We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite camp in Kruger”
Review of Olifants Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olifants Rest Camp
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Olifants really is my favourite camp and apart from the far north camps in the park, we've stayed at them all at some time or another.

The bungalows are pretty much the same all over, basic but clean and next time we really will choose a bungalow with a view as I'd forgotten how absolutely stunning Olifants is and in particular the most amazing view.

This time we arrived by the road across the river (S90) and were so lucky to see two male elephants grazing right next to the bridge. Previously on another visit in 2000, this whole area was completely flooded with the river just flowing over the bridge.

The restaurant is much the same as elsewhere (same menu) with the exception of this amazing view. Watching the giraffe's, elephants and baby elephants and hearing the hippos is just so wonderful and we feel so privileged to be there.

The supermarket is good with a fair choice of food including some T bone steak for R40-50 and some reasonable wines.

We also did a nightdrive from Olifants, which out of all the things we had done from Sunrise Drive, Morning Walks and other Nightdrives, sadly this really was the worst. The driver/guide was really not interested and you felt like you didn't want to say you'd seen something because he didn't want to stop.

Maybe Olifants doesn't have quite the variety of animals such as Satara or Lower Sabie but the view and the sunsets more than make up for this lacking. This time though, we saw so many elephants with their little cute babies. We were just so lucky!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HowzatCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
There are newer reviews for Olifants Rest Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 770 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

The lodges were a bit on the small side, but comfortable beds. No tools provided to make a braai, so we ate in the restuarant, this was a bit on the pricey side for not the best quality food. Although we complained about the food the waiter just shrugged his shoulders at us, the plus side was that we could have a drink while watching the animals come to the river, stunning view.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleGeniusHeathrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Olifants is a well run camp with good facilities and many diverse events to chose from like star watching lessons and walks etc. Some of the path ways a little unkempt but overall an excellent camp in the Kruger park, We visit at least every 2 years to stay and once a year on our travels through the park. Its location on the top of the hill overlooking the river valley is amazing and you just relax and enjoy watching the animals below. It does not have a pool so a 30km trip to Letaba camp should you want to cool off in summer.

Room Tip: Always try for a river view with its own kitchen and braai area.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennisRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Like the other camp inside Kruger this camp offers confortable bungalows and good service. The very best thing of this place is tre beautiful view.
The camp in on a hill and at the sunset you can see the savannah and a river down the hill tha became yellow, orange and red... Great!
We visit this place in August 2009 and in this period the bush around the hill had colours of the autumn... very strange in the savannah!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angio80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We were here for 2 nights in the BDV2 room (Room with a river view). The location of
the room is fantastic. Kruger NP's accommodation overall is amazing ... even more so
since it's a government run place. Highly recommended.
Mammal watching-wise, I would grade Satara as the best, Lower Sabie next & Olifants last (the 3 camps I stayed in)
Birdwatching-wise, all 3 are equally fantastic.

Cons:
Our room had a couple of steps to climb down from where you park the car. If you have a
bit of heavy luggage as we did, it could be slightly bothersome.

Pros:
Really fantastic view.
The kitchen had all the basics in place.
Room was extremely clean.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nips_manny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

The Kruger National park is fantastic. It is a huge reserve, larger than Vermont, 50mile wide, and 200 miles long. Within the park are many rest camps (similar to to those we have in Americas National Parks) as well as private luxurious Safari Camps and Reserves that many from the USA book for their African Safari.

Our interests are in the "do-it yourself" kind of Safari not the "Tour group" kind. If you want to know more about how to arrange your own Safari start with http://www.african-safari-journals.com/guide-your-own-safari.html. This on-line book was worth many times the $20 cost!

So, if you want to stay in Luxury Accommodations on your African Safari my review is not for you. Now on to the Olifants rest camp.

Like all the large rest camps in Kruger, this one contains a wide range of accommodations.
There are campsites, trailer sites, simple sleeping accommodations, up to semi-luxury cottages with kitchens. Also in the rest camps are small grocery stores, a restaurant, and various other amenities such as pools, laundry facilities, and the like.

We stayed in one of the perimeter cottages with a kitchen. By perimeter we mean that the location is on the outer edge of the camp next to the electrified fence that keeps out the more dangerous wildlife. No matter what camp you stay in, pay the extra 10% for the perimeter units. You are there for the wildlife, not hordes of people.

We booked a river view cottage that had a spectacular setting on the cliff 200' above the river. The cottage itself was better than most we stayed at in Kruger. The camp had a more intimate feel, and we felt it much smaller than it actually was. Sipping a glass of wine on the veranda at sunset just made the day.

We drove our own car and typically were out viewing animals an average of 10hours/day. The advantages of being in your own car and not on an open tour vehicle are many. As your own driver you can stop anywhere at any time to get the best viewing. You go at your own pace and stay as long as you like if some type of wild life is taking your fancy. You can bring food and drink with you and turn on the air conditioning when necessary. Think Yellowstone,cars, and bears and you get the idea. (in Kruger the car jams are much smaller and often you may be the first one there). By the way, do not forget the birds. There are so many and they can occupy your time between the sightings of the bigger wildlife.

From this camp you could drive to two different river bridges where you are allowed out of your vehicle. These rivers are very wide and always seem to have Hippos and Crocs in them. Lots of elephants wandering about as well.

You are only allowed outside the rest camp from 5am to 6pm. You can only get out of the car at designated places for obvious reasons. You can book a night drive tour at the camp and we do recommend doing at least one of these while you are in the Kruger. You can also book three day hiking Safaris where you are truly out in the wild with just 8 other folks, and two armed tour guides. Check out the South Africa National Park website for all the Kruger has to offer. You can book all your accommodations as well. If you want the better cottages on the perimeter book well in advance. The Kruger is popular.

ust to summarize. The Kruger rest camps like Olifants provide the best value if you are on any kind of budget. We are talking $100/night accommodations, cooking your own food, and driving your own car.

Make sure your rental car is an automatic and has air conditioning. No need for a 4 wheel drive as the roads are quite good in the park.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank TheJohnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We found our Olifants bungalow to be quite comfortable. The heating/air conditioning unit worked well and warmed us up quick, even during our unseasonably cold August stay. The place was clean and well lit. The beds were decidedly mediocre, but after a long day (early morning walk and then driving about) it was easy to fall asleep anyway. The views from the restaurant over the river were excellent and the food was perfectly fine for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank occasionaladventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#108 of 175 in Kruger National Park
465 reviews
94.5 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#70 of 175 in Kruger National Park
106 reviews
39.6 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#131 of 175 in Kruger National Park
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
114.4 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#47 of 175 in Kruger National Park
165 reviews
59.8 mi away
Rukiya Safari Camp
Rukiya Safari Camp
#81 of 175 in Kruger National Park
56 reviews
42.0 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#54 of 175 in Kruger National Park
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olifants Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olifants Rest Camp

Address: 83 km from Phalaborwa Gate | Olifants River, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: $87 - $650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests that visit Olifants will be exposed to an unforgettable window of Africa. The camp is situated a top a hill which towers several hundred feet over the Olifants river. Views from the lookout platforms allow one to see the river below, just as a soaring eagle would survey it, as it hunts from the skies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olifants Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing