We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic!”
Review of Camp Shawu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camp Shawu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We flew into Nelspruit, picked up a rental car and drove to Camp Shawu. The drive was pleasant, and cannot be avoided. The formality at entering the Kruger National Park was very easy and straight forward completing one form per family and paying a small fee of R124. We then drove onto Shishangeni Lodge, where we registered for Camp
Shawu. In order to get to Camp Shawu, we left our vehicle at the lodge and embarked an eleven seater, Toyota Safari Land Cruiser.

Our driver Siphiso, was also our driver for the duration of our stay; our tracker and our game ranger. We went out twice a day; early morning and after 3 pm high tea!

Siphiso was absolutely fantastic. He tracked and found the big five, and shared all sorts of relevant information, concerning the safari and the parks wild life. We would definitely ask for Siphiso to be our guide on our next visit.

The camp personnel were most accommodating; our individual huts were great! Our stay and time spent on the camp site was made most enjoyable by Daniel, Virginia, Cindy, Pretty, and all those behind the scene........ Thank You!

In the comfort of the veranda outside our private lodging, or the camp's main building; the water hole / dam is most amazing. Between the hippos, giraffes, elephants, crocodiles, hyaenas, zebras, etc., from one day to the next, there's an ever changing group of wild life turning up at the water hole.

Our accomodation was clean, comfortable and played the perfect part for this wonderful, luxury safari adventure.

In closing, my recommendation, plan to spend at the least 3 to 4 days at Camp Shawu, and you will be left with a lifetime of great memories and safari experience!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurice481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Camp Shawu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 94 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

We have just arrived back from Shawu and II can only describe this place as magical, we spent 3 nights at there I can honestly say it was one of the best experiences of my life to date. Our Guide and ranger Dixon was fantastic as we saw so many animals. The staff are also fantastic and we could not have asked for more, the rooms are clean and relaxing and the outside shower a hit as I have never showered before watching Hippo.
I cant wait to go back thanks you to Daniel and all the team
Lynn and Pete
Hampshire UK

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My wife and I spent just two nights at Camp Shawu in Spetember 2013, and it was amazing!
For our first safari we were looking for something classic, canvas, Hemingway...
And we wanted to split the trip between Kruger and Sabi Sands to increase our chances of seeing a leopard.
For Kruger we researched several camps and thanks to Chrisna from “Siyabona” we settled on Shawu - mainly due to the watering hole.
Located in the extreme southeast corner of Kruger, Shawu is a smaller camp with only five cabins and just one Land Cruiser for the game drives.
This leads to a very personal environment, almost a family atmosphere between the friendly staff and the guests.
Simon was our fantastic ranger and guide, very friendly and very knowledgeable with a seemingly personal interest in finding and sharing the best wildlife. He went out of his way to make every game drive and the entire trip the best possible experience, sharing personal stories, setting up a cocktail hour in the bush, following the sound of a lion until we found it and offering driving directions to get to the next camp safely.
The watering hole by the camp made the game drives almost superfluous. From the common area, from our private deck or with the canvas rolled up even from our own bed, we watched hippos, elephants, buffalo, rhinos, crocodiles, giraffes and so many more animals all day.
The hippos are residents at the watering hole. And throughout the night they can be heard right outside the cabins.
The cabins and the common areas were clean and modern with a hint of classic safari, the food was very good with several meals spread throughout the day.
I wish we had staid at least one more night, and it would be hard to visit Kruger again and not stay at Shawu.

The personal service did not end when we left the camp either. I had forgotten a necklace in our cabin and after a few phone calls from our next lodging and a lot of logistical effort from everyone at Shawu and Shishangeni I was able to meet a security guard at the Nelspruit airport several days later who handed me my necklace!

We arrived at Shawu later than expected and missed the first evening game drive - construction on the “4”, bureaucracy upon entering the park, and the fact that you cannot actually drive to Shawu yourself, but leave the car at Shishangeni to be taken to Shawu by a ranger. These are things to keep in mind when planning time for the drive.
Also be aware that there are sometimes long stretches of the “4” without gas stations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed in Camp Shawu for one night during a 4 day Kruger Safari.

The camp is beautifully situated at the rim of a big waterhole. You will be able to easily view a resident group of hippos, crocodiles, African eagles, pelicans and other animals from your deck (and also hear them during the night!). In addition, we had great game drives with a very knowledgeable guide who was able to trace a pride of lions (even with a fresh kill) on both days. So while this area seems not as abundant with animals as others in Kruger the drives were always very interesting. The best thing was a typical safari sundowner with wines, biltong and dried fruits served right at the vehicle in the bush.

The chalets are furnished very beautifully with a huge king bed and leather armchairs and we absolutely loved the gas fireplace in the evening. Food was good (lunch and breakfast were great, dinner was ok) and served at a big table to give you the opportunity to mingle with the other guests.

That being said, I still had to deduct some points for the following reasons:

• As others have already said, the deck furniture and seat cushions absolutely need replacement. In addition, the big deck should be used for lunch and dinner. Now it is kind of deserted as (some of) the chairs are broken and the pool is too small even for some plunging.

• The setup in the chalets with the see-through room divider as bathroom “wall” is really not very comfortable.

• The biggest drawback for us was the check in/out procedure that you have to do in the main camp Shishangeni. They do say that on the website, but what we didn't know is that Shishangeni is about 30 min drive from the main road and then you drive about 20 min back on the same road to Camp Shawu (and the same procedure on the day of check out). As we only stayed one night, we found this a lot of hassle. If you are staying longer, this might not be a problem. It would help to allow check in/out at every camp or set up a small facility at the main road.

So I would recommend Camp Shawu depending on what kind of Safari you have planned (on the road or camp based).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Trillian82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

After much deliberation, we chose this site for our two-night visit to Kruger Park. Situated on the watering hole make it the best place to view elephants, rhinos, giraffes, water buffalo, zebra, on and on. It was so exciting even in the middle of the night when it was dark you could hear all the animals coming to the watering hole to drink. The food and the safaris were good too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited Camp Shawu as one of the first stops on our honeymoon. It was one of the most magical places we have been to. The morning and evening safaris are organized beautifully, but as other have said, one of the neatest parts is all rooms face the dam, in the afternoon you can relax on the porch and watch the animals pour in. It almost felt like cheating! The food was good and the staff delightful and very accommodating! For being in the middle of the park/safari, rooms are kept clean and tidy! Would highly recommend Camp Shawu.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zil1158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at the camp for 3 nights last August as part of our honeymoon, the view from the bush suites are fantastic!
We spent a lot of our time on our deck and the animals came you us,the game drives on offer are good too.
The food at the camp is of good quality and adds to the experience.
Will be back one day, hopefully!!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BushExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
5.7 mi away
Shishangeni Private Lodge
Shishangeni Private Lodge
#92 of 175 in Kruger National Park
269 reviews
53.4 mi away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#59 of 175 in Kruger National Park
405 reviews
205.2 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#47 of 175 in Kruger National Park
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Mjejane River Lodge
Mjejane River Lodge
#1 of 2 in Hectorspruit
200 reviews
6.3 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#70 of 175 in Kruger National Park
106 reviews
11.5 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#5 of 33 in Marloth Park
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Shawu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Shawu

Address: Mpanamana Concession, Crocodile Bridge | c/o Shishangeni Lodge, Kruger National Park 1340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: $89 - $831 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camp Shawu 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Camp Shawu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp Shawu Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing