We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Safari experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
“Wonderful Safari experience”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We had a very pleasant and excellent honeymoon trip in Lion Sands. The food is delicious and safari brought us a lot of fun. Ranger and Tracker did a very good job to find the animals.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hombre278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    23
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
92
196
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
spokane, wa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had such a wonderful safari and stay. The staff are wonderful and very knowledgeable. The safaris are exhilarating and filled with great opportunities to learn about the animals, habitat, and surroundings. I would recommend very highly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mg5904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

What could have been a wonderful stay was spoilt because the lodge was busy with renovations.
They shouldn't let guests stay there while doing it. The noise was terrible. I woke up at 5.30am with this electric saw and hammering right at the front door of my room. I couldn't believe it. It went on for a few hours and the started again in the afternoon. They were busy the whole weekend. I had to climb over the workers to get out of my room. The lodge had other guests as well. I felt it was unsafe as there were loose planks with gaps in between.
On a more positive note they have an excellent chef there and our waitress was an absolute delight. The game ranger and tracker made our game drives very pleasant with their knowledge and friendliness. So 10 out of 10 for them. You go to the bushveld for peace and quiet and it was nothing like that. I feel that they should have warned me when I made the booking as there were other lodges available.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Renestassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_Leuenberger, General Manager at Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hi Rene

It was inexcusable that you were disturbed during the upgrade of the Narina Walkways. We have apologized to you directly via email. The upgrade to the Narina walkways was completed on the 15th of November 2013, it was a two week project. All future travelers can rest assured that no more construction is planned for in the near future. All guests will be consulted prior to any construction work taking place at the Lodge to upgrade our facilities. Your enjoyment at our properties is of utmost importance to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

A friend made all of our arrangements for our trip to South Africa. What a surprise to find such luxury and service on safari. The accommodations were beautify and contained everything that was needed for comfort. Food - if there is anything negative it is that there was so much you never had a chance to get hungry. Service was the best I ever experienced. I tell everyone that "when I thought I wanted a glass of champagne it appeared in my hand". I felt very safe with our guide ad tracker. Just a superb experience of a lifetime.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank MBM910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

From the moment we entered Narina Lodge and Grant the manager welcomed our group, after hand towels and drinks served. Grant had taken care of our special requests even to researching black Saturday bush fires! Most impressed we were, he was kind and considerate all through our stay
Our room was first along walkway, and our beds were adorned with flowers and our name written in bamboo, netting all around and every comfort, better than some high class hotels. Own local brand toiletries too.
Straight out on 4WD with our Shandri guide was it Benjamin? and tracker Isaac. Old timers hits again. They were the highlight of our tours, they found leopard, elephants wart hogs first night.
They were such a gentle race and spoke english beautifully so we all understood perfectly and so happy to have chats with us and answer questions. I cannot praise then enough and gave them big hugs when we were taken back to bus when we left

We saw all of the big five and more and had the elephants cross the river to feed under our balcony, we could have stayed and enjoyed Narina for another week!
We sat next to two different lion prides, one only a metre away from me, beautiful eyes and clean, she was the matriarch. 6 walked Beside us and she walked in front, our ranger told us she would decide when to get off road, she did and plopped right next to us!
We both had a massage treatment, we needed it after long trip and driving around park, so relaxing and then time on the balcony resting.
All good tips said below are so true and we know you will love a trip to the Kruger National park.

I highly recommend this Tinga, Narina Lodge, don't miss out!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Maine
2 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I wanted a lesser known spot in Kruger and highly recommend this one. what a treat to be near to civilization but to feel completely out in the middle of the wilderness. great service all around in accommodation and safari experience. very comfortable and elegant rooms while you take in the gorgeous surrounding scenery.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TroyLee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Tinga Lodge is one of four properties in the Lion Sands collection of lodges. It is pleasantly situated on the bank of the Sabie River amidst an abundance of wildlife. Our separate suite was immense and relatively simply furnished. The large veranda was equipped with two deckchairs and its own whirlpool bath. The main bath facilities were rather basic, and the separate shower area became blocked and flooded onto the bathroom floor each time we used it. There is no Wi-Fi service in the room and only limited service in the main lodge building.
All meals were served buffet-style on the main lodge’s deck. The food was good, although not particularly imaginative. Diners must be on guard against the prolific vervet monkeys, who would leap onto the table and snatch food at the slightest opportunity.
Tinga and its neighboring lodges offer a variety of wildlife safaris, beginning early in the morning and extending into the evenings. These safaris provide a unique opportunity to see a large variety of wildlife and are led by courteous and experienced rangers and trackers.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but guests should try to request one near to the main lodge as some are quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Strathcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
6.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
3.3 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
784 reviews
7.0 mi away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#6 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#30 of 174 in Kruger National Park
555 reviews
13.3 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
444 reviews
18.2 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge

Property: Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Address: Paul Kruger Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa (Formerly Tinga Private Game Lodge)
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kruger National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lion Sands Tinga Lodge - along the Sabie River within the Kruger National Park - is subtle, sophisticated and serene with grand open spaces. The main areas are double volume, opening onto a wooden deck. With just 9 luxurious suites, each located in an utterly private spot overlooking the river, you are treated to the ultimate African luxury experience. Each of Tinga's suites has a bathroom with in-door and outdoor shower, separate lounge area with minibar, private plunge pool and deck, 24 hour air-conditioning and a range of luxury amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tinga Private Game Hotel Skukuza
Tinga Private Game Skukuza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing