We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the great views in Africa”
Review of Olifants Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olifants Rest Camp
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Overlooking the Oliphants river, looking over endless miles of bush strectching to the north and Mozambique, our two nights offered tranquility and beauty our 8 day trip to the Kruger. There's also a great viewing platform and cafe/restaurant (which we didn't sample except for drinks). Friendly and efficient staff, not the case in Satara and Skukhuza, a good shop and the whole camp well presented. The rondeval's kitchen had seen better days but our brais overlooking that bend in the river made us forget all that.
Most if not all of the sand roads nearby, which usually offer fantastic game viewing were closed for repair after the recent storms but heroic efforts are being made throughout the park to repair them. Check the website carefully if you're going soon. The bungalows overlooking the river are at a premium so book very early (or check for cancellations for visits about now if you're prepared to travel a bit further for your game drives).

Room Tip: Try, along with everyone else, to get a room overlooking the river, preferably by the perimeter fenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elpee182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (803)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 804 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2012

Olifants is located up on a hill overlooking a river. You can see/hear the hippos in the river. Compared to some of the other camps it is quieter/smaller. Like most of the park accommodation, the huts are fairly basic, but clean. The shop is pretty decent. We did not eat at the restaurant, and instead cooked our own food. The restaurant food that we did see in the park was quite basic/unhealthy so we were glad that we brought our own food. We had a fridge & a braai. There are electric stoves in communal kitchen areas.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSP23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

The camp is perched on the cliff overlooking the olifants. Binoculars are a must. The rooms are basic but you can upgrade. You have to remember you are staying in the middle of a national park not in a city. The rooms were clean however and the mattresses were average. You didn't have to go far to see lots what with the river near by. There are morning drives and walks at all camps but the morning drive here was excellent. The great thing about the morning drive is you set out before everyone else and because the weather is still cool the animals are very active. For anywhere in Kruger a good camera is a must if you want to make the most of it. We took my Grandad's 550d which a large zoom which was perfect. My mum's normal digital camera was useless with only a 4x zoom on it. Overall a good location in Kruger but my best advise is to stay at this camp (or at least one of the northern camps) for 3days or so and then stay in a southern camp for 3days or so because this way you can see most of the park and different terrains.

Room Tip: Try to get one as close to the cliff edge as possible as here you can look over the Olifants River w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

After visiting Gomo Gomo private game reserve, Olifants was disappointing for several reasons. From our experience, the water hole is where you tend to see the animals, especially elephants, in the afternoon. The water hole at Olifants (which means elephants) was so far away we not only didn't see any of the Big 5 but would have needed to use our binoculars to have a chance at spotting any animals at all. It was a beautiful view of the river, but don't expect get a good look at the animals.
When we went on the group safari. The meeting time for the morning safari was at 3:45am. We were in a large bus type vehicle with a top. Luckily, the vehicle only had 7 people on it, including ourselves, so being able to view the animals and stand to take pictures was easy. We had to stay on the main roads, but to our surprise, we saw lions, rhinos, even a hyena with her baby pups. Our tour operator was extremely wise and explained interesting facts about each animal and bird we saw.
Because we took 2 of our teenagers, we had 2 bungalows side by side. They were clean, for the most part, but comfortable with a beautiful view of the river but (see above) it was far, far away!
But to be fair, this was our only experience with staying in a lodge within the park itself.
I definitely recommend staying at a private lodge that's part of greater Kruger if at all possible. With no electric fences and being able to go off road, the excitement is palpable!

Room Tip: Be sure and ask for a room on the outer border with a view of the river, a MUST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank braizes8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We stayed in a rondavel overlooking the Olifants River, the view was absolutely stunning! Although the room itself was very simple and in need for a modern refurbishment! The onsite restaurant wasn't great.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Olifants camp is one of my favourite restcamps in the Kruger Park. The camp is built on a rocky outcrop overlooking the Olifants river meandering towards Mozambique.

The renovated restaurant 'Tree Top' is good, and also with the magnificent view.

On clear days, looking westward you can see the Transvaal Drakensberg mountain range of Hoedspruit! As the crow flies this is about 130 kilometres unspoilt views!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amukelaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Olifants really is my favourite camp and apart from the far north camps in the park, we've stayed at them all at some time or another.

The bungalows are pretty much the same all over, basic but clean and next time we really will choose a bungalow with a view as I'd forgotten how absolutely stunning Olifants is and in particular the most amazing view.

This time we arrived by the road across the river (S90) and were so lucky to see two male elephants grazing right next to the bridge. Previously on another visit in 2000, this whole area was completely flooded with the river just flowing over the bridge.

The restaurant is much the same as elsewhere (same menu) with the exception of this amazing view. Watching the giraffe's, elephants and baby elephants and hearing the hippos is just so wonderful and we feel so privileged to be there.

The supermarket is good with a fair choice of food including some T bone steak for R40-50 and some reasonable wines.

We also did a nightdrive from Olifants, which out of all the things we had done from Sunrise Drive, Morning Walks and other Nightdrives, sadly this really was the worst. The driver/guide was really not interested and you felt like you didn't want to say you'd seen something because he didn't want to stop.

Maybe Olifants doesn't have quite the variety of animals such as Satara or Lower Sabie but the view and the sunsets more than make up for this lacking. This time though, we saw so many elephants with their little cute babies. We were just so lucky!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HowzatCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
67.5 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#3 of 13 in Kruger National Park
410 reviews
94.5 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#69 of 176 in Kruger National Park
118 reviews
59.8 mi away
Rukiya Safari Camp
Rukiya Safari Camp
#81 of 176 in Kruger National Park
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
114.4 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#49 of 176 in Kruger National Park
180 reviews
39.6 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#124 of 176 in Kruger National Park
61 reviews
42.0 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#58 of 176 in Kruger National Park
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olifants Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olifants Rest Camp

Address: 83 km from Phalaborwa Gate | Olifants River, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: $79 - $1,326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests that visit Olifants will be exposed to an unforgettable window of Africa. The camp is situated a top a hill which towers several hundred feet over the Olifants river. Views from the lookout platforms allow one to see the river below, just as a soaring eagle would survey it, as it hunts from the skies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olifants Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing