We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dumpy”
Review of Royal Inn

Royal Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Inn
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Lake Havasu City
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We usually look at TripAdvisor before booking our hotels, but did not do so this time. Our mistake. We booked this motel on line after reading that it was refurbished and refreshed. I am not sure what has been done to do so, but we found this to be the worst motel we have ever stayed in. When we arrived the young woman behind the counter was very friendly and called us by name. When we asked how she knew our name, she said that only three people had booked a room and we were the third ones to come in - that should have been a clear sign. When we drove up to the room we spotted several outdoor chairs that had torn and worn upholstery. There were a few couples sitting around drinking beer. As we entered the the room we found that is was mostly clean with a small microwave and refridge. However, there was NO 24 hour office staff, NO hairdryer, NO clothes hangers, NO Do not Disturb sign, NO telephone book, NO coffee, NO clock, NO curtains (only cheap blinds that let in the sun). Additionally there was only one set of towels; the deadbolt did not work and there were no additional security locks; the TV was very small and emitted a high pitched buzz; and the internet was very slow. Throughout our stay there were people partying in the parking lot and playing loud music. We were told by some locals that this motel is in a very bad part of town. There are many decent looking motels in Lake Havasu City that are almost as cheap and provide breakfast. Our advice is to stay at one of them. DO NOT STAY AT THE SAND CASTLE.

Room Tip: Not at this motel!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
There are newer reviews for Royal Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 14 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2011

my daughter and i were traveling and stopped a this hotel to stay for the night. we received our room and a very friendly manner, and when we got to out room it was very warm, i called the front desk and told them the problem and they upgraded my daughter and i to a suite with a kitchen. i was very inpressed with the kind service here and will deffently being staying there when we take our next vacation

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashleygood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

They did not have my reservation, they also did not upgrade the room like that said that would of, and they did bot give me my money back like that said that would of. We waited till 2am outside for our room. This was the worst hotel and worst service ever! Will never stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Court173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

called to make sure they had my reservation and they did not, they said they would upgrade my room and have it ready when i get there. there hours laster NONE of this happened! we got there and waited out side for someone for over an hour, then we were told to drive to a different hotel to get out room keys. the lady still didn't have our room ready so we had to wait another hour outside until 2am! once we got the room it was dirty and we had to wait for the lady to clean it, they told us we would get at least half of our money back if not all of it, and we only got 25$ back! this was the worst experience and the worst hotel ever!
I DO NOTTTT RECOMMEND ANYONE TO STAY HERE, DONT WAIST YOUR MONEY, JUST STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 32940Court123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

We had to change travel plans at the last minute and they were completely understanding and flexible. The location was perfect for us, and we took full advantage of the pool. There's lawn chairs, umbrellas, and tables out by the BBQ grill by the pool and a grocery store across the street, so you don't have to eat out the whole time; but the Mexican place right next door is great too. The staff was the best part, from the super nice and helpful cleaning lady to the friendly reception desk staff, to the amazing person who got my e-mail and sent my shirt back to me after I realized I'd left my favorite shirt on accident. It's hard to find places that offer this sort of customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnTheRoadAgain1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: state lontani
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fabbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016
1  Thank laclod-olga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Havasu City hotels
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Lake Havasu City
Super 8 Lake Havasu City
#13 of 24 in Lake Havasu City
249 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#19 of 24 in Lake Havasu City
99 reviews
1.7 mi away
Windsor Inn Motel
Windsor Inn Motel
#17 of 24 in Lake Havasu City
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Island Suites
Island Suites
#10 of 24 in Lake Havasu City
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knights Inn Lake Havasu City
Knights Inn Lake Havasu City
#15 of 24 in Lake Havasu City
87 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sands-On-The-Fairway Inn
Sands-On-The-Fairway Inn
#16 of 24 in Lake Havasu City
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Inn

Address: 2190 Birch Sq, Lake Havasu City, AZ 86403-6707 (Formerly Sand Castle Lakeview)
Location: United States > Arizona > Lake Havasu City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Lake Havasu City
Price Range: $42 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard queens, double queens, king mini suites & 1 bd suites with full kitchens. free wi-fi, RV & boat parking, complimentary coffee in lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing