We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camp Shonga”
Review of Camp Shonga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camp Shonga
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Camp Shonga”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed one night at this Camp. Some friends of ours had stayed at Camp Shawu and raved about it.. Not wanting to do exactly what they did, we selected Camp Shonga, over that camp and the lodge.

On our morning drive, we were fortunate enough to go pass Camp Shawu and see the differences between the 2 Camps.. Camp Shonga is indeed hidden away, in a bush surroundings, where as Camp Shawu is on a bank of a huge watering hole. Accommodation looked the same style as our own. Camp Shawu has wild life to watch when you are there, were at Camp Shonga, you have a book..

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was incredible, we had so much food put in front of us, we truly couldn't eat it all.

The night drive was a highlight for us both, standing on an African Plain, with the sun setting in the background, having nibbles and wine, was incredible.

The room was fantastically set out, very large and extremely comfortable.

The only cons for this Camp was, that there was a huge tree right in the front of our balcony, so we had NO view at all, not that there really was anything to look at. We ordered white wine for our lunch, and it wasn't cold, so had to add ice to it.. Would be good if they had that in the cool room, as it was a very hot day when we where there.

Given the choice between the 2, it would depend on what you want, an African relaxation time, or watching the animals drink at the watering hole, whilst standing on your own private balcony.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharHugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    18
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durbans South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We recently stayed at Camp Shonga for our honeymoon.( 25 Sept- 28 Sept 2012).

We really feel that we need to thank everyone at the Camp for making sure that our stay was stunning! Everything from the service, the staff, the food, our tented lodge – was just fantastic.

A big compliment must be paid to our guide, Sofiso who was absolutely top class. We have stayed at many private lodges and game reserves and found that he was the best guide we have ever come across. Not only was he our guide but he at that time managed the Camp, made sure we were enjoying ourselves...and even made time to clean the pool! Not being too shabby about our knowledge of the bush ourselves , his knowledge and insight nevertheless astounded us. On the last day we had seen it all- leopard, cheetah, lions...the lot and so we opted to stay in rather than take the last morning drive. Sofiso actually looked disappointed that he could not take us out again. You really have a great asset in Sofiso – hang onto him.

It is a pity that the Camp is not better marketed – (although it was great to be alone for most of the time). We were lucky to stumble across it after searching the internet. It is really a hidden gem. We just couldn’t believe that it is not better known as no one seems to have heard of it in the bush lovers circles here. We think that there must be something lacking in the way it is marketed.

Well done!

Regards

Duncan and Wendy MacNicol
Durban- South Africa

Room Tip: If you are into NO crowds and solitude then get to see this place! The big five on the first day an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My wife, daughter and myself spent 3 wonderful days at Shonga mid-August. Not only did the management make a plan for us to have our daughter at this warm and friendly tented camp, but they then went out of their way to arrange that a friend of mine from Moz could come to Shishangeni to join us for lunch one day, and then had to transport us there and back! Shonga is a quiet, intimate tented camp, with enough facilities to ensure your stay is relaxerd and happy. The staff are all welcoming, helpful, and knowledgable, and although we had no hot water at one stage in our tent, where quick to rectify. Meals in such an out-of-the-way place were imaginative and good, except for the biscuits we had on our morning game drives which were inedible! The game was amazing, and we managed to see the big 5 plus most other animals. Had 3 rangers for 6 game drives, and perhaps a bit of talking about the habitat, folk-lore etc would assist guests as well. Will be back!

Room Tip: All well positioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I visited Camp Shonga with my daughter and some other friends. The visit was all that I imagined and more. The tents are set up beautifully. The food is never ending. The tour guide (Sofiso) was engaging, friendly and knowledgeable. The staff was accommodating and flexible, and always made me feel safe.

Yes, there are flies and bugs, but you are in an isolated camp on safari, so it was nothing that we did not expect. The only issue we had was that it was too relaxing. There was no opportunity to burn off all of the calories that we were eating.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grazemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

My husband and I spent 3 days at camp shonga and loved it! We saw so many elephants we stopped counting. Also hyenas, leopard, hippos, rhinos, zebras, giraffes, and monkeys right outside our porch! The room was beautiful and we especially enjoyed the "treehouse" deck and outside shower. Late September had great weather- no rain, temperatures in the high 70's low 80's. It wasn't yet green, but saw lots of animals. There are only 5 rooms so it always felt private. Food was great at all meals- Henry and staff were welcoming and responsive.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kdsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Thank you to all the kind staff at Camp Shonga! We had an great time and enjoyed every minute of it! Jaluka, our tour guide was excellent! Thank you for making our holiday a memorable one! R&J

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R777_J777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

My business partner and I stayed at Camp Shonga for 3 nights as a reward for hard work over the last 5 years. We were very lucky to be the only 2 people in the camp for 2 of the 3 days we were there. The setting is beautiful, very peaceful and secluded. The size of the camp means that you really feel as if you are away from everyday life. Whereas it is not as luxurious as some of the other 5-star lodges, it feels much more authentic. The rooms are fantastic, with an outdoor shower and your own private deck. The food was good and Hendri took great care of us. Sifiso, the guide, was exceptional - I hope his knowledge, insight and ability to work with people is noticed by the owners of the lodge. His customer service and ability to read people really stood out and made it such a great trip. He made us feel that it was a "real" experience, as opposed to being in a zoo where you can just order what animal you want to see - at the same time, he went out of his way to track game and, due to him, we had an amazing sighting of a leopard just as it was about to leave the road on one of the night drives.

If I could offer any constructive feedback about my experience at Camp Shonga, I would say the following: a little bit of a clean-up of the common areas would help, hot and better quality coffee would work for me, as well as a bigger selection of wine. They have only one white and one red wine, neither of which is fantastic.

However, all in all, a great experience and I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Safari-mad_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
2.6 mi away
Shishangeni Private Lodge
Shishangeni Private Lodge
#89 of 171 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
56.8 mi away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#61 of 171 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
57.7 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#44 of 171 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#67 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
12.8 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#3 of 33 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
56.8 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#52 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Shonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Shonga

Property: Camp Shonga
Address: Shishangeni Lodge, Mpanamana Concession, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 171 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Camp Shonga 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp Shonga is situated in a 15 000ha private concession in the south-eastern section of the Kruger National Park. The borders of the Kruger Park reserve concession area are the perennial Crocodile River to the south and Mozambique in the east. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Camp Shonga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp Shonga Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing