We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality - Luxurious Lodge fantastic gave viewing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Its hard to beat a spot where you are in absolutely luxurious accommodation with such genuinely friendly people - have the game walk past the front gate - and have a resident team who run the Lukimbi there to see you are comfortable in every way. You are overlooking the game reserve - with a private swimmng pool and you see a variety of game - including the resident crocodile.

The extra fine touch was to return to your room to see that there was a hot bath waiting for you when you got back from dinner!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 454 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2012

We have stayed at Lukimbi Lodge for 3 days and can definetely say: Every day spent here was worth it and absolutely perfect. The staff is very friendly and was very much concerned of our welfare throughout all times.
Our suite was very spacious, clean and staff really pays attention to detail (loved the bed time stories!!!). From the veranda you have a great view and we were actually very close to the game: one day 2 leopards crossed our suite and the other day a herd of 30 elephants passed the lodge and enjoyed some water in the riverbed just infront of the veranda.
The game drives with our ranger Nick and tracker Stranger - both an absolute dreamteam which did not leave any question on flora/fauna unanswered- were just perfect and we really got addicted to it. Every game drive was different and exciting and we got so close to the animals that we quite often simply wanted to touch them. There was actually no day where Nick and Stranger did not find lions for us. Bushwalks later the day were not even less exciting and sitting on the rocks whilst watching the hippos watching and yawning at us will remain an unforgettable experience for us. Not to forget the food which is being served at the lodge: This was absolutely marvellous!!
We have started to miss Lukimbi and their friendly staff already after we have waved good-bye to the team. Though Lukimbi was at the very start of our SouthAfrica trip we already knew on the day we have left the lodge that this was the very best part of our stay: Lukimbi team has made our vacation that special and unforgettable!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvCa112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

When planning a safari in South Africa, the metro New York travel agents recommended the same set of top shelf properties. However our booking was done by a South African company and they suggested Lukimbi. Trip Advisor comments gave me the courage to try the lodge. It was an easy hour or so drive from Nespruit airport to Kruger and then on to the Lodge.
While pricey in comparison to some, it was still only half what the other world class properties charge. This was a world class safari experience for 3 nights starting February 24th. The Lodge and furnishings are strikingly beautiful, yet complimentary to the savannah. The 16 rooms are acessed via a raised walkway and are private, large and uniquely decorated with crafts. The spacious bath includes a free standing tub in front of a floor to ceiling window onto the grasslands, with a huge fabric bench, double sink, outdoor shower and CR products. We spent a little additional to book one of the 2 rooms with a private small outdoor pool. While I never sighted more than impala, the view was wonderful.
The routine common to many lodges is followed here. Wake up call at 5 am, into the Land rover with one other couple, stopping for tea and a return by 9am, followed by an extensive buffet and hot individually ordered items. Bush walks available with 2 armed guides in the afternoon. Gourmet lunch served, followed by 2nd game drive at 4 pm, stopping for sundowners, and followed by delicious dinner. Food and presentation could compete with any top city restaurant. Some options were quite exotic, springbock, ostrich kebab,quail on toasted brioche, Kebeljou line fish.
The game, abundant and sighted in great number during each outing led by our well versed guide Gideon and his partner tracker KK, who sits on a chair affixed to the top of the hood of the Land rover. Lukimbi is on the largest private concession in Kruger and has bush roads that can only be used by their vehicles. So many animals let us invade their personal space and quietly sit and observe. It is not for the faint of heart, as the rifle affixed to the dash can be of limited value. Gideon seemed to have a 6th sense of where to find the game and we saw them all. One elephant was caught in the headlights of our lantern on a return trip. He had been munching on a tree at the side of the road. He expressed his displeasure by vigorously flapping his ears, churning up the tree as though a storm was passing through, and then capping it off with a bellow.
The staff is there to please. Managers Sean and Shelley, Sarah and Mariska at reception and chefs Kaitlin and Mark all observe hosptiality best practices and are flexible, knowledgeable and easy going.
It was a dream of a trip at a first class property.

Room Tip: Decide how close you want to be to the lodge. Unless you are a real loner, close is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheriSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Loved this place. Simply fantastic and hard to find fault with anything. We stayed here as a part of a group for two days – to be honest we had been due to go to Mala Mala and were looking forward to that, but it was closed after local flooding – however people in our group who had stayed there before said although it was great, Lukimbi was even better and a much more ‘authentic’ feel.

Where to start – the rooms (lodges) are massive, lovely beds, nice lounge area, huge bathrooms with view over the bush (lots of animal sightings from out sun loungers on our patio) and an outdoor shower which we used (separately) while watching elephants just a 100 yards away. Everything totally clean. TV with English channels – but we didn’t even switch it on. Good mosquito protection around the bed and plenty of sprays provided (actually not needed as didn’t see, or hear, a single one during our stay!). The lodges are well spaced out, however, and we were a five minute walk from the centre of the complex. At night you are advised not to walk alone to your lodge – due to potential animal activity. We were accompanied on both nights by one of the staff who was incredibly knowledgeable about the stars – gave us quite a lecture. Very interesting. We felt very safe throughout our entire stay – warthogs in the grounds during the day, no problem!!. There is a pool with sun loungers – but this is not one of the strengths of Lukimbi. There is also a small library (with free internet access) and a shop with limited souvenirs available.

The people at Lukimbi are incredibly friendly and helpful. Actually some of the best we have ever encountered on all our trips. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfasts were magnificent, with a huge choice of hot and cold food. In the evening (or lunchtime) drinks from the bar were, very reasonably priced. The food at dinner was really excellent, well better than that actually – you’d pay a very considerable sum in the UK for this quality of food. The first night we were there we had a barbeque – bit dark and ,maybe a little difficult to see what you were eating, but my warthog chops and impala steak were great!

The game drives were unbelievably fantastic, so close to the animals. Great guides and trackers (Sean you have a great team), incredibly knowledgeable and we were lucky enough to see just about everything - lions, elephants, rhinos, jackals, buffalos, hippos, zebras, giraffes, crocodiles, leopards, warthogs, monkeys and baboons, impala and all sort of antelopes a plenty and lots more. Huge array of birds, from birds of prey to incredibly attractive and coloured varieties. Lots of smaller game plus the odd spider, not to forget the huge anthills! Sun downer drinks unforgettable experience. The best thing was seeing a whole pride of lions, including cubs, feeding after a night hunting expedition. Not to mention the leopard in a tree at night.

It’s not quite like being in a ‘real’ city centre five star hotel as it’s a little ‘rustic’ – but that was more than half the attraction. It’s also very expensive – but you really do get what you pay for. It felt a really authentic experience and a trip of a lifetime (until we go back in a few years). If you are considering a trip to the Kruger do this and you will have memories for a lifetime. We felt very privileged to be there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank severus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We went as a group to Lukimbi as the lodge originally booked was affected by floods. Naturally we were a little concerned that Lukimbi wouldn't be quite as good, but I have to say, it was probably better in most respects. The friendliness shown by all the staff; the spaciousness and cleanliness of the rooms; the relaxing 'feel' of the lodge; the gorgeous food ( Caitlin was the chef and her Eggs Benedict are to die for!!); and best of all the knowledgable/ informative and very amusing ranger (Sean) made this safari the best. Our tracker Stranger was totally brilliant, and we probably had the very best game sightings that anyone could ever hope for. We'd seen at close range the Big Five in the first two hours, and to sit next to the lion, One-Eye, five lionesses and eight cubs as they devoured a just-killed Cape buffalo was a sight I'll never ever forget. So thank you, everyone at Lukimbi, and the greatest thanks to Sean for the fun and the best time ever. To anyone reading this, just GO there and have an amazing experience.

Room Tip: We were on the Warthog(!!) side but it seemed to me that all the rooms were lovely. You could book a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrenKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

4 of us (2 couples) just got back from Lukimbi - it was, in one word, outstanding. The lodge itself was quite luxurious - massive, multi-room independent units, outdoor shower, plenty of privacy, beautiful views all around, and periodic monkeys watching you get ready in the morning. The food was meant to be five star but, I must say, sometimes was lacking in quality - most of it was very heavy too which didn't help (this is basically my only gripe from an otherwise fantastic place).

What I liked most about Lukimbi though didn't have to do with the great service and luxury at the lodge - it was the unique safari experience. We've been on safari in Kenya and, although the driver guide was great, he basically just pointed out animals. With Lukimbi, we got very knowledgeable (and friendly/funny) guides, a tracker sitting on the front of the vehicle trying to find tracks/animals, safari walks through the bush, and just an all-around unique experience. The 15k acre concession means that normal visitors to Kruger Park can't access that land - only those that stay at Lukimbi can which means they also make their own rules and give you a much more tailored experience. The fact that it's a concession (and 5 stars) also means that it's more expensive than other places - you get what you pay for though!

We saw plenty of animals and very much enjoyed the extremely friendly (and patient with a group of four 20-somethings) staff. Would definitely recommend this to newcomers to Africa and those (like us) that have done safaris in E. Africa.

Tips: take bug spray, long pants, hats, close-toed shoes or boots, and plenty of patience (the animals don't always appear on cue).

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank talesofaturkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We just returned (28 of us in our TBE group) from a nearly 3-week trip through South Africa, and our stay at Lukimbi Lodge was certainly one of the highlights! The lodge is stunning... the rooms are spacious, beautifully appointed with luxurious baths (including a lovely outdoor shower overlooking the "bush")... the food was gourmet and absolutely delicious (kudos to Chef Mark) - don't miss his deconstructed Ceasar salad and his avocado and qinuoa salad... the staff were kind and available to our every need... driver guides and trackers were professional and knowledgeable with very keen eyes and noses... and the wildlife was raw, exciting, abundant, and wild! Don't miss this lodge if you are in the Kruger Park area. A real treat!

Should you need any further clarification, please contact us at Teresa Beall Expeditions.

Room Tip: All of the rooms overlook the bush, half are spread out and connected by a long wooden bridge pathwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeresaBeall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
27.9 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#3 of 13 in Kruger National Park
429 reviews
12.7 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#33 of 178 in Kruger National Park
596 reviews
67.1 mi away
Royal Malewane
Royal Malewane
#27 of 178 in Kruger National Park
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53 mi away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#58 of 178 in Kruger National Park
428 reviews
76.7 mi away
Elandela Private Game Reserve
Elandela Private Game Reserve
#62 of 178 in Kruger National Park
389 reviews
53 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#35 of 178 in Kruger National Park
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lukimbi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lukimbi Safari Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park | Malelane Area, Kruger National Park 1320, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 178 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: $981 - $1,115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lukimbi Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lukimbi Safari Lodge is a stunning luxury safari lodge situated in the easily accessible southern portion of the Kruger National Park, South Africa. Kruger is home to the Big Five and a wide variety of other animals and birds, which roam freely in their natural habitat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Lukimbi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lukimbi Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing