We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with a fanastic view!”
Review of The Turtle Grille

The Turtle Grille
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: "Best View in Havasu" Lake Havasu Dining has never been better. The Turtle Grille has been serving Lake Havasu for over 25 years and remains a staple in the community and with visitors from around the world offering the most dynamic waterfront dining experience year round. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner year round, the Turtle Grille is a full-service indoor restaurant and bar featuring upscale pub cuisine and ice cold beer on tap. Famous for the spectacular views of the lake and surrounding mountain ranges, guests will enjoy the casual, laid back atmosphere. Our award winning Chef has created a menu that will please the palate and enrich the senses. Serving up salads, wraps, seafood, steaks and our award-winning Turtle Chowder. Whether you're a Havasu local or a resort guest, our friendly staff is at your service.
North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food with a fanastic view!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

While staying at The Nautical Resort in Lake Havasu, AZ, our stay includes daily meal vouchers for The Turtle Grill. Our meals have been great! During the Balloon Festival this past weekend, we sat and watched the hot air ballons float over and around the city and Lake Havasu! What a view! We usually go for breakfest which is a relaxing way to start the day. You have a fanastic view of the lake where watching the water while you eat is good therapy. I also recommend their Kobe Beef Hamburgers, expecially the one with blue cheese. They are moist and vary tasty. Since we have come to this resort for many years, we have come to know the staff personally. When we first get here, it`s like coming home because they remember you by name and greet you with open arms. Belinda, Stacey, Rene, Micheala all provide efficient, friendly service even when swamped by the crowds attending the Balloon Festival. If you`ve had a stressful day, you should go to The Turtle Grill to rejuvenate!

Visited January 2013
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Casper WY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The Turtle Grill v.2.0”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Suffering from a slight identity crisis, the Turtle Grill is the Sports bar / Fine Dining restaurant on the Nautical Inn property. It's not as widely advertised as the Turtle Beach Bar or The Wet Bar but it's the flagship of the resort. People unfamiliar with the property hardly know this restaurant is here, it's overshadowed by the bars but the seating is window-side with beautiful lake views and a nice quiet atmosphere.

My husband and I are regular snowbirds to the property and have been staying here for about 7 years so we've seen a lot of changes. This review compiles several visits to the restaurant in December 2012.

Our visit today was for dinner and we had to try the house special, a seafood chowder which was a creation of Chef John Andreola. Holy Moly it was a-mazing! You've GOT to try this. At $12 a bowl it is a meal, full of beautiful fresh shrimp, lump crab and scallops in a cream base with celery and potatoes. We ordered a portion just to try it and we got the rest 'to go'. Our dinners were the California salad and Chopped salad. Both salads had nice fresh crisp greens with dressing on the side. Mine, the California salad could have benefited by the addition of just a little bit of fruit for an acid balance but the seafood was fresh tasting and generous in portion. My husband loved his chopped salad with the grilled chicken breast. Other items on the menu are varied: There's the ever popular shrimp wrap and several styles of Kobe burgers as well as a Kobe steaks, pasta selections, pizza and other goodies to delight the palate. The food here has improved 100% from last year. Two nights ago my husband tried the Sweet Hot Berry Chicken Wings and he claims he's found a new favorite, they're a welcomed change from the traditional wings and very popular.

We have also tried the filet Mignon with baked garnet yam and vegetable and the roasted jalapeno sauce was a nice compliment to the meat. The appetizer of Mahi tacos was only so-so (IMO..could have been better with a nice lime cilantro aoli and cabbage instead of limp lettuce) but let's face it: I am pretty picky when it comes to food LOL Generally the food has greatly improved. They offer a steak sandwich which is very good also.

If you're local and haven't tried the food here recently you really owe it to yourself to come give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WYO_Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service and management response left much to be desired....won't be bacl”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

A group of 12 made a reservation for Dec 1 to view the annual boat light parade. Sadly, the entire evening was a disaster. While we had planned to have cocktails and dinner as we watched the parade, we didn't even make it past our cocktail order to realize things were not going to go well. Our waitress was less than qualified and when our order was delivered by another server, half of the order was wrong and some of the order simply wasn't there. We waited about 20 minutes before one member of our party went to the bar and reordered for those who had not received drinks. We lterally never saw this waitress again for the entire time we were there. There were some appetizers ordered to have with our drinks before the actual dinner and sadly....we just gave up, asked for our check, paid for what we had eaten and left before dinner. We did speak to Thomas, we're assuming he was the manager on duty and his response was less than enthusiastic. Needless to say we were extremely disappointed, especially since we'd done the same event last year and had a wonderful evening. Don't think we'll be back to the Turtle Grill anytime soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Turtle grill disaster”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

While visting Lake Havasu, we looked online for happy hour specials, and found the Turtle grill.
When we showed up we were told happy hour changed from 2-5 to 4-6, after showing the web page, I was told the restaurant was under new management and again was treated like this is my fault. Shortly we were told the manager(bartender behind the bar) said he would honor it. We ordered and the waitress had to come over 3 times to make sure she got the right drinks. now mind you we had 3 kids and 3 adults, not but 3 drinks, 2 cokes and a water. the food was slow and cold, the waitress was unfriendly and the manager stayed behind the counter. we get the bill with a $3 discount and was told all out appetizers weren't on the happy hour menu( in which we were never provided with to begin with.. oh and the best part we got slammed with an 18% gratuity charge, which they did not deserve....I go to Lake Havasu every month and I will never go there ever again, the worst experience ever...

    • Value
    • Service
2 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
275 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Everything wonderful except the staff”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Our food was excellent. Kobe burgers, ribs, and eggplant quesadilla. The waterfront views are beautiful.

However, nobody noticed us when we walked in and at first we thought they were closed. Then we were given the worst table in the place despite the place being empty. I think this is because I had three children with me, ages 9, 12, and 14. It was a Sunday and there were several games on, but we were sat near a broken tv with poor view of working ones.

They were out of a lot of menu items. It was our first time here, but the waitress never mentioned it was happy hour. I saw it on the flip chart table centerpiece after we had placed our order. It took a half hour to get our food, despite clearly being the only order going.

For dessert? We didn't order dessert because we could hear two people yelling at each other in the kitchen.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SeaJenniTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Turtle Grille also viewed

Lake Havasu City, AZ

Been to The Turtle Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing