We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Olifants”
Review of Olifants Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olifants Rest Camp
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Trip to Olifants”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great place but would be even better if it had a swimming pool :) The service at the restaurants was lacking, they didn't know half the products they were selling - on the menu there was Veggie Burgers / But no restaurant had stock of Veggie patties - they did however replace it with a hash brown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 514samanthab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    292
    159
    42
    13
See reviews for
170
412
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

For the value, you cannot beat Olifants. Its clean and cheap. We visited almost all of the restcamps and we are happy to say that we were happy we chose Olifants. It's setting is unlike all the other SANS park restcamps. It sits up on a bluff at a bend in the river. At sundown, you can hear the haunting sound of life and death in the wild. The food is edible. In other words, it will keep you from experiencing starvation. They had an adequate little market that had a decent assortment of beers and ciders. There is no tv, which honestly is throwback style. That reality encourages card games and reading. Besides, we woke up when the gates opened around 5AM and cruised all day throughout the park and got back when the gates closed at 6PM. By that time, all you want to do is eat and go to bed anyway. I booked this locale for three nights, part of a five night stay in Kruger during our Honeymoon in South Africa. She was a bit surprised to see two single beds in our hut, but sometimes you just got to git'r done.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhemp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg , South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Olifants for two nights - if you want the best view book unit 14 !!! it is a two bedroom unit ( 4 single beds) . Very well equipped and very clean . The Camp itself is very well maintained and staff are friendly. Sunset drive lived up to our expectations - a fanatsic leopard sighting and many more night loving animals.

Room Tip: Unit 14 - or any of the two sleepers with a view over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bathawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Spending four nights there in march, and enjoyed it. Olifants is a good starting point for day trips in the area. We did self catering, and we had dinner in the restaurant. Food there were not that interesting, but the view from the restaurant, over the river, and the sound of the hippos in the evening, makes up for the food.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Olifants rest camp in Kruger park is the host to the most wonderful views of the Olifants river where you can watch nature at its best. You can watch all the animals appearing at the river bank during the day, having a drink and a wash and then slowly disappearing again amongst the trees. Accommodation is basic but very clean with good aircon. Fridges are outside the units - might be an idea to put a chair up against your fridge as there is a monkey who likes to explore! good shop for gifts, nice restaurant and very friendly staff. Sunset drives and morning walks are a must. I would suggest staying 2 nights at any camp you stay at.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have been visiting the Kruger National Park for many years. Olifants is still my favorate camp. The scenery is stunning @ the staff quite helpfull. The accomodation is so so & the on site restaurant sub standard. If you are traveling from abroad this camp should be on your list! (Due to the scenery)

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Although I have been to Kruger national Park many times before. This was a first to stay at Olifants Rest Camp. The lady at reception on check in was very polite and most informative. We stayed in chalet 18, with two bedrooms each with two single beds. The bathroom was a seperate unit between the bedrooms with a seperate toilet, which we did appreciate!! The kitchen area was outside on the balcony with plenty of space to sit and relax. The view of the Olifants River was magnificent and the birdlife was great. We will definately go back and enjoy this piece of paradise

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally312633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
8.9 mi away
Letaba Rest Camp
Letaba Rest Camp
#10 of 13 in Kruger National Park
383 reviews
94.5 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#75 of 172 in Kruger National Park
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#105 of 172 in Kruger National Park
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.6 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#120 of 172 in Kruger National Park
39 reviews
114.4 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#57 of 172 in Kruger National Park
139 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp
#17 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olifants Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olifants Rest Camp

Property: Olifants Rest Camp
Address: 83 km from Phalaborwa Gate | Olifants River, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 172 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests that visit Olifants will be exposed to an unforgettable window of Africa. The camp is situated a top a hill which towers several hundred feet over the Olifants river. Views from the lookout platforms allow one to see the river below, just as a soaring eagle would survey it, as it hunts from the skies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olifants Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing