at Havasu Dunes in August when the outside temperatures were in the 110’s and we had no issues with the air conditioning set at about 70 (Degrees F) inside. The overall size is not cramped, but it’s also not spacious.

Lake Havasu offers a variety of activities on the lake and the City has everything you would expect of a modern community. Kingman with its old antique shops is about an hour away, and Laughlin is about 1.5 Hrs away. The local Indian tribe operates a casino on the California side of the lake that is accessible by ferry for $4. The old west town of Oatman, AZ is another fun trip and is about 1.5 Hrs away.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kdvillines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Havasu City hotels
1.4 mi away
Heat Hotel
Heat Hotel
#5 of 24 in Lake Havasu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Lake Havasu City
Hampton Inn Lake Havasu City
#2 of 24 in Lake Havasu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 24 in Lake Havasu City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hidden Palms Resort & Condominiums
Hidden Palms Resort & Condominiu...
#8 of 24 in Lake Havasu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.1 mi away
Island Suites
Island Suites
#10 of 24 in Lake Havasu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Nautical Beachfront Resort
The Nautical Beachfront Resort
#4 of 24 in Lake Havasu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havasu Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havasu Dunes

Property: Havasu Dunes
Address: 620 Lake Havasu Ave S, Lake Havasu City, AZ 86406-7553
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Lake Havasu City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Havasu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Havasu Dunes 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Havasu Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Havasu Dunes Hotel Lake Havasu City
Havasu Dunes Lake City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing