We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rushing waters soothe you to sleep...”
Review of Olifants Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olifants Rest Camp
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rushing waters soothe you to sleep...”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

So many places to choose from! It's difficult to choose a camp in Kruger - there are so many choices! First I would say make a list of what is important to you. For us, that list would include: less people, beautiful natural landscapes readily viewable, clean accomodation, remote but not TOO remote.

Olifants met the criteria! Some people knock it as being too far or lackluster in terms of nearby animals but I thought it was great. It's up on a hill over the Olifants river so you don't have to worry about flooding (which WAS an issue for other nearby camps). It's a bit further north in Kruger so not as many people are up there which is a plus for us. Past Satara the traffic and people significantly decrease which we appreciated.

The hut itself was awesome! We got a perimeter hut (this is a must!) which means it had a view of the river AND the rushing waters of the river soothed us to sleep at night. The huts have air conditioning (modern ones too) which is great, kitchenette with just enough to get you by, great new shower/bathroom etc. The only complaint is that there are few knicks here and there that could be touched up quite easily. Just some more routing maintenance would make this a 4 star accomodation.

We loved sitting on our little patio for dinner or in the morning, watching the river, and relaxing.

As for wildlife - just 1.5 km from the entrance to Olifants we saw a pack of 5 Lions!!! Twice! And they were just walking on the road! And then we saw a small herd of elephants - about 10 of them including a juvenile and a baby who was nursing. All within 1.5 km of where we were sleeping. And the road up to Olifants from Satara has a ton of diversity - crocodiles by the bridge, we saw a rhino, hippos, hyenas, etc. No shortage of animals. (We spent 2 nights here and saw EVERYTHING in that span of time).

We did not eat at the restaurant but opted to bring in our own food. The marketplace at Olifants is a bit smaller than Satara or Skukuza but still has a good variety. if you really want to stock up and have more to choose from I recommend stopping at Skukuza or Satara on your way up to Olifants.

Room Tip: Definitely opt for a perimeter view bungalow. If you go onto the SAN Parks website and search for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rdhdfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    300
    169
    45
    13
See reviews for
177
429
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2013

NIce Camp in the middle of Kruger Park. We had a big hut with nive view over the river. Hut was fully equiped with kitchen and barbecue. The room was clean. The best of the hotel was the view from the restaurant over the river. The sunset was magical with hippos fighting, elefants crossing the river, girafs drinking... Amazing

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Olifants was better than the two previous camps we stayed in (visited Jan 2013), the hut had a stunning view over the river (number 8, but 9 &12 are very good and if you are sharing 14). The hut like all of the parks is old fashioned and could do with a makeover, but it's adequate, AC worked, shower worked, clean, bed linen clean better stocked china, glass and cutlery than Skukuza and Pretoriaskop, but that's not saying much. Food in the restaurant was very unimaginative like all the other camps, but it was well cooked at least and the service was fine. We didn't see very much wildlife but that's the chance you take and we didn't take any tours as we were driving our own car around. This camp doesn't have a pool which is a shame but the shop was tidy and and good display of merchandise but almost exactly the same as all the other shops in the park - a bit boring. The temperature was over 40 degrees but there was no AC on in the restaurant only the fans and no food on the carvery or salad bar, they didn't appear to be used anymore. Like all the camps in the Krugar, they are not managed or maintained properly and are going downhill. A shame as in all other respects staying in the park is a unique and wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Huts 8,9,12 &14 are all very good and have a superb view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjksurrey58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
2,371 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 981 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We first visited Kruger in 1998 thus it had been 15 years sine our last visit. The upkeep of the park has deteriorated, the food has just about reached rock bottom, however there have been significant increases in the estimated population of some of the animals. This in spite of the fact that poachers continue to enter the park and kill animals. This is an area that the government is keen on and we saw several rangers on their way to areas to check on poachers. There are also rewards posted throughout the park for apprehensions.

The cabins at Olifant are about the same as we found at the other park locations were we went or stayed. Upkeep is not all that good and some things did not work very well. For example the air conditioning struggles in many of the cabins and proceed only minimal air conditioning. Towels are about worn out and need to be replaced. I don't think we had a single cabin where there wasn't a leaking water faucet, pipe or commode. In several of the cabins the windows would not close as the catches were broken or just completely missing.

Go to the park with a feeling that you are camping and don't expect modern consciences and you will be just fine. Check in is sometimes a challenge as the clerks are real bureaucrats and want every line and box checked and they take their very slow time to check in each customer even though one has previously prepaid.

The real excitement though is in the animal sightings and around Olifant we saw it all from a Leopard kill to Lions and Hyenas sleeping in the road.This camp does not have near the traffic issues that one will encounter in the south and north of this camp the traffic is even better. Many of the day safaris come in at one of the south entrances and don't go a great distance as they must leave the park by closing time. Thus traffic is always an issue.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texaswillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our Chevy Cruz rental was more than adequate for Kruger paved and dirt roads. The animals are wonderful, of course. Don't miss the huge Baobab. Our favourite camp was Oliphant, where we had a rondavel overlooking the river. From our outside kitchen, we watched an elephant, a hippo, and several antelope cross this magnificent river as the sun dipped toward the horizon.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rik214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The perimeter cottages have an amazing view of the river, but you are exposed and high up. The wind really got up overnight so didnt get much rest as I thought the roof was going to take off. A less modern restcamp than Skukuza but still adequate. Restaurant had a good variety of mealy and a sofa area. Godd central location in the park. We were self driving in the park

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bex3165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuevo, CA
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have been to Kruger many times but this was my 1st time at Olifants. It is one of the most peaceful camps in the park. The bird life in camp was great, and the view looking out over the Olifants river cannot be beat. We stayed two nights here as a group of 8. Some of the party stayed in bungalow 18 which has a large balcony over looking the river. We self catered and did not try the restaurant. We did book a bush braai and I have to say it was one of the highlights of our trip.

If you are planning a stay in the central part of Kruger then Olifants is a must!

Room Tip: Book a bungalow with a view of the river. It is definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deamole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
67.5 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
383 reviews
94.5 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#73 of 174 in Kruger National Park
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#109 of 174 in Kruger National Park
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.6 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#129 of 174 in Kruger National Park
44 reviews
114.4 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#52 of 174 in Kruger National Park
154 reviews
59.8 mi away
Rukiya Safari Camp
Rukiya Safari Camp
#85 of 174 in Kruger National Park
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olifants Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olifants Rest Camp

Property: Olifants Rest Camp
Address: 83 km from Phalaborwa Gate | Olifants River, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests that visit Olifants will be exposed to an unforgettable window of Africa. The camp is situated a top a hill which towers several hundred feet over the Olifants river. Views from the lookout platforms allow one to see the river below, just as a soaring eagle would survey it, as it hunts from the skies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olifants Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing