We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pretoriuskop Restcamp
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Excellent value for money if you consider a self-drive and self-catering holiday. The National Park staff is very friendly and efficient. The cafeteria and restaurant was a disappointment. Good animal sightings in the area including the big five.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    140
    133
    21
    14
See reviews for
99
158
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This camp is close to the Numbi gate which makes it a good choice for people coming in late or who would like to leave early. This is a clean & well maintained camp & the rooms are pretty decent too. We stayed in a hut which was clean & had a good air conditioning unit too along with a refrigerator! There are a few animals around. - but do not expect a whole lot. Than camps inside the park may not have five star facilities but if you want to have a real experience in the wild, these are the camps to be in. The camp guides are very helpful & we also took a sunset drive -- saw some Rhino & some buffalo but it was good. Accommodation is usually available even at the last minute - which makes it a good choice when you have not pee-booked well in advance. Highly recommendable & true value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunter1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

A peaceful, well maintined rest camp, close to Nimbi gate, fully equiped lodges with good airconditioning and impala's and monkies wondering around on the premaces. Nice swimmingpool, modest restaurant and shop to cater for simple meals. Be not too late to get some meat for the bbq as the stock is limited.

Room Tip: Ask for a lodge facing the grass feeld next to the swimming pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phalaborwa, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Look, it has to be said that this is the oldesst camp in Kruger. That being said it was basic but enjoyable and well maintained, no issues.

If you are a wildlife enthusiast then this is your camp since the huts are cheaper than both bungalows & permanent tents and they offer an air condtioner as well as a fridge!

Wildlife not so abundant but you can drive around and find them at least.

Overall...good value for money and affordable I might add

Room Tip: Ask for the hut with electricity and that is stand-alone, not joined.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiPWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Pretoriuskop Rest Camp, from reading other reviews, has a bit of a reputation for not having much game around. On our second day returning to our accommodation at the P. Joubert Guest House within Pretoriuskop Rest Camp, we were stopped by a small herd of elephant in front and behind us, on the road, not very willing to let us in! So it is difficult to predict where you will see game and that is part of the fun of keeping eyes peeled. We really enjoyed staying at this guest house, as it is quite luxurious, sleeping a max of 16 and being very comfortable. There were guinea fowl in our garden area and birds to view. We left in the morning for drives and arrived late afternoon, so did not expect to see much game around the rest camp. We found the people in reception friendly and willing to help when we needed something. I would recommend trying to get accommodation viewing the perimeter if you can as it has a lovely sense of peace and you forget that you are in civilization!

Room Tip: I recommend choosing accommodation facing the perimeter of the rest camp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had a couple of nights at this camp and the overall experience was good. I think the camp itself is well maintained although it is an old camp. The pool area was quite nice and really felt like being in the wild. I am not sure if I was unlucky but in terms of game viewing it wasn´t much, had much better luck around other areas of the park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sofia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This place certainly didn't blow our minds as the best lodge in the world however it ticked all the boxes for us. We were on an Encounters Travel tour and it was a clean, well located camp with all the facilities you could hope for. We had seen some reviews about its location being average for animal sightings but we must have gotten lucky. We stayed for 2 nights and did 3 game drives and managed to see a plethora of animals including Hyena, Elephant, Rhino, Buffalo, Black Mamba, Ground Horn Bill and many many others. We only missed out on a leopard :(

Room Tip: if you want to have a swim ask for a room near the pool, otherwise you could be in for a long walk a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danniell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#108 of 174 in Kruger National Park
440 reviews
41.4 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#75 of 174 in Kruger National Park
96 reviews
18.9 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#30 of 174 in Kruger National Park
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp
#17 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tented Adventures Pretoriuskop
Tented Adventures Pretoriuskop
#120 of 174 in Kruger National Park
11 reviews
48.2 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#121 of 174 in Kruger National Park
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pretoriuskop Restcamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pretoriuskop Restcamp

Property: Pretoriuskop Restcamp
Address: Voortrekker Road, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Pretoriuskop Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing